We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had two rooms at the Scotlaur Inn. This is your average bed and breakfast with a great staff. When we checked in they were very helpful and showed us to our rooms. We had no issues. If you plan on being out and about and are looking for somewhere reasonable with a GREAT location, this will work for you. Breakfast at Chick & Ruth's (included) was awesome, too.

Room Tip: 202 was quiet throughout the night. Friends in 205 heard a bit more noise (they were toward the roa...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Friendly staff, GREAT location, and right above Chick & Ruth's, our favorite eatery in Annapolis. We parked in the City garage and walked everywhere we went. The Scot-Laur/Chick & Ruth's combo is one of our favorite couple's getaway.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LarryInLynchburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We went as a group of six and stayed at the Deli hotel, for this is what it really is-A group of rooms above a deli-Chick and Ruth's Delly, to be exact.
We went for New Year's Eve, and it was a bit of a Goldilocks adventure. Our friends who stayed in the room on the front of the building overlooking Main Street had the best room, a fairly good size space with a king size bed, sofa, and a coffee table. As we moved on down the hall toward the back of the building the rooms diminished substantially. Our room, 303, two rooms removed from the front of the building, was a cozy affair with just enough room not to go outside of it to change our mind!! Depending on how much comfort level you need, you could get claustrophobic or just snuggle into a bed old enough to be your grandmother's.
When you go to their website you will see the one king size room, and then see the others and wonder, "Gee, they look kinda small."-believe it, they are. Realize, of course, you are staying in a building built, maybe, a hundred to two hundred years ago, maybe older-at least in old downtown Annapolis, it's what you would expect. And here's the point of trying to get these rooms-you're where it's at-right off the inner harbor, up from O'Brien's steakhouse, walking distance to the square and the water. If you need to be in the inner harbor for festivities, or just a good time out, it's a fantastic location. And while I didn't quite enjoy badly worn out decorations with old prints in frames coming loose in the corners and sad sagging upholstery, conveying poor semblance of colonial elegance, please note the basics are definitely covered. These rooms are clean and warm, and supplied, and for a noise sensitive such as I, they were wonderfully quiet on New Year's Eve with hundreds just outside and down below in their terrific deli. If you are not over six feet, and too fussy, you can bear this place for a night or two for it's terrific location. And the best part, of course, is the Deli-definitely the number one in Annapolis, just downstairs. The staff, from the registration clerk on the phone to the waitress in the restaurant, were friendly, and gracious.
If you're staying a week, think of someplace else. If you're there for the weekend, I recommend it. Go downstairs and eat some crab cakes!

Room Tip: Definitely try to get that room overlooking Main Street.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IslandLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I used to frequent Chic & Ruth’s since the early 80s (until I relocated to the Midwest in the late 90s) and I never had the need for the Scotlaur when I was living in the area. My wife and I needed a place to stay this month since my parents relocated to a nursing home, and after looking at various places in the area we decided to give the Scotlaur a chance for a couple reasons (pricing, location).

We’ve been to B&Bs around the country, Canada, and Europe, and we have stayed in many hotels (high and low) over the years because we love traveling. Most B&Bs don’t do it for us because they’re typically pretentious, lack in genuine customer service and/or charm, and charge more than what they’re worth. So, we didn’t have much in terms of expectations when we booked at the Scotlaur Inn.

In short, we were pleasantly blown away by our experience. You definitely get that warm and caring charm that is characteristic of good B&Bs without annoying staff or their superficial customer-service front. Nick showed us to our room and gave us the run down, and the next morning we met him while eating breakfast (the crabcake eggs benedict is a MUST; I’m extremely picky when it comes to eggs benedict and haven’t found a good one in many, many years…until now). I’m not a doughnut person, yet the doughnuts at the Delly were phenomenal. We had fresh towels and turn-down service offered daily.

The room (301) looked much better in person than the online photo, and I did notice another room (304) that also looked really good. I think we got the biggest room, but would have been okay with one of the smaller rooms as we’re a bit on the low-maintenance side of traveling. We had a minor issue with the heating unit in our room (we forgot how to engage the heat setting and as a result we had cold air), and Teddy didn’t hesitate to come to our assistance early Christmas morning. He was very accommodating, offering another room should our room not be adequately heated (but he figured it out and it was quite warm and comforting).

We highly recommend the Scotlaur Inn without reservation. Experienced travelers will absolutely love this gem. Although it’s not a high-end B&B, the Scotlaur Inn succeeds in making guests feel comfortable. The pricing is reasonable, especially in comparison to several hotels (both downtown and in West Annapolis). We’re definitely booking a room the next time we’re in town.

Room Tip: Call and ask...they're pretty accommodating.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank threshados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed 2 weekend nights in November. We previously lived in Annapolis, so Chick & Ruths is nostalgic for us. Staying in their B&B (Scotlaur Inn) was great!
We stayed in room 303 on the 3rd floor, which was midway down the hall, so no views, but very quiet.
Breakfast in the delly was awesome - you can either order from thier B & B menu, or take an equivalent amount off of what you order (in case you want a milkshake for breakfast -- also awesome omlettes, etc).
Room was very clean, the staff always remembered our names, and we were even able to check in early (11AM) because our room had been vacant the previous evening.
They provide 1/2 off tickets for the nearby parking garage for as many times as you want to go in/out.
This isn't the sort of place that "updates" the carpet, furnishings, delly booths, etc every few years. (Thank goodness - that's part of the charm). We absolutely didn't run into anything sticky as another reviewer mentioned - it's clean but nostalgic. Don't expect 5* -- expect some character and a great location.

Room Tip: Room 303 was quiet on both Fri and Sat night. A bit small, but everything you need. Sink is separa...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL-the-squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The room was clean and comfortable although a little worn. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal - right in the heart of Annapolis within walking distance of all the sights. The free breakfast was excellent - and enough that we usually didn't need lunch! Our room was on the second floor facing the front and I would recommend that, especially if you have trouble with stairs. The pictures on their website are accurate. The public parking garage is convenient but it costs $20 per day. All in all we were very pleased and enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay again on our next visit to Annapolis.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor to climb less stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I would not exactly consider this a typical B& B as the breakfast is served in the diner this place sits on top of. However, that is a minor detail as we did enjoy our stay here. First off the location is pretty great if you want to spend time in this part of Annapolis. Everything is within walking distance. Also there is a parking garage really close so you don't have to be wandering the streets of Annapolis looking for parking. Second the people here are really nice. They let us check in a bit early which was helpful for our travel plans. Third, the bed was so comfortable I had trouble getting up for breakfast the next day. Speaking of breakfast.. If you stay here, most rooms come with a choice of breakfast in the diner below. Choices are not fantastic, but it will do the job. I had the belgium waffle and my husband had fruit. Both were enough to make you full, but as I said earlier this is not the typical B & B breakfast. I recommend showing up for breakfast in time to do the Pledge, which they do every morning. It was a fun flash back to elementary school. Really the only negative thing I can say about this place in general is that the ceiling above the door in our bathroom needed some repair.- nothing big, but it should be fixed. I do recommend staying here and would stay again if we came back to town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hulagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.4 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
882 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
855 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 165 Main St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2000
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range: £81 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scotlaur Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotlaur Inn b&b
Scotlaur Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing