We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bed and Breakfast to beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Academy Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was my wife and I's first experience at a bed and breakfast so we were excited and not knowing what to expect. The entire time, from making the reservation to our departure, I felt at ease and in good hands with the housemaster George. When we told him that we had to arrive early, before our room was even available, he said it was no problem and could leave our luggage in the living room as we explored Annapolis until the room was ready. The room was exquisite with furnishings that gave the room an old time aura and a large bathroom with a great sauna shower and jacuzzi bath tub. The breakfast prepared by the chef was fanstastic and flexible with the hours! We were so delighted with our first night that we asked to stay a second night, which was handled nicely by George again. After this experience we decided that it is now our goal to find a place that could possibly beat the Academy but have had no luck since. We cannot wait for our chance to come here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

The B&B is steps away from everything in Historic Annapolis. We used it as our base for our walking tour, pub crawl and dining options. We contacted via phone the manager John 30 minutes prior to our arrival at the B&B. John explained everything to us about our room (Academy View). I would have given our rating higher had it not been for the room's shortcomings. The quilt on the bed was taddered and there was a hole in the drywall near the spa tub that needed to be fixed. As avid B&Bers these little things come to our attention.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I just completed our stay at the Academy Bed and Breakfast. I cannot express enough how wonderful this experience was. We stayed in the beautifully decorated Academy View room which contained a wonderful jacuzzi tub and spa shower. The staff was warm and courteous and the owner made sure that we had everything we needed for an amazing stay. Not to mention the wonderful breakfast we received the following morning. We were in easy walking distance to a ton of restaurants/shops, the naval academy, and the harbor. It was a perfect couples' retreat and we will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amdixon534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Academy B&B was fantastic. It is located within 1 block of the Naval Academy and 1 block of the Market area and the waterfront. The inn is an old Victorian home that has 5 rooms-4 upstairs & 1 in the basement. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped with all you need. Like ours, most of the upstairs rooms had a jacuzzi tub and shower. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful; so much so that we only ate a light lunch. Some parking is off street behind the inn, but did not see how the owner would handle a full crowd. The owner lives offsite, but is available 24/7 via cell phone and can arrive within 15 minutes. It is located on a somewhat busy street, so the "urban" noises of trucks/autos can be disturbing if not use to it, but the convenience outweighed that for us. Also, it is an old home, so the floors do creak if someone is staying upstairs or using the stairs.

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs rooms; ones at the back (e.g., Academy View) may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TedMac23113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I'm way overdue to write a review about this place but my wife and I stayed here for a night back in July of 2013 and a really loved it. The host was great and really helpful when it came to the Saturday afternoon parking situation when we got The Academy. The building is really beautiful and our room was fantastic with a jacuzzi, great view and plenty of space. Breakfast the next morning was also excellent.

The Academy B and B is really in the center of things in downtown Annapolis. It's right between the harbor and the Naval Academy so the whole town is pretty much in easy walking distance. There are some big bars nearby that can get kind of loud on a weekend night but that really wasn't an issue. I would highly recommend staying here if you're looking for a top-notch B and B in Annapolis.

Room Tip: As usual, all the rooms appeared to be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Academy B&B. The Harbor room was phenomenal. You need to see this bathroom! It's spectacular. The rain shower, tile, enclosed glass, side showers, steam sauna, jacuzzi, dual vanity and custom cut mirror are a work of art. Someone knows how to design and build a bathroom. The location is awesome, close to everything. We parked our car for days in the courtyard and walked everywhere from the shops, to the romantic walks, to the city dock, to the restaurants, to the 1747 tavern, to the Capitol building and there was even a courtesy trolley to take us around town for the night it was cold and windy. When we got tired of enjoying town, we would just Anchor back at Academy for a brief rest and then head back out. What a great memory! John was very accommodating to our every request. I even forgot to give him 30 minutes notice when we were arriving and he was kind enough to check us in over the phone. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the Harbor View room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmichael211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a fantastic night. Less than 100 yards from the Naval Academy entrance. Took tour, came back tired and achy, took a jacuzzi in the Academy View room and were refreshed enough to go to town for dinner. Close to great restaurants and ice cream. Everything was clean and well done, breakfast was over the top great. Miguel is a keeper, cooks and everthing else. A pure delight to speak with, sharing stories of family. I will definitely be back, next time for the weekend.
Bob M

Room Tip: Academy View room was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
1 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,307 reviews
9.2 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
0 mi away
Gibson's Lodgings
Gibson's Lodgings
#3 of 25 in Annapolis
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Bed and Breakfast

Address: 134 Prince George St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range: £95 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy Bed and Breakfast is located In the heart of historic downtown Annapolis, steps from city dock, the Naval Academy and renowned shopping, dining and entertainment. The bed and breakfast underwent a multimillion dollar renovation in recent years, in order to bring modern, luxurious amenities to guests. While the property features gorgeous, modern bathroom suites and expansive rooms/suites, great care was taken to preserve the historic charm and elements that make the Academy Bed and Breakfast so special. A variety of packages are available to accommodate romantic getaways, local Annapolis events, wedding parties, sailing and more. The Academy Bed and Breakfast is also proud to offer private sailing charters aboard the Granmar Sailboat. The sailboat accommodates up to 8 guests, and offers a variety of customized itineraries. Be sure to inquire about vow renewals and anniversary specials, in addition to full house B&B rentals available for special events, weddings, reunions, Navy graduation and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Academy Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing