We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Naval Academy buildings and grounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U.S. Naval Academy

U.S. Naval Academy
Ranked #1 of 89 things to do in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1845, this undergraduate college for the Navy prepares men and women to become professional officers in the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Beautiful Naval Academy buildings and grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Took the guided tour of the Academy from the visitors center at Gate 1. Do not forget your photo I.D. it is mansatory. Met our guide and the tour group which consisted of just one other couple. Ths only downside of the tour is that we moved at our guides pace, and you can forget taking pictures, because whe would just keep walking, but she was quite informative, although difficult to hear. This would be a major problem if the group was large. You can tour beautiful the grounds yourself without a guide, although you need a map to know where you can go and where you can not. There is a fee for the tour, but if you want to wander around the grounds, it is free.
After the tour where we saw the crypt of John Paul Jones, we were released to a museum at Preble Hall which is very close to the Church. The museum was wonderful with the first floor devoted to the Naval history, and the second floor devoted to model ship building. Do not miss this museum, you will tregret it.
After the museum, had a slice of Pizze at the drydock(?) cafe right on campus.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JIMDSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,674
    347
    60
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm not a military person but...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Interesting tour and a beautiful campus. Learned a lot about the history of the navy and about the naval academy culture. The free museum is also fascinating - I wish we'd had another hour our so to spend there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lukas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Walking Campus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Loved the location. Visited the church and its underground tomb. Even the gift shop is worth browsing. Was lucky enough to watch a group march by in formation. That was an awesome sight!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank wyzlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“US Naval Academy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We arrived at the Us Naval Academy and were immediately struck by the history, attention to detail and tradition.
Our passionate and upbeat guide "Chip" (class of 1965) really made our tour exceptional,and kept the interest of our group of 20.
We were very lucky to take the tour the morning after the ring ceremony,and really get a sense of the customs that occur generation after generation.
I highly suggest a tour guide as the campus of this historic gem is very large,and there is so much fascinating information to be gleaned from a knowledgeable guide!
We visited the tomb of John Paul Jones and stood on the very spot that George Washington resigned as the commander in chief of the Continental Army
The beauty of the architecture at the campus is matched only by a trip to Europe.
The gift shop sells everything from notebooks to sweatshirts for everyone 6 months +.
We could have spent another day just in the museum,and walking the well kept grounds.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We did not think that we would like the tour and we ended up loving it.

Helpful?
Thank Paul_G_Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U.S. Naval Academy also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Naval Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing