We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrilling!”
Review of Schooner Woodwind

Schooner Woodwind
Ranked #3 of 32 Tours in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The classic, wooden 74' Schooner Woodwind sails multiple cruises daily (in season) for public and private charters. Up to 48 passengers on each of our twin schooners. Whether a couple, family, party or corporate, we can accommodate you. We also have a Boat & Breakfast available (in season) on Saturdays. Come Sail Away!
NC mountains
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thrilling!”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

What a fantastic day of sailing! Like any sailing adventure, your level of enjoyment depends upon the wind. I've been sailing on an America's cup racer that had to be towed in due to no wind, no fun, but it couldn't have been more perfect on the Woodwind. I ordered our tickets in advance and picked them at the pier. You can walk through Pusser's Restaurant or walk around the end of the building to find their window. There were signs and we had no problem finding the place. I heard another passenger mention a pass or card for return visits. You'll need to ask. Once on board, the crew is introduced and you head out. There was no wasting time at the dock. The crew was friendly and enjoyed answering questions. Those that wanted to help could raise sails or steer. I mentioned it was my husband's 60th birthday and the captain made a point to call him back for a turn at the wheel. They have sodas and snacks, and beer or wine for purchase. Again, the wind played a big part in our totally enjoyable experience that day. It was an awesome two hours and we'd most definitely go back again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank h2olou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    28
    6
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful day on the water”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I've sailed with the crew at Woodwind several times, each time is better than the last. It was a perfect day, great winds. Will definitely do this again when I'm in the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maglasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing trip”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is the second time that we have experienced an enjoyable sail on the Schooner Woodwind. On this occasion (May 2012) the winds were light in comparison to our previous journey in Sept 2010 when the winds were pleasantly strong to allow the schooner to show its paces. On both occasions the crew were excellent. You can involve yourself in the sail hoisting and steering, it is entirely up to you. When the engine is switched off after manoeuvring out of the harbour the tranquility of a boat under sail is so relaxing. Annapolis is a tremendous place to visit and the trip on Schooner Woodwind just tops the stay.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank termaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening on the water”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

We took a 2 hour sail at 4:00pm. None of us had been on a sailboat. The kids helped hoist a sail. All three kids had turns steering. It was an amazing ride with informative facts mixed in. Ken was a great captain. I am so glad that we chose this adventure. It was worth the cost.

Helpful?
1 Thank jodim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic voyage!”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Woodwind is modeled on the historic Schooners which once roamed the Chesapeake. We took an afternoon sail and couldn't be happier with the experience. The crew was terrific. You can passively observe, or lend a hand to help the crew at your option. Three children (16, 12 and 10) had a fun time. This is a great experience if you are visiting Annapolis and want to get out on the water.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank YoMTVRaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schooner Woodwind also viewed

 

Been to Schooner Woodwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing