We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in the Heart of Downtown Annapolis!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in the Heart of Downtown Annapolis!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I and another couple stayed two nights in early June at Chez Amis B&B in the heart of downtown historic Annapolis. The rooms were gorgeous and Elly, our host, was very friendly and helpful with our plans to tour the historica areas of the city. Elly also made two wonderful breakfasts during our stay. She made us feel very welcome at our "home away from home" in Annapolis. Would definitely recommend Chez Amis. The location is great and the owners are wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdLPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    27
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
358
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to Annapolis to visit our son and since our 3 youngest weren't traveling with us we thought we'd try a B&B for the very first time.
I must admit that I was skeptical. I didn't think a B&B could deliver but boy was I wrong.
Chez Amis is beautiful and the rooms are elegant, spacious and spotless. I was blown away by the service and comfort.
We started each day with Elly's beautiful breakfast and could not have asked for more.
Chez Amis is also situated perfectly so that everything is accessible by foot. You can walk out the front door and literally be at the Naval Academy, The State House, Main St. or down by the waterfront in just a couple of minutes.
I have always chuckled when people state their accommodations were "like being home" but I can now say I get it.
Chez Amis is just that.
We will be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank brian o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I had such a lovely stay at Chez Amis a few weeks ago. It's a gorgeous, homely place right in the heart of Annapolis's downtown. Joe and Elly are so warm and welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Every room is so lovely and quiet - perfect for a relaxing weekend away. And the breakfast is delicious - the best we've ever had at a B&B by far!

Elly even mailed us a shirt we had accidentally left there - at no charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie0582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here Saturday and Sunday nights of Memorial Day weekend to attend our friend's wedding that was at the Loew's Hotel in Annapolis. While most of the guests were staying in two hotels on West Street (O'Callahan's or the Loew's), we chose to go with the bed and breakfast experience for our stay. For the same price as the Loew's, the experience at Chez Amis was much more enjoyable than staying at a hotel. First, the owners Joe and Elly are fantastic. Joe helped us avoid the Memorial Day crowds when we arrived, helping us unload our luggage curbside and guiding us to free parking at a garage a short walk from the house. Elly is very warm and hospitable, making sure we could enjoy her home as if it was our own.

Chez Amis, we found, is in the perfect location, especially with the crowds we experienced in Annapolis over the holiday weekend. It is a 5 minute walk to the waterfront shops and restaurants, and a 10 minute walk to the hotels and restaruants on West Street. The location is ideal for walking everywhere in Annapolis and avoiding having to get in the car to go somewhere. We stayed in the State House Room, and it was by far the best room we have stayed in at a Bed and Breakfast. The quality of the room and bathroom was that of an upscale hotel, but with the touches and decor that made you feel like you were in a vacation home. If you are staying in Annapolis, you should first consider Chez Amis for your accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Chez Amis has once again exceeded expectations. We spent Memorial Day weekend here this year and were here in early July last year. We love it so much that we know we will be back again without a doubt. The Treaty of Paris room is relaxing and with the recent shower renovation (love the rainfall!), it competes with the best luxury accommodations. Elly prepares breakfast every morning. This stay we enjoyed her 6-cheese spinach and egg dish, stuffed French toast, fresh fruit, and homemade muffins. All were excellent! Joe, as always, was very helpful with suggestions and directions. Maggie greeted us every afternoon when we returned from our travels. The B&B is immaculate and always in order. The little touches such as afternoon snacks, cold beverages, wi-if, movie collection, and assorted magazines/papers/games just add to the perfection. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was absolutely the right place to stay the night before our wedding. Elly was the perfect hostess (and helped us celebrate our wedding in style). The breakfast was extremely delicious, and we happened to be there with a couple who was spending their 50th anniversary (!) in Annapolis, that very day. Elly also helped us get a cab to the courthouse and didn't mind watching our things while we were off getting married. Chez Amis is definitely a place we'll be returning to for our anniversaries!

Room Tip: We were in the Law Library. It was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHPF729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We travel extensively and Chez Amis is at the top of our list of places to get away.
Owners Ellie and Joe Tierney could not make their guests feel any more welcome. The rooms are beautiful and extremely clean and comfortable. We love the Treaty of Paris suite located on the first floor. It is very spacious with a beautifully upgraded private bathroom with great tile shower.
Breakfast each morning is a special treat! Ellie always prepares something special that has you starting your day with a smile.
The location is perfect whether you are walking the shops on main street, touring the Naval Academy or visiting the waterfront. You are in the middle of everything when you stay at Chez Amis.
Honestly, I cannot say enough good things about this wonderful Annapolis bed and breakfast. Give it a try, I promise you will not be disappointed!

John V.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnmv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.0 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
846 reviews
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
Address: 85 East St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1729
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chez Amis" in French means "Among Friends". Come share a day, weekend or week with us and enjoy the state capitol of Maryland and all it has to offer. Our 4 bedroom Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of historic Annapolis, Maryland and is nearby the State Capitol, St. John's College, the waterfront, city dock, the Naval Academy, antique shops and fabulous dining and entertainment places all within walking distance.Find comfort and old fashioned relaxation at Chez Amis. Since each guest room has a private TV, the French country styled common area is designed for reading, conversation, and playing many games of your choice. Bananagrams and scrabble seem to be our guests’ favorite. Refreshments and homemade cookies are available throughout your stay so we understand if you ‘sneak downstairs’ for just one last cookie. The dining area is a wonderful piece of carpentry that was built by the previous inn owner. It comfortably fits our guests but we also offer supplemental seating if you choose a more intimate table. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing