We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I would not exactly consider this a typical B& B as the breakfast is served in the diner this place sits on top of. However, that is a minor detail as we did enjoy our stay here. First off the location is pretty great if you want to spend time in this part of Annapolis. Everything is within walking distance. Also there is a parking garage really close so you don't have to be wandering the streets of Annapolis looking for parking. Second the people here are really nice. They let us check in a bit early which was helpful for our travel plans. Third, the bed was so comfortable I had trouble getting up for breakfast the next day. Speaking of breakfast.. If you stay here, most rooms come with a choice of breakfast in the diner below. Choices are not fantastic, but it will do the job. I had the belgium waffle and my husband had fruit. Both were enough to make you full, but as I said earlier this is not the typical B & B breakfast. I recommend showing up for breakfast in time to do the Pledge, which they do every morning. It was a fun flash back to elementary school. Really the only negative thing I can say about this place in general is that the ceiling above the door in our bathroom needed some repair.- nothing big, but it should be fixed. I do recommend staying here and would stay again if we came back to town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hulagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

I really wanted to like this place, but it was just awful. My husband and I stayed a couple of nights at the Scotlaur Inn in September, on the third floor. Contrary to other posters, we didn't feel all that inconvenienced by the stairs; we just decided to pack only essentials, so the trip up with luggage was fine.
Breakfast came with the room and it was also fine. Nothing special, but they did offer an assortment of muffins, waffles, or eggs. No complaints with breakfast.
The location was great, until it was time to sleep. The street noise was pretty loud and kept us awake until businesses closed at 2:00 am. Also, the room had a window air conditioning unit which was noisy and kept us awake off and on all night, both nights. But, the Inn is in the middle of everything that you would want to do or see in Annapolis and, in that respect, it was perfectly located.
The problem was with the overall condition of the Inn itself. It felt dirty, like it hadn't had a thorough cleaning in months, or even years. Our room was dirty. My travel brochures and computer stuck to the wooden tables they were so sticky. I specifically requested that the chambermaid clean the tables. She did clean the table tops, but the sides were never cleaned and stayed sticky (yuck!). It was symptomatic of the way the entire room had been cleaned, or not cleaned. The windows needed to be washed. The wall to wall rug in the room did not feel clean. The bathroom ceiling had a noticeable patch of mold and was falling down in one corner. It was nasty. And the shower had the most feeble spray coming out of the shower head that it took four times as long to rinse my hair. The hallway rug leading into the Inn was dirty/greasy from the "Delly" and the hand rail in the hallway was sticky, too.
The Innkeepers really need to pay attention to the Inn and not just the "Delly". They seem so preoccupied and overwhelmed downstairs in their very busy restaurant that they overlook the conditions upstairs in the Inn. Perhaps they need to hire a manager for the Inn. For the price I paid for these accommodations, I expected more. At the very least, I expected a clean room. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MaggieMayMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Once again we have enjoyed our stay in Annapolis due to the wonderful hospitality of the folks at Chick and Ruth's Delly and the Scotlaur Inn. This quaint inn above the delly is retro 50's and proud of it. Our room, #201, looked directly out onto Main St. with the American Flag flying outside our window. The room is small; with a queen bed, TV/closet armoir, and bathroom, but very clean and comfortable, AND breakfast is included! The $115 rate can't be beat for location and fun. With all the fancy hotels in town, we call the Scotlaur Inn 'home' whenever we visit.

Room Tip: Room 201 faces main street and the American Flag
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for one night in a room on the second floor. The room was very small but the main problem was a rancid smell that permeated the room. We didn't know if it was the carpet or the kitchen downstairs that stank so bad. First and last time we will book a room at this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Inn is right on Main street, so very close to shops, the harbor, everything. Although we were initially in a room on the third floor, problems with the toilet caused us to move - they were very accommodating in trying to deal with the problems, but it was a bit of a hassle. Despite being just one floor about the diner, we didn't hear hardly any noise. The beds were comfortable, and the rooms came with a TV, small bathroom (with weak water pressure) and a very powerful AC unit. Nice decorations and family memorabilia lined the halls. There are a few flights of stairs to walk up, but nothing too problematic unless you are carrying a 6-pound milkshake from downstairs or a 50-pound suitcase from overseas. The free breakfast is a nice feature of the deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BriskTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We discovered this inn by accident. We were passing through Annapolis and had to grab breakfast at Chris and Ruth's. while dining, we noticed there was an inn upstairs. Just then the owner of the inn and restaurant manager, came by to chat about our breakfast. We had our two small kids with us. The owner chatted with us about the inn and was so friendly and welcoming of our little boys, that we decided to stay in Annapolis for the night. After our awesome breakfast we headed upstairs to check out our room for the night. It is cozy, cute and very charming. The staff was bringing in a bed for our boys and were more than helpful to make she our toddlers were comfortable. The room was a little small if you're looking for a loft, but we wanted to explore the downtown Annapolis City Dock area, so this was perfect. Our room really felt like we were visiting a relative's home. Very cute, clean and had an antique vibe. We spent our day taking a boat rides, shopping, eating Maryland crab cakes and having ice cream! Our inn room was centrally located so we could run upstairs to our room between outtings for kiddie bathroom breaks and dropping off bags.
This place is upstairs from a famous diner and lots of fun staying at a bed and breakfast. Just fun stay and look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This place is certainly the best bang for the buck in the Main St. area. Rooms are a bit small, but that's how things were built in the 1800's. It is a historic building, with private bathrooms A/C & in every room, which are serviced by the cleaning staff daily. The managers of the B&B/restaurant are incredibly welcoming & friendly. The food and service at Chick & Ruth's was great. The location is prime, you can walk to just about anywhere in downtown Annapolis. I would recommend this place to anyone. This is a Bed and Breakfast, if you are looking for all of the amenities of a 5 star hotel, then book a 5 star hotel. If you are looking for a friendly, clean, and cozy place to stay in the heart of everything this place is for you. Annapolis is a great town rich with history and character, for future visits I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Demetruis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Annapolis, MD
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gibson's Lodgings
Gibson's Lodgings
#3 of 25 in Annapolis
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 165 Main St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2000
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range: £68 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotlaur Inn b&b
Scotlaur Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing