We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste.”
Review of State House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
State House Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“What a waste.”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

I love to stay in Inns/B&B's when I travel. And, it's ashame because this place has so much potential. We checked in yesterday afternoon. Young girl was here. Gave us our keys, not the room we reserved. Kind of dirty here. In the Lord Calvert room. Tv doesn't work, holes in the quilt, torn shower curtain, attached restaurant not open, and can't even lock the door to our room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingram75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    29
    16
    11
    15
See reviews for
14
72
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I spent the night here with our 20 year old grand daughter. The receptionist was welcoming and informative about how to walk around Annapolis (all interesting places were within easy walking distance!). The converted home was tastefully furnished and comfortable, especially the beds, and the luxurious linens. with a cozy parlor offering facilities for tea or coffee preparation, as well as a garden terrace. Breakfast is not served here, but there is a varied choice of nearby establishments to fulfill this need. Our rooms were very reasonably priced, very clean, seemed soundproof, but audible heating/air condition unit. There are more expensive rooms offered, with jacuzzis attached.
This will definitely be my choice for any future visits to Annapolis, and I would recommend it to any age group. Must mention there is no elevator, but at least one room is on the ground flour.

Room Tip: Suggest you phone for description of available rooms, especially as there are a couple which will so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just stayed one night at the State House Inn over a busy holiday weekend. Tried to get into the Maryland house of the Historic Inns but they were full. Can't beat the location right on state circle with quick access to all of the main street shops and restaurants. We stayed in the 3rd floor Chesapeake room, with a King bed, private bath, small glimpse of the water from one window and a nice view of the state house out the other. The room was very large and comfortable, nice big bathroom, closet, etc. I'd definetly stay here again. Not sure how it would be for more then 1-2 days as there's only a small common area. Aside from that we thought it was great.

Room Tip: As long as you can handle a few flights of stairs I'd choose one of the 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointmmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown Maryland, USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My fiance brought me here for my birthday and it was just a delightful experience. Turn down service with chocolates on a very comfortable bed. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berrypie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloeil, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at this place and after a long journey it would have been nice to have a comfortable bed, Every move you made the bed sqeeked . The bathroom was not up to date and not so clean. It's not worth the stay or the money.
The inn has a run down feeling.

Room Tip: Overall not comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epicurean50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

From the welcome that was truly genuine to the Sangria on the loveky Portico this is a step off Main but miles from the more commercial spots we had stayed in in our previous stays in this lovely village by the Bay...if u want the escape steps away from everything out the back door this is the spot...ask for the step up Jacuzzi tub suite!...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Champskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This place looks lovely on the outside but what a dump on the inside. Our room was run down, paint peeling, furniture in disrepair and there was such a sickeningly sweet smell in the place we had to leave. I think they must have put stuff in the carpets to mask odors. We checked other rooms and they were just as bad. Disheveled bedspreads like someone had been on each one. We were appalled. At least they were very gracious about letting us cancel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.4 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
849 reviews
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State House Inn

Property: State House Inn
Address: 25 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1904
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — State House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your State House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State House Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing