We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic date night”

Metropolitan Kitchen & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Metropolitan Kitchen & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 354 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Metropolitan specializes in farm-to-table cooking. We strive to source our ingredients from local farms purveyors.
Odenton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic date night”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great rooftop bar. Nice lounge couches and seating. Friendly staff and yummy food. I only ordered appetizers but they were great! The best part is the atmosphere. It has a great view of Annapolis from the top and the parking nearby was just a flat 5 dollars after 7. I would definitely go back just for the view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank talia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    76
    31
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
annapolis, md
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We hadn't been here in awhile and had an out of town guest from Hawaii we wanted to entertain. After driving him around Annapolis, we came here. He couldn't have been more delighted. We had reservations and were somewhat late, having been stuck in a downtown traffic jam while sightseeing. They tried to seat us downstairs but we asked for the roof. Tony was our waiter and he was polite and unobtrusive.

The diners on the roof trend younger than we are but...no problem. Frankly, no one noticed or cared. The main filter for making it to the roof is being able to climb three sets of stairs. No elevator..

We were promptly seated but they initially tried to seat us at a table right in front of a guitarist. We asked for (and got) a smaller table at the periphery where we could view Annapolis and hear each other.

We shared apps (hummus plate) and calamari (cooked just right). Our mains were delicious. My husband and I shared a pasta and seafood dish (forget name) and our guest had the lamb burger which he raved about. He also was impressed by the beer selection.

A very pleasant evening. Just don't drink too much or you'll have problems getting down those stairs :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarapatiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average and Overpriced ”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Intrigued by some of he online reviews, we tried this place for a birthday celebration recently. Conveniently located near a public parking garage, at least it was easy to find and park. We were ushered into a downstairs bar room ( there is also an upstairs and another main restaurant area), apparently because we had kids and they wanted us out of the main area. The place had literally no ambiance and the staff were not very helpful getting us seated and procuring a high chair for tee baby. Our server - let's call him "John" was unfamiliar with the menu and had to check his answers to our questions with he manager. Despite this shaky start, we managed to order from a beverage menu, with a reasonable collection of local brews and in appealing wines. The menu choices were not extensive, but we were all satisfied with the taste of our entrees - ranging from the Short Rib Tower, Seared Scallops, Cheese and Meat Platter, or the Sirloin Steak. The portion sizes are perfect for those on a diet - they are microscopic, and more like tapas. The prices, however,,are full-priced. Not a good value. Overall, this place seems like a nice place to meet friends over drinks and appis, but I wouldn't add it to your list of dinner venues.

Helpful?
Thank Morton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Brunch spot!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went here for sunday brunch and it was very good. We could order breakfast or lunch items so everyone was happy. The service was really slow but the place wasn't that full so i'm not sure what the issue was there. They have some smoothie type drinks to help "detox" from saturday night. All in all....great spot for brunch!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for happy hour and drinks”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've eaten here for brunch and for lunch, and while the food is good enough, it's not my favorite place to eat in the city. The reason to go to Metropolitan is for happy hour and drinks. The bartenders are my favorite in Annapolis. Check out the rooftop bar - also a cool place for live music.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metropolitan Kitchen & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Metropolitan Kitchen & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing