We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Favorite with Great Seafood”
Review of Carrol's Creek

Carrol's Creek
Reserve with OpenTable
Carrol's Creek is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 350 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Transit: Water taxi from downtown Annapolis.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Local Favorite with Great Seafood”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I went to Carrol’s Creek last night for our anniversary. We had hoped for a table on the deck to be on the water while watching the sunset, but a fierce thunderstorm quashed that idea.

Carrol’s Creek rates highly for both food and atmosphere. They serve a wide range of American cuisine, lots of it seafood, and they do it well. You want that steak medium-rare? It’s done to perfection as it arrives at your table. Likewise, delicate seafood is also cooked nicely, full of flavor and never overdone. And if you like Cream of Crab soup, an Annapolis staple, you’ll love their version, spiked with Sherry, but be forewarned, it’s very rich and filling.

Service was excellent as well. Prices aren’t cheap, nor are they outrageously expensive. Just be prepared to drop a Benjamin, although the final tab naturally depends on your wine consumption.

While I can’t speak to the atmosphere after last night, we have eaten at Carrol’s Creek many times over the past ten years or so. The view on the deck, overlooking Spa Creek, is great, especially if you like lots of sailboats, and the sunsets can be very nice. This is not only good for a celebratory meal, but also a great place to take visitors.

We’ll be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    309
    109
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor venue for dinner at sunset”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The view of sunset is the reason we chose Carrol's Creek and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Get there early for an outdoor table. Great service!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank allisondeanlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Waterfront View with Great Seafood!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We arrived a bit early and were immediately offered seating inside or outside. We were treated to a great view on the large deck overlooking the waterfront. Our server was prompt and friendly. Drinks came quickly along with a recitation of the day's specials. I had the cod stuffed with lobster; it was delicious! We enjoyed a leisurely dinner, but skipped desert after the generous dinner portions.
Inside the tables were neatly set with table clothes. That would be great for a very hot or cold day, but the deck seating is unbeatable.
If I could dine in only one Annapolis waterfront locale, I would recommend Carroll's Creek over the other nearby big seafood restaurant; the service and food are so good and the latter lacks the pleasant outdoor seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Need Help In The Kitchen”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Went to Carrol's Creek for brunch on a Sunday and sat on the deck, Great views of the harbor and City Marina and an accomodating Black-crowned Night Heron. Ordered custom omelets. Has quite a wait for the food to come even though it was early and there were still empty tables. When our order came, EVERY omelet was incorrect-one had potatoes, not grits, one was missing spinach, another asparagus, the last cheese. Never thought a kitchen could screw up a simple order so much, The food was good, but not what we ordered and in spite of telling the server we were (initially) charged for the "extra" ingredients we did not get. Rather a bummer for such a pricey place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REED E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delightful Dockside Dining”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Extensive menu for anyone who enjoys seafood. All of our orders were deliciously prepared and tastefully presented. There are picture perfect views of the harbor and the dome Naval Academy Chapel from the outdoor dockside deck. If you enjoy sweet drinks you have to try their Key Lime Cocktail. Overall an excellent, relaxing dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carrol's Creek also viewed

 

Been to Carrol's Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing