We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring”
Review of Inn at Horn Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Horn Point
Ranked #4 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We reserved the top end room at the Horn Inn, the Sequoia. The location of the inn was perfect for us. The decor was very nice and fairly quiet. Other than that, not much to rave about. For the prices asked one would expect the availability of a cup of tea or coffee in the afternoon (or when ever) as well as some available snacks. We are used to seeing fresh flowers, news papers in the sitting rooms available non alcoholic beverages and snacks at a number of other B&Bs we have stayed at.The breakfasts were underwhelming, not bad but not great (Roasted Vegetable Fritatta and Lemon Ricotta Pancakes) and the coffee only OK. We had to wait for Saturdays breakfast, it was a bit late and no coffee was available before about 8:15. Corey was nice, we never saw his wife although his daughter helped with Sunday breakfast. While I would say our stay was OK, it certainly was not worth the almost $590 price tag for two nights! The somewhat forward attempt at a gratuity on the bill was also presumptuous. Basically you are renting a room in their house for a lot of money. We will check out some other offerings in the area.

Room Tip: If you stay here I suggest getting the cheapest rooms. They don't have a tub like the Sequoia bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacBode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

We appreciate the fact that you took the time to tell us about your experience. Some of the items that you pointed out could have best been addressed if you had said something during your visit with us. That said, you did bring up a few points that will not change.

We appreciate that you shared your opinion about what you thought was missing or what could or should have been included. But you have to realize that there are costs involved in every one of the items you shared that you felt were lacking.

Afternoon snacks, coffee and tea, fresh flowers, free non-alcoholic beverages are all a matter of choice by the owners/operators of an accommodation. These are not required, nor are these items alluded to in the presentation of our property; therefore, guests who are familiar with us and our web site do not anticipate any of these things. You may find it helpful to learn that we actually had "afternoon tea" in our original plan, over 10 years ago; but guests did not show up. We came to learn through experience that Annapolis is too much of an outdoor, sightseeing town for guests to want to plan their day around snacks in the afternoon.

You mentioned that you did not like the price for what you got. Although we never like to hear that sentiment, could you imagine how disappointed you would be with the guest room rate if we jacked up the prices to cover the costs of all of the items that you wished were included?

We do try to offer a fair value for our guests, and clearly, we are not going to please everyone. We just hope that 99.9% of our guests find our pricing very competitive. We also strive to provide hospitality that our guest find is one of a kind and worthy of repeating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were exceptionally underwhelmed. Hospitality was frosty. Bed was lumpy. And the breakfast? Well, their webpage advertised tasty morsels such as:

"Honey Glazed Pears"
"Roasted Vegetable Fritatta"
"Lemon Ricotta Pancakes"
"Creme Brulee French Toast"

We got white toast with the butt-ends and scrambled eggs. Could have gone to Denny's and done just as well.

But more disconcerting, the room was $20 more than we were quoted over the phone AND we were charged an additional "4.5% convenience fee" for using a credit card. After consulting their website, I could find no mention of such a fee.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank e a e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear guest, please be aware that this review does not follow TripAdvisor guidelines. This is the second review by a guest using a second log-on name. This family stayed with us only one time for only one night. The original review is titled "Not Family Friendly". One of both of these reviews may be removed shortly. Thank you for considering our Inn. We look forward to hosting your stay in Annapolis soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Horn Point in February. For the price, I think I was expecting a little more. We stayed in the Captiva room, which was exactly as pictured. The bathroom is very small but completely adequate if you're OK with minimal counter space. The shower was nice and hot, and there were plenty of towels. The Captiva room itself was also small, but nicely appointed and cozy. There was only one chair in the room other than the bed; luckily for us we don't mind sitting on the bed to watch TV (which we ended up doing because the weather was miserable while we were there). The Inn is in a very nice neighborhood and we enjoyed taking a walk through it in the morning. It's only about a block from the water, although it's not like there is a nice beach to enjoy. There is plenty of on-street parking.

Cory was plenty nice, and generally left us to our own devices. We did ask him about restaurants in the area, and he was both knowledgable and helpful. We ended up taking him up on one of his recommendations. Our communication with him both before our trip and after was easy and straightforward.

The breakfast was 3 courses and "fancy" -- we had pineapple to start, lemon yogurt (particularly yummy), and then a frittata/omelette thing. Cory was very accommodating to preferences -- for example, the other couple had some allergies and he remembered them and went out of his way to point out that he had "cooked around" those allergies. The food was good, the portions small but not too small (if you know what I mean). It was a little awkward making conversation with strangers at the breakfast table - there is only one - but luckily we got along well with the other couple. I suppose that's par for the course at a B&B but I would have preferred separate tables. Or maybe some music in the background - when no one was talking, it seemed very quiet in there.

All in all, a decent experience but just short of the mark.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DelawareGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

We will also be in contact with these guests; but we wanted to say, in a public way, that we regret delivering anything but a stellar performance at our Inn. The first snag maybe was the price. Our web rates are based on a two night stay. For folks like these who only want to stay one night, we explain that we charge more one night; and they accepted the rate. By the way, we charge less than web rates for three nights....and even less for four, etc.

The next snag was breakfast where our guests observed that sitting with strangers is unique; but at the same time they observe that it might be the nature of a B&B. For all guests considering our Inn, we have eight possible seats around one table as well as a two seater off to the side, if you prefer not to interact. In the spring and fall, we also have outside dining available.

Our guests were not happy; and we will be in contact with them to see what else we could have done and to welcome them back for an experience that might be better catered to their needs. And we look forward to welcoming our readers to our Inn....very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My girlfriend and I just spend 2 nights at the INN at HoRN Point and had a phenomenal time. Cory goes above and beyond to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, plus he's a great chef so your breakfast will be a treat too. He's very knowledgeable of the area and it's history so I suggest you take him up on any suggestions he has. There's easy parking and tons to do within a mile of the inn and a few great restaurants just blocks away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We know how busy everyone is these days; so your post to this site means a great deal to us.

We are so glad that your experience was so positive. And we agree that our location allows our guests the opportunity to enjoy all the Annapolis has to offer without the difficulty of parking...and without the congestion and hubbub that one experiences in other parts of the down town area.

We look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We thought the Inn was nicely restored but we felt very uncomfortable there with our toddlers. We had asked in advance if the Inn could accommodate young children and were assured that we would not disturb anyone. The Inn keeper seemed completely irritated by our kids when they were settling down to go to sleep. He came to the door and asked us to keep them quiet. Even the next day when the kids were behaving well, we got the strong impression that we were not welcome.

The room we were in was charming but too small. The bedding was stiff and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HAVMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

I am sorry that this turned out to be such a long response. If you read this, please know that we have had many successful family visits. We have raised four children of our own and have a wonderful granddaughter, who will be four this July. Families and kids aren't the problem.

Unless someone occupies all of our guest rooms, we usually restrict children to the age of 13 and older. But this past Sunday, it was a little slow and we had only one couple already staying with us. How bad could it be? Even worse case scenario, it should be very manageable.

The family that wrote this review has two really cute, two year old twins; and with the proper discipline, you would just be crazy for them. As described by this reviewer (above), I did go to the guest room. I went twice, because we could hear the banging through three layers of sheet rock and sound bat insulation. The reviewer was on the first floor; and my wife could hear them in the office on the second floor.

The third time I went to the room to ask them to quiet down, it was at the request of our other guests who had returned from their dinner and asked about the "source of the noise". Each time I went to the room, the father made me the bad guy and explained to his children that "they really should settle down, because we don't want this man to have to ask us to leave". We love our business and our guest; but this parenting couple is the reason most B&B's do not accept children.

Here at the Inn, we have had guests with three year old children who ate with a knife and fork. Properly behaved children are not the result of the parents being good "friends" with their children. Children need to have boundaries and expectations set for them.

So, please, if your children are well behaved, bring them and enjoy your stay. Our Inn also makes a fabulous atmosphere for one spectacular family reunion. We look forward to having you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Horn Point and was beyond impressed with Cory's hospitality. The inn and our room were immaculately clean and located on a quiet street in walking distance to many restaurants. Cory was consistently responsive over email and always answered his phone when I called. The breakfast he made was delicious and respected dietary restrictions. We recommend this gem to anyone planning a get-away to Annapolis!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS_mom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to tell us and other travelers about your experience. We really appreciate it.

And thank you for mentioning that Innkeepers are (and should be) great resources for the locations in which they are located. We feel that navigating around a new area is an important key to thoroughly enjoying one's precious free time. We look forward to having you back with us again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Inn is immaculate, in a quiet neighborhood. Our room was Captiva and perfect for our stay. Comfortable bed, small but cute bath. Excellent, healthy breakfast with fruit, yoghurt and crepe-like pancakes. Good coffee, a variety of juices. We never heard other guests and couldn't have had a nicer weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCory, Owner at Inn at Horn Point, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Barbara: Any time a guest takes the time to say anything about their experience, we appreciate it so much. Thank you.

You mentioned that you did not hear any other guest activity while you were with us. This is not something that surprises us, because what does not show in the renovations that we did to our building is: we have put three layers of sheet rock (one of those being an required fire wall board) to diminish sound between guest rooms. In addition, we added sound bat insulation between every joist. We were going for a quiet guest room experience. Thank you for noticing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.8 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
1.1 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,304 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Annapolis, MD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
0.6 mi away
Gibson's Lodgings
Gibson's Lodgings
#3 of 25 in Annapolis
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Horn Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Horn Point

Address: 100 Chesapeake Ave, Corner of First and Chesapeake, Annapolis, MD 21403-3306
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range: £107 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2002, Cory and Carol have welcomed over 23,000 guests from around the world to their convenient location with a noteworthy brand of hospitality. You should make a plan to visit their refreshingly charming, upscale Bed and Delicious Breakfast! The INN carries recognition from National Geographic Adventure Travel, USA Today, Coastal Living Magazine, Washingtonian Magazine and other national and international publications. Green practices highlighted by US EPA, Maryland Green Travel and Annapolis Green organizations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing