We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, beautiful property, friendliest owners!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just sadly checked out of this gorgeous property. We stayed 3 nights in the super spacious and immaculately clean State Room. The Management photos of this room say it all so no need to add more, it is as per the pictures 100%. We are Australian and wanted to have at least one B & B experience over here in the US and that's why I selected the State Room in such a historic town. It was not over the top, just perfect. The room and the entire property for that fact is spotless! We noticed our light globe flickering and it was fixed immediately (note we only mentioned it as it came up in conversation- it wasn't annoying us).

Elly the Innkeeper comes across like she just loves what she does, Joe her partner just as lovely and Maggie their mascot, so friendly if you want her to be and miss your dogs at home (like us) or she will just sit quietly, patiently somewhere away from you just watching the world or sleeping.

The location can not be any better for the two of us who love being central and not having to drive. It is in the original/old part of Annapolis so one has to accept foot traffic and some cars that dare the narrow lanes (not for me as an Australian driver), we got there pretty easy though and parking in the city multilevel car park is just 5 minutes from the accommodation (discounted as well by Chez Amis so cheap) and you can park out the front easily to drop off your bags or when you check out as the other guests did. Seriously, whatever anyone says about parking we don't care, the location, the property, Elly, Joe, Maggie.....it is not relevant at all once you are checked in and you don't need your car in any case in Annapolis. Also, Elly was so helpful in printing and scanning some documents for us since we were/are in the process of purchasing a sailing boat. She didn't have any issues there either helping us. Before I forget, the breakfasts were amazing, different everyday. Thank you Elly for such a lovely experience, we will be sure to tell our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Pleasant accommodations and hosts. Bed was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Have an up to date DVD collection for guest viewing. Great location within walking distance of most things of interest.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This place is a true joy. My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night, and it was perfect in every way. A year later, we were trying to book the same room for our first anniversary - the innkeeper, Elly, remembered us when we called to inquire about availability! She is so friendly and helpful!! Sadly (but not surprisingly), the room was booked up for our big date. But we already booked an alternative weekend. I don't think I've had a happier, more delightful experience at any bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAnne0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The perfect spot for a much needed weekend away(also our 15 year anniversary) The Inn is beautiful and Elly is warm and welcoming. Added touches were her special attention to our anniversary and great dinner recommendation. Location is perfect- walking distance to everything. Elly's breakfast could not have been any better! Although there is no onsite parking- parking was easy and Elly provided a discount card. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njmose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Chez Amis is well-situated for exploring Annapolis and the surrounding area. Walking to restaurants, shops, the Academy, the waterfront is easy and pleasant. The B&B itself is terrific -- Elly provides a warm welcome, consistently helpful hints on what to see and do (and where to eat!), and a beautifully maintained home. My husband and I stayed in the State Room, which was comfortable and well-equipped with nice touches like a magnifying mirror and quality bathroom essentials. Efficient use has been made of all available space. Breakfasts are substantial and delicious, and there are cookies, fruit and beverages available night and day (we sneaked downstairs at 2:00 a.m.). The 'goodie bag' for our drive home was a bonus - thanks! We would certainly return, and enthusiastically recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanZ416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Chez Amis was fantastic. The owners were very accommodating and food was excellent. Great location although parking was a little bit if a trick. Easy walk to harbor and downtown restaurants. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PapayaDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Beautiful B&B with top-level service from the innkeeper (Elly) makes this a winner. My wife and I stayed for three nights in the State Room on a second honeymoon and found the accommodations to be well maintained and very comfortable. Elly was fantastic from check-in to check-out offering suggested activities and places to eat. But this is also a quiet B&B where you can feel free to do nothing but relax. With comfortable beds and a great living area that's perfect for curling up with a good book - there will be days where you might not want to leave. Fresh baked cookies available in the kitchen, plus complimentary beverages are also a nice touch.

Breakfast each morning was outstanding. The dishes were varied and always fresh. Elly noticed that we loved one particular side and she made it a second time for our last breakfast there and even shared the recipe with us. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to any couple looking for a quiet stress-free getaway!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Gibson's Lodgings
Gibson's Lodgings
#3 of 25 in Annapolis
258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast
Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 25 in Annapolis
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast

Address: 85 East St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1729
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range: £140 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chez Amis" in French means "Among Friends". Come share a day, weekend or week with us and enjoy the state capitol of Maryland and all it has to offer. Our 4 bedroom Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of historic Annapolis, Maryland and is nearby the State Capitol, St. John's College, the waterfront, city dock, the Naval Academy, antique shops and fabulous dining and entertainment places all within walking distance.Find comfort and old fashioned relaxation at Chez Amis. Since each guest room has a private TV, the French country styled common area is designed for reading, conversation, and playing many games of your choice. Bananagrams and scrabble seem to be our guests’ favorite. Refreshments and homemade cookies are available throughout your stay so we understand if you ‘sneak downstairs’ for just one last cookie. The dining area is a wonderful piece of carpentry that was built by the previous inn owner. It comfortably fits our guests but we also offer supplemental seating if you choose a more intimate table. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing