We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Expectations, but some bumps overall!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Brielle, NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“High Expectations, but some bumps overall!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We recently returned home from our weekend stay at the O'Callaghan Hotel. We were able to check into our King Suite with a balcony on the fifth floor. The bed was more like a Queen and the balcony was extremely small, had a high concrete wall and faced the street. The temperature of the hallways were very hot as was the elevator. The air conditioner on maximum setting wasn't really cool, just average. We only had two giant pillows on the bed. On Saturday we left the room at 8:30 and didn't return until about 3:30. Our room still hadn't been serviced at that time. At 4:00 I saw the housekeeper cleaning rooms and just asked for towels, as it was raining so we stayed in the room. She seemed surprised that we didn't want service. This morning we left for breakfast and bought our bags to the car. We went back upstairs for a quick bathroom break at 10:00 before we checked out and interestingly enough our room was done, and the bed had four pillows instead of two. The breakfast buffet was not included in the room cost and the parking is 20 dollars a day for valet, so park across the street in the parking garage for half the price. The location is about a 10- 15 minute walk to the marina and the bay. Enjoyed our stay but it was missing some of the things we expect for the price.

Room Tip: Check your air conditioning. Possibly rooms on lower floors?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear JoAnnMcW,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you letting us know the positives and the negatives of your stay. We will work to correct these items. We hope you give us a second chance to show we can meet all your expectations.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    280
    147
    83
    33
See reviews for
192
357
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
242 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is what hotels should be like. Very clean room, very comfortable beds, very friendly service, very good location, and a fair price. It is less than a mile walk to the city docks from the hotel. Parking is valet only for $20, but there are few options in downtown Annapolis. You probably won't need your car if you're visiting only the downtown attractions.

The beds are very comfortable. The combination of pillows is nice, although I don't know why the pillow is square shaped when rectangular would fit better. Maybe for sitting up in bed? The AC is a bit loud, but works well and responds to the thermostat quickly. The bathroom fan comes on automatically with the bathroom light, which is a nuisance in the middle of the night when you're trying to not disturb your roommates. The bathroom is spacious with a good amount of counter space. The towels are soft but a bit small.

The bedroom has a round table and sitting chair with a reading lamp. There is also a desk, so guests can spread out. The mini-fridge is good size. The room is quiet and nice. It has a calming effect.

The lobby is a bit spartan with not much room to sit. It does have lemon flavored water in a serve-yourself dispenser, which is a nice touch. The restaurant is inviting but we didn't eat there. It is such a short walk to Main Street with a great selection of restaurants. There is a breakfast buffet which looked good.

The valet parking is quick and very friendly. I would have tipped more but at $20/day for parking I felt like I had already paid enough. For a modern hotel close to downtown, this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Dutch Brother,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It is great to know that we met your lodging needs. I will be sure to pass your comments along to our staff. We hope you come back to see us soon.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

There is room to relax and enjoy yourself at this historic hotel. There is room to move, store your suitcases, and feel like you can stretch out. The staff is exceptionally kind and helpful; ready to make you as if you've arrived at your home away from home! Its location is fantastic for all you'd like to do in and around Annapolis. The rooms are clean and bright, and the service is beyond your expectation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Shannon K,

It is great to hear we exceeded your expeditions during your stay. Thank you for the great review. We look forward to having you back as our guest soon.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

at check-in we encounter Jacques Lawrence and from that moment on our weekend was extra special. She recommended great places to eat and provided interesting sightseeing information.
The free trolley made getting around very easy, thus no paking problems. The hotel was very clean and our room comfortable .. A great weekend away with friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Gloria586,

Happy to hear you had a great weekend. I will be sure to pass on your praise to Jacque. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Didn't know much about the hotel and read no reviews before visiting. We were in town for a wedding and had a great experience. Our room was clean, the valet parking and the staff were friendly and efficient. Really enjoyed the crab cake from the restaurant and the drinks were reasonable. Best thing was the location. Easy walking distance to everything. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Carol R,

The staff and are glad to hear that you had a great experience during your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. It was clean and modern, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and there were great details like cucumber water in the lobby. Had a great stay, and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Kaye B,

We are glad to have met your expectations during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here the last week in july and loved it. The price was reasonable compared to the surrounding hotels. Your next to some great restaurants and the visitors center. We found the beds were comfortable and service outstanding. Especially the housekeeping staff keep up the smiles and friendly attitude ! Next trip to Annapolis we would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Had a king and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Anne C,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our service and Housekeeping staff. We are pleased that you had a great stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Annapolis.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.6 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.1 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
1,185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
837 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Property: O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
Address: 174 West St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use city transportation around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing