We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem: great Italian specialties, deli fare and wine”

Giolitti Delicatessen
Ranked #68 of 350 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Giolitti Deli and Catering has been a special part of the Annapolis dining scene since 1992. We are a fast-casual restaurant where you order at the counter and are served at your table. You may call in orders to pick up or order to go in house. We have beer and wine available at great prices (retail with a small corkage) to enjoy with your meal or take home.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem: great Italian specialties, deli fare and wine”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Don't judge a book by its cover. Walk across the street from Whole Foods and check out a locals delight! A family owned and run business with wonderful imported Italian foods, homemade breads, cheeses, and Italian specialties, a lovely and well-priced wine selection, and heavenly homemade breads. Whether you grab cold sandwiches to go (my personal fave is the eggplant and mozzarella; get it on sliced Tuscan), meatballs or calzones hot and ready to eat, or take home food for later (3 large freezers are stocked with frozen pastas, sauces, calzones and more), you will be happy with the quality of the food. It isn't cheap, but it is fast and the ingredients are truly top notch! The service is wonderful, too. Ask for advice selecting wines, foods, or just say Hello.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    18
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This has become one of our favorites!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This has become one of our favorite lunch spots in the Annapolis area; it is always busy at lunchtime and many do take out. We particularly enjoy their daily pasta specials. We started with the vegetable crab soup; this is the best Chesapeake vegetable crab soup that we have had (in Annapolis this is saying something!), although my spouse would have preferred it just a bit less spicy. This time we both had the baked meat lasagna special which included a wonderful side salad and dressing. The lasagna was wonderful, the sauce out of this world, and the focaccia that is served with it yummy. But the unexpected delight of the day was the 'bundt cake', a wonderful almond cake made by the owner that my spouse said should be called a marzipan cake; it was outstanding!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
647 reviews
441 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches and amazing service”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was very impressed with the great selection of European meats and cheeses that they had.
we ordered few sandwiches for an office meeting lunch and they were amazing.
the Italian , Milano and tuna sandwich were superb! so fresh!
hte greek salad was perfect.
we also ordered few of their cookies and people loved them.
we spent like 30 minutes in the store talking to the owner about the sandwiches and what to get and I have to tell you that i was so impressed with his hospitality and his help.
great place to have a great italan sandwich.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joselito1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch service at wine store”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stopped by for lunch and had a pasta dish with sausage and broccoli. Sausage was spicy hot and pasta was dry. Overall dish was good. My guest had the chicken. It appeared as if it was previously frozen. Nice cozy atmosphere. They had some specialty items for sale in the wine store. I would eat there again. Parking is limited and its difficult to walk across the street from Towne centre. Odd intersection with busy traffic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuestAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
322 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Not in the same league as New York, New Jersey and Philly Italian Deli'sr inr i”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

During our recent trip to Annapolis, my wife and.I tried Giolitti,s Being Italian American and used to the many great delis in Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens like Iavorone's and Corona Deli we found this place far below standard. Many of the specialties are from commercial vendors and not made on site. they did acknowledge they made their own mozzarella, I saw pasta products, soppersata and many of the pork products were from other sources. The sandwich's we had were bland and skimped on meat and cheese and were way overpriced. Like they say, "Live and Learn". We won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giolitti Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Giolitti Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing