We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for families”
Review of Inn at Horn Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Horn Point
Ranked #4 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We thought the Inn was nicely restored but we felt very uncomfortable there with our toddlers. We had asked in advance if the Inn could accommodate young children and were assured that we would not disturb anyone. The Inn keeper seemed completely irritated by our kids when they were settling down to go to sleep. He came to the door and asked us to keep them quiet. Even the next day when the kids were behaving well, we got the strong impression that we were not welcome.

The room we were in was charming but too small. The bedding was stiff and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HAVMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

I am sorry that this turned out to be such a long response. If you read this, please know that we have had many successful family visits. We have raised four children of our own and have a wonderful granddaughter, who will be four this July. Families and kids aren't the problem.

Unless someone occupies all of our guest rooms, we usually restrict children to the age of 13 and older. But this past Sunday, it was a little slow and we had only one couple already staying with us. How bad could it be? Even worse case scenario, it should be very manageable.

The family that wrote this review has two really cute, two year old twins; and with the proper discipline, you would just be crazy for them. As described by this reviewer (above), I did go to the guest room. I went twice, because we could hear the banging through three layers of sheet rock and sound bat insulation. The reviewer was on the first floor; and my wife could hear them in the office on the second floor.

The third time I went to the room to ask them to quiet down, it was at the request of our other guests who had returned from their dinner and asked about the "source of the noise". Each time I went to the room, the father made me the bad guy and explained to his children that "they really should settle down, because we don't want this man to have to ask us to leave". We love our business and our guest; but this parenting couple is the reason most B&B's do not accept children.

Here at the Inn, we have had guests with three year old children who ate with a knife and fork. Properly behaved children are not the result of the parents being good "friends" with their children. Children need to have boundaries and expectations set for them.

So, please, if your children are well behaved, bring them and enjoy your stay. Our Inn also makes a fabulous atmosphere for one spectacular family reunion. We look forward to having you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Horn Point and was beyond impressed with Cory's hospitality. The inn and our room were immaculately clean and located on a quiet street in walking distance to many restaurants. Cory was consistently responsive over email and always answered his phone when I called. The breakfast he made was delicious and respected dietary restrictions. We recommend this gem to anyone planning a get-away to Annapolis!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS_mom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to tell us and other travelers about your experience. We really appreciate it.

And thank you for mentioning that Innkeepers are (and should be) great resources for the locations in which they are located. We feel that navigating around a new area is an important key to thoroughly enjoying one's precious free time. We look forward to having you back with us again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Inn is immaculate, in a quiet neighborhood. Our room was Captiva and perfect for our stay. Comfortable bed, small but cute bath. Excellent, healthy breakfast with fruit, yoghurt and crepe-like pancakes. Good coffee, a variety of juices. We never heard other guests and couldn't have had a nicer weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Barbara: Any time a guest takes the time to say anything about their experience, we appreciate it so much. Thank you.

You mentioned that you did not hear any other guest activity while you were with us. This is not something that surprises us, because what does not show in the renovations that we did to our building is: we have put three layers of sheet rock (one of those being an required fire wall board) to diminish sound between guest rooms. In addition, we added sound bat insulation between every joist. We were going for a quiet guest room experience. Thank you for noticing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I had a great stay in the Sequoia room at the Inn at Horn Point for our wedding night. Everything was just right, from the comfy sheets and cozy fireplace in our room, to the tasty breakfast in the morning. The innkeepers are very accommodating; I had asked to come by in the morning before the wedding to drop off a bottle of champagne and strawberries and they had it all chilled and ready (including champagne glasses) for us in our room when we got there after the wedding. They were in contact with us via email starting a couple of weeks before our stay to ensure that all of our needs and expectations would be met.
Also, what is nice is the Inn's close proximity to a bunch of really great restaurants.
The only constructive criticism I can think of is that the exterior could use a little TLC (new paint, etc) but you will not care a bit about that once you step inside and see the very inviting and well maintained interior!
All in all we had a super time and we would definitely like to come back for our one year anniversary!

Thank you Cory & Carol, and David & Marsha!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you again for your web posting. Your constructive comment about the exterior paint was spot on. The exterior of the building is real wood; and being close to the water, it does not hold paint that well. We had to wait until spring/summer to paint the exterior; and you will be delighted to know that it looks great for your return "one year anniversary stay". December is just around the corner!! Hope to see you soon. Cory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Cory brings you into his great authentic antique home and treats you right. The breakfasts are fantastic and there is a well stocked small self-serve fridge with soft drinks, etc. The accommodations are cute and extremely clean. The inn is dotted with antiques accenting the original flavor of the pretty old home. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at an exceptionally better value than the box chain hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailStarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. But much more importantly, we hope that you, your family and friends in Jersey City are all doing well following Hurricane Sandy. If you need a place to get away and relax from your ordeal, please consider coming to see us. We will take care of you while you are with us and try to help you forget the awful losses that you all are experiencing. All the best,
'
Cory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Looking for something different to do on the Friday after Thankgiving, we selected the Inn at Horn Point from the Annapolis B&B website based on availability and that Cory answered the phone when I happened to call. Couldn't have been a better choice for a semi-random selection! We enjoyed walking around the USNA and downtown Annapolis. Our room was nicely decorated, clean, cozy, and quaint. The gourmet breakfast was delicious, served by Cory and his "waitress" (very pleasant young daughter).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review. We appreciate it so much. Well, Thanksgiving will be here again before you know it; and we have some cozy rooms for you all ready for a repeat visit. If you can make it down to see us, we'd enjoy the pleasure of matching the experience that you reported last time. Cory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Beautiful house in one of my favorite places... Eastport Annapolis.

Parking is easy. Coffee is great. Weekend breakfasts delicious.

Host is genial and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Nancy: Thank you for sharing your experience. Coincidentally, we just had two couples with us from State College, PA......and had a great time talking about the wonderful culinary things that go on there, including some of the greatest ice cream found anywhere. Thanks for producing the team of Ben and Jerry!!!

We hope that you will come see us again. It would be our pleasure. Cory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.8 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.5 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
863 reviews
1.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
#11 of 21 in Annapolis
884 reviews
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Horn Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Horn Point

Address: 100 Chesapeake Ave, Corner of First and Chesapeake, Annapolis, MD 21403-3306
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range: £113 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2002, Cory and Carol have welcomed over 23,000 guests from around the world to their convenient location with a noteworthy brand of hospitality. You should make a plan to visit their refreshingly charming, upscale Bed and Delicious Breakfast! The INN carries recognition from National Geographic Adventure Travel, USA Today, Coastal Living Magazine, Washingtonian Magazine and other national and international publications. Green practices highlighted by US EPA, Maryland Green Travel and Annapolis Green organizations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing