We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, but watch details.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel meets all the usual expectations for cleanliness and service-- nothing extraordinary, but certainly adequate. There are at least 6 similar hotels with a 2 mile area, but I selected this hotel because it advertised a working swimming pool.
Unfortunately, although the pool is working, it is not often available to the hotel guests. At least half of the working hours, the pool is rented either privately -- when guests are prohibited-- or during pool hours to outside swim teams, clubs, lessons and whatever it takes to keep it filled. It seems the hotel is more interested in defraying the costs of operating the pool than interested in its guests.
You are unlikely to find the pool open during normal guest hours. Probably 5 to 9 pm at night and 8am to noon, but not all the time and rarely in the afternoons. Of course the hotel says they have a pool, but fails to reveal it is not available for the guests except at selected rare hours. I came with some children, so I would not stay here again.

Otherwise, this is a good choice as the location is on the edge of Annapolis, next to a mall and many shopping areas.

Room Tip: First floor right wing. The king suites have a pull out sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cisannapolisgm, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience. It nice to hear that we have met your expectations with regards to cleanliness, that is really important for us.
We are sorry to hear that your kids didn't have the chance to enjoy the pool. We are committed to delivering the the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We value your opinion and business. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely hotel , rooms are very nice and the breakfast area is lovely . Adequate breakfast served as well. My only complaint is that I checked many times before booking this hotel, if they had a pool and the hours. When I visited the hotel months earlier I was shown the pool and noticed children being given swimming lessons even then (November) so I just assumed that was in the slow winter months. Unfortunately that is NOT the case. This hotel provides swimming classes to infants and toddlers from the public all day long. And the pool is closed from noon to 5 during weekdays, imagine in JUNE!. From opening until noon it is full of mothers with strollers bags of swimming gear and kids taking lessons and not just normal lessons, life saving ones, where they throw the kid in the water to teach him to survive so you have a pool completely full of screaming traumatized kids, and NO ROOM for guests to enjoy the pool or even sit!
My guests took one look and left. Plus when I asked why it closes all afternoon, they explained it was closed from noon to 5 since they HAD to have a life guard, Maryland law, BUT thirty miles down the road to our next hotel the following night, lovely pool, no public loud infant swimming lessons disturbing the paying guests and no life guard on duty there EVER and we were still in Maryland. So if you want a pool or hot tub to enjoy please AVOID this hotel, they make money selling lesson and they prefer to do this rather than serve their customers. My only complain was WE SHOULD HAVE BE ADVISED, because I asked many times before selection this hotel and they implied they had a pool open all day etc.and we visited in JUNE the peak swimming season when a pool should be open all day. Owners please dont respond with your generic answer to this, There is no excuse for this pool situation and at least guests should be advised ahead of time.Dont imply you have a lovely heated pool with a hot tub. You do, but it is for the paying public to use-which literally fill the pool daily, not your hotel guest. This was a huge disappointment..It is a real shame because otherwise this hotel was just wonderful!

Room Tip: all rooms seem fine, but if you kids are expecting to swim, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbybcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cisannapolisgm, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. We wish to let you know that your voice is of utmost importance to us. We are committed to delivering the the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here last summer for a lacrosse tournament. Loved it! Clean and comfortable. The breakfast bar was a bit overwhelmed with so many teams staying here at the same time and all of them trying to get a meal in at the same time. I suspect during a regular stay it would be more than adequate. We wished we could have spent an extra night here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verno316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cisannapolisgm, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. It is so nice to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable with the clean and comfy bed rooms we have. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 8 nights. Helpful staff, clean hotel, pleasant, good rooms, warm lobby with coffee, tea and cookies at any time. Good breakfast. Everything we could expect of a good hotel. My only complaint is the matresses of the beds which are all extremely soft, not good for the back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cisannapolisgm, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience.
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this past summer in the jacuzzi suite. It was nice but the room felt a bit dated. We paid a pretty high price so I expected the hotel to be more updated. Given there are cheaper hotels that are updated. But all in all it was a nice hotel. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was good. I would consider staying in the future

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber12172003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cisannapolisgm, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. We know you have a choice when you travel and appreciate you choosing our hotel. It's also wonderful to hear that you will be considering to stay with us again in the future. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very clean and nice hotel to stay at. The front desk was friendly and helpful. The hotel is near shopping but not so close that it impacts the hotel. There is a Safeway, Wendy's, Thai and sushi within walking distance. The rooms are spacious and the $10 extra for a 2 room suite is well worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back. There is a tree line and grassy area and the rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southwesttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cisannapolisgm, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience.
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. Thank you for saying that our Hotel is very clean and spacious making it a nice hotel to stay in. It's also great to hear that the staffs were friendly. It's wonderful that the location worked best for you. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The location, near the Annapolis Mall, and not far from Downtown Annapolis, is convenient. Arrived here Friday, May 2nd, for my friend's birthday weekend. After we checked in, we changed into our bathing suits and walked to the front desk, to ask about the location of the hot tub. Clerk acted "smart" about it-he said. "Do we have a hot tub?" like we were stupid or something. Hot tub was nice, but even though there was a sign that said no one under 18 was allowed in it, there were 4 kids who came over! The lifeguard did nothing about it, either. And, there were no parents with the kids!!
The room was nice and very clean, although no fan in the bathroom.
The breakfast on Sat. was fair-the eggs had a weird taste, and there were no cups/glasses for the juice. My friend said we could take a plastic cup that was used for the waffles, to drink out of. Also, no one came to refill food items, the entire time we were in the breakfast area.
We did enjoy our stay, as it was clean, and quiet and the location was great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missjeepgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cisannapolisgm, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We are committed to delivering the the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We know you have a choice when you travel and appreciate you choosing our hotel. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay, as it was clean, and quiet. Rest assured the comments you made will be addressed in order for us to improve our services, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
3.6 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Annapolis
Crowne Plaza Annapolis
#12 of 21 in Annapolis
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
3.2 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis

Address: 2600 Housley Rd, Annapolis, MD 21401-7009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Annapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range: £62 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Annapolis. Less than five miles from the historic waterfront of Chesapeake Bay, the Country Inn & Suites in Annapolis, MD offers an impressive selection of rooms and suites with exceptional amenities. Just minutes from downtown, we are an excellent base for business and leisure guests visiting the U.S. Naval Academy, government offices, Anne Arundel Medical Center and the Annapolis Mall. Enjoy our convenient services including a heated indoor pool, Fitness Center, complimentary high-speed Internet access and free daily hot breakfast. We invite you to stay and see what makes the Country Inn & Suites one of the best Chesapeake Bay area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Country Inn And Suites Annapolis
Country Inn Annapolis
Annapolis Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing