We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Historical Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banneker-Douglass Museum

Banneker-Douglass Museum
Ranked #21 of 89 things to do in Annapolis
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Historical Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Among the many times I've visited with my daughter, I had the pleasure of attending a doll making session which was sponsored by a sorority organization which was enlightening and fun. Historical facts were shared about the once great church-turned-museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank VLCEnterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“North Pole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Museum was great and the people were more than helpful to my three daughters. They learned about the adventure of getting to the North Pole with an interactive programmed that kept them interested and exploring the museum for much longer than most!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great learning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family learned a great deal from museum especially about the importance of Herbert Frisbee. The man at the front desk was very informative. Be sure to see the mosaic made from the glass that was saved from the windows that were broken during the civil rights movement.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcoming, informative & free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We felt so welcomed when we visited here and 2 gentlemen at the front desks provided wonderful insight into the history. The glass collage on the 2nd floor was beautiful--they had saved original pieces of glass from the Mt. Mariah AME Church to make this. The pictures & history provided on Herbert M. Frisby was impressive. This should be an inspiration for all of us! Thank you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lmpwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This African American history museum is definitely worth a visit. We thought 30 minutes would be enough to get through this museum since it was small and free, but we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the exhibits. We had to hurry our visit because our parking meter was up, but we will definitely stop by again during our next visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank greatone3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banneker-Douglass Museum also viewed

 

Been to Banneker-Douglass Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing