We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful in the heart of Annapolis”
Review of Charles Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charles Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Peaceful in the heart of Annapolis”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We went to "get away" and were swept away by the warm greeting of our gracious hosts, Paula and John, the peaceful garden and path to the water, the quiet, the exotic feather bed, the tasteful, historic decorating, water taxi from our door to the restaurant, and the delicious breakfast. It was our best B&B stay ever and we look forward to returning soon! (Note: the owners no longer have pets, so the comments from 2004-05 are no longer applicable.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnergyCounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesInn, Owner at Charles Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We appreciate your review. We strive to make our guests welcome, and a positive acknowledgement for our efforts is a wonderful validation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Charles Inn this past weekend and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The innkeepers, John and Paula, were so kind and hospitable and helped make our weekend extremely relaxing and fun. The Charles Inn is a quaint, charming inn, and the breakfast that Paula makes is fit for a gourmet restaurant. Their company and conversation are outstanding, and the rooms are so comfortable! The beds are fluffy and comfortable. This was the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed in. The backyard of the inn has the most beautiful landscape and atmosphere. Very romantic!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmatyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesInn, Owner at Charles Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Wow, thank you, thank you, thank you. We try our best and it's great to see our effort appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We arrived around dinner time and thought the outside of the house was beautiful -- they have a wooden porch with chairs for relaxing when the weather's nice. We were welcomed by John and Paula, both of whom were very friendly, and given a little tour of the house and our room by John, who loves to chat with guests. We stayed in the Little Star, which is a beautiful little room with a gorgeous featherbed draped with gauzy curtains, and a working fireplace. The single drawback to the room was that the tub (a beautiful claw-foot) is indeed freestanding with nothing to protect the floor from splashes -- we only stayed one night and didn't use it, but if we planned to stay longer I would probably opt for one of the larger rooms with a different bathing arrangement. However, I knew about the tub from the photos on their website, and I chose the Little Star anyway, since the rest of the room was so beautiful.

The featherbed was amazing -- incredibly comfortable and warm, with a soft, fluffy down comforter on top. We took a nap before going out for dinner, and I believe that Paula refluffed the feathers for us before we returned. They had also started a warm fire in the fireplace for us before we arrived, and it had burned out by the time we left for dinner -- to our surprise, we came home to a blazing fire that they had rebuilt for us! It was pretty cold outside, so that was very thoughtful of them. The house is completely silent with none of the settling noises you might expect in older buildings, and everything we saw was very clean. They do have one elderly, sweet dog who mostly keeps to herself and stays on the first floor (bedrooms are upstairs) and a couple of cats that hid pretty much the whole time we were there. There was no evidence (hair, smells, anything) that there were any animals in the house -- I think they're very diligent housekeepers. They used to have several more cats than they do now, which may have factored into previous reviewers' comments. I'm extremely allergic to cats and had brought an arsenal of allergy medications, but I didn't take a single thing because I didn't have a single symptom -- that is highly unusual for a house with cats, no matter how diligently the owners clean, and I think it's the best proof I could offer of the cleanliness of the house.

Breakfast was delicious -- challah french toast with Vermont maple syrup was the main course, and it was some of the best french toast I've ever had. We were planning to spend the afternoon walking around downtown, and they let us leave our car parked in their driveway all afternoon so that we wouldn't have to look for parking, even after we'd already checked out.

Downtown Annapolis is only about 3 blocks away (an easy and scenic walk) and there are dozens of restaurants and little shops, a harbor, marina, and the State House and other historic buildings within easy walking distance. As I mentioned, the Charles Inn has a driveway for guest parking, which is great since the neighborhood seems strict about permit parking on the street.

It was a great weekend, and we'll definitely stay there again the next time we visit Annapolis!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amfm_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesInn, Owner at Charles Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for a wonderfully detailed review. We cherish our reputation and depend upon reference from good folks like you to succed in our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and felt the Charles Inn had a lot of amenities. You can take a water taxi from dinner/lunch right to the property,it is less than 5 minutes walking from Main St., and the price is reasonable. Our bed was so VERY comfortable and Paula and John are extremely hospitable. Breakfast was WONDERFUL each morning and we enjoyed the elaborate dining details that accompanied our meal. We chatted with other guests and then created a relaxing day walking about the city. There is a little park right down the street from it that's wonderful for sitting with a coffee and checking out the boats on the water.
The owners do have pets (a dog and 3 indoor/outdoor cats), and the cats do own the living room. The rooms themselves are unique and fresh feeling and we recommend the two larger rooms for your stay. We stayed in the Little Star which is cute with a tub in the bedroom but would have preferred more space. Next time!

  • Liked — Locale
  • Disliked — Living Room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rider911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesInn, Owner at Charles Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Your reviews are always appreciated. Thank you for the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 August 2005

I second that opinion - I'm a pet lover, but c'mon! The room we stayed in was fine, the location great (water taxi accessible), but the main rooms smelled like a litter box. There were about 5 cats i counted in the living room - 2 dogs outside. All in all, a strange place.

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesInn, Owner at Charles Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We apologize for your discomfort. All but one of our pets are no longer with us. The Inn has now been practically pet free for the past year or two. None of our recent guests have been compromised by any odor, in fact we take pride in keeping a clean, healthy establishment. We would welcome you back anytime should you wish to give us a chance to show you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2004

This house has numerous stray cats and the entire house smells of cat urine. It hits you as you walk in the door, if not before. There is very little furniture in the home, and the two places you can sit are either full of cat hair or covered in plastic. Our small room had a bathtub in the bedroom with no shower (I was dumb enough to assume that ever room in a B&B would at least have a shower). My husband, who takes nightly baths at our home, refused to get in it - instead choosing to go without a bath all weekend. There is no curtain or anything around the bath - it's just plopped there against the wall in the bedroom. So it's not private, and cleaning your body and hair without getting water all over is difficult. The toilet was in a tiny closet that was very uncomfortable. The bed was a feather bed and very high off the ground. Looked really cool, but we struggled to not roll off of it all night. It was without a doubt the WORST B&B experience we have ever had. We didn't feel like they even met our basic needs. To think we spent money to stay there......

Helpful?
8 Thank loveagoodbreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesInn, Owner at Charles Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We are sorry your experience with us was less than positive. We attempt to please everyone to the best of our ability and apologize for coming up short in your case. We no longer have pets so "litter box" smell is no longer an issue. As to the size of the room, it is our smallest (and consequently our least expensive) room that suits many guests. We have much larger rooms with complete jacuzzi tubs that would have suited your needs more adequately. The size and quality of our accomodation is well described on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.3 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.3 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
0.6 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Inn

Property: Charles Inn
Address: 74 Charles St, Annapolis, MD 21401
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Charles Inn is a Civil War era home restored with chandeliers, fireplaces, original oil paintings, historic wall coverings and hardwood floors throughout. Come visit us and enjoy a bed and breakfast experience in a charming 19th Century home on Charles Street in the heart of the Annapolis Historic District. Be pampered with feather beds, down comforters and cozy, antique-filled rooms. Enjoy a full breakfast served elegantly on satin lace with fresh flowers, crystal candelabra, fine china and silver. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing