We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Brunch!”
Review of Miss Shirley's

Miss Shirley's
Ranked #8 of 351 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding Brunch!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have been here a couple of times and both times have been excellent! They do not take reservations so either go early or be prepared for a bit of a wait. You can always have one of their brunch cocktails while you are waiting. Shirley's version of a Bloody Mary is really good. I also recommend the grapefruit crush. There is a huge variety of brunch items to choose from on the menu. You can go very basic with eggs, meat and potatoes OR you can have something much more decadent with seafood and steak. Many items have a Cajun spin to them. No matter what I order I make sure I my side choice is the grits. They are delicious - made with mascarpone and bacon - yum! If you are looking for a great brunch experience, this is the place to go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpost100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    131
    48
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Today, my husband decided to go to Miss Shirley's because we had heard so many people say great things about this restaurant especially this one in Annapolis. When we walked in the hostess told us that it would be a ten minute wait which was fine. Less than five minutes, we were seated.There was many items on the menu to choose from. We were really hungry so I ordered the Chicken tenders and Waffles with Cinnamon Dusting waffles instead of the ones that it comes with as well as the side of grits. My husband orders the Bayou Omelet with hash browns and the waffles with the white chocolate chips on them. The food was good however there was some hits and misses. The grits were the best tasting thing I ate out of what we both ordered. The chicken tenders were dry but our waiter Mark brought me some fresh ones and they tasted much better. The Cinnamon waffles were really good. My husband like the omelet and the white chocolate chip waffles, however, he was not a fan of the hash browns. They did not have much taste to me. Overall the service was good and we will be back to try other things on the menu. I am definitely looking forward to those grits again. They were divine!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nothing Ordinary!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My Honey and I visited this restaurant for the first time on a week day last week. The decor was very attractive, colorful, and spacious. We were greeted by friendly and courteous staff; our server was very knowledgeable of the menu selections. There were so many unique menu items that I was glad to have taken a preview before arriving. Items included usual breakfast items, but featured fried green tomatoes, crab cakes, seafood omelette and diverse, Maryland style seasoning options. The cost is a bit more that the usual breakfast/brunch, but this IS NOT the usual breakfast/brunch experience, and most portions are large enough to share. Further, I had a mimosa and one was enough. (Lol) Another tip I'd like to add is that parking at the Westin Hotel lot is complimentary upon request of a card from the restaurant. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Trip to a Bountiful Breakfast”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Imagine succulent lobster, tender shrimp, delicious lump crabmeat perfectly blended in an expertly crafted three egg omelet. Well, no need to imagine it, you can get the Seafood Trio Omelet at Miss Shirley's Café. A great spot with three locations...two in Baltimore and one in Annapolis. Miss Shirley is very popular and they don't take reservations. But, I assure you that the food is definitely worth waiting for...and, I am not the most patient patron. Among the other favorites at this restaurant are the sweet potato biscuits with jalapeno mango jam - oh so good!
There are pancakes, grits and French Toast - oh my!

This is a fantastic breakfast/brunch spot. Oh, and don't forget the great drinks....Miss Shirley's Crush is my personal favorite.

Great food, great service and great drinks...what else could you want? GO!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ntreeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome Brunch”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

First time to Miss Shirley's. Came with wife, son and his significant other for a late morning Sunday brunch. They said 1/2 hour wait but really only about 15 minutes. Sat inside in big comfortable booth and when handed the menus we just stared in amazement. Everything sounded great. It is a very interesting menu with creative dishes. We started with the signature bloody mary and each ordered a different meal. All were perfect. A great find for us. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottMacD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Shirley's also viewed

 

Been to Miss Shirley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing