We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin Walls & Hard Beds = Poor Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I wanted to like the O'Callaghan hotel. It was well-located and appeared nice from the lobby and exterior. However, the walls are INCREDIBLY thin and allow any and all noises to come through to your own room. That, coupled with hard beds, thin pillows, and old bedspreads, led to a sleepless and uncomfortable night. My husband and I were trying to get away for a night to celebrate our anniversary and enjoy a morning of sleeping in (we have an early-rising child), but we hardly even got to sleep with all of the noise from a loud group of girls down the hall. We would have been better off returning home to the DC area after a long day in Annapolis.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FineTasteTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryant D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Dear WineTasteTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry to hear about your disappointing stay at our property. It is the basic expectation of any guest to be treated fairly and courteously during your stay. We hope to be given to opportunity to sway your opinion in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2010

Excellent choice - reasonably priced with all amenities free (wi-fi, computer use in business room, in room refridgerator) Cheap parking ($15 overnight) and easy walk to most of town which is very impotant as parking is a nightmare. Staff was super friendly. As a native Annapolitan, I would say O'Callaghan's is the best hotel downtown and definitely can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outlanderinflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdgirllp, Director of Sales at O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We hope you will make it "home" to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My husband and I plus my sister and brother-in-law recently visited Annapolis, MD and stayed at the O'Callaghan Hotel. We would all definitely rate it A+. The accommodations were very good, but even more important that that was the extraordinary hospitality and great service provided by the staff. They went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating as well as efficient. The free van service to restaurants, the Academy and any other place was so handy as parking is a real problem in Annapolis. Parking is available at the hotel for a modest fee. Breakfasts were delicious! In our experiences in hotels in the U.S. and abroad, the O'Callaghan Hotel is one of the best.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ClaudetteColbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdgirllp, Director of Sales at O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I thought this was a ver nice hotel, clean comfortable, great location.
Unfortunately when I returned to my room, my 300 dollar ipod was missing. The management was not very helpful with a "we'll call you if we find anything" and seemed annoyed when I called about it the next few days.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgeorgek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdgirllp, Director of Sales at O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear you lost your Ipod. We do have a mini safe in every guest room for you to lock your valuables up. We have searched extensively for this and have left you a number of messages, we have not found anything and hope that it turned up after all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

The O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis is THE place to stay while visiting the Chesapeake Bay area, the U.S. Naval Academy or a sailing get-away. O'Callaghan's reminds me of hotels I have enjoyed in Western Europe with the dark woods used throughout the property, it's cozy atmosphere, charming staff, and professional management. Although the hotel is not at the City Dock area, that ceases to be a problem, as I have used their personal shuttle available all hours, whisked in just a few minutes to the waterfront. I have never had to wait more than 5 minutes for the shuttle; the drivers are always gregarious and fact filled - you can also get picked up by the shuttle most hours and delivered right to the front door...a very convenient amenity. The restaurant and bar is beautifully decorated and the food always wonderful. The General Manager, Sally Hughes, a Scot with a bit of a burr, is a delight to speak with and she is always to be found on-site insuring that all goes smoothly. Annette Lord Burress, who is the National Sales Director, has taken personal interest in my various stays at her hotel and has filled special requests for me. The front desk personnel made reservations on my behalf and designated my party as VIP with the Chart House restaurant, so we were feted quite wonderfully. I will again return to The O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis the next time my plans call for me to be in the area. I highly recommend this gem of a property. Linda Irwin

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barcelona540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdgirllp, Director of Sales at O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Hi Linda, thanks so much for your fantastic review, I know Sally and Annette love having you come to stay with us!
Hope to see you back soon to check out our new Duvets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We were looking for a place to have a family reunion and from the very first contact with The O'Callaghan we knew we had found our place. Sally Hughes, the manager, ensured that the 6 visiting families with varying aged children would be fully accommodated and WE WERE!

We were so pleased that the hotel was a short walk to downtown Annapolis and historic sites. And we enjoyed sitting in the front lounge on occasion and talking to the front desk attendants.

We also very much enjoyed the dinner in the John Barry restaurant right in the hotel. The food was delicious and the atmosphere of the restaurant was very pretty.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCroarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdgirllp, Director of Sales at O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Wow! Thanks for chosing us and for taking the time to share your experiences. We hope your family reunion is an annual one and if not that you can find a reason to come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We stayed at the OCallaghan Hotel in April and we really liked it. We stayed in a king balcony room. The room was fairly spaceous, but the balcony was very small, just big enough to two chairs and a small table. This hotel is a pretty good walk to Main Street but they offer shuttles. We just walked. The staff is extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome there. The John Barry bar was great and carried authentic Irish dishes. There is a $15 a day valet parking fee, but parking in Annapolis is very limited so this is your best bet. We would not hesitate to stay at the OCallaghan Hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jostenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdgirllp, Director of Sales at O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Thank you for your review and for chosing to stay with us!

The king balcony is our smallest, just the two chairs but at least you can have coffee ouside! Our Double Balcony rooms actually have a larger balcony with a table and four chairs, they are also cheaper! And the suites have a huge balcony!

So please come back soon and check out the other rooms and our new duvets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.6 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.1 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
863 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Address: 174 West St, Annapolis, MD 21401-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range: £35 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOTICE From October 1, 2017, the O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel will remain closed until further notice. A warm Irish welcome awaits you in historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use city transportation around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing