We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a meal...”

Chick and Ruth's Delly
Ranked #4 of 354 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“More than just a meal...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

.... this place is an experience. If you're looking for a quiet, romantic spot to lounge for a couple of hours, look elsewhere. Crowded but brilliantly controlled by the enthusiastic staff. Quick service. I don't know how they stay on top of things, but they are certainly efficient. The owner is always on hand, walking around from table to table to make sure all is well. As for the famous crab cakes, the emphasis is on the crab, not the cake. Expect similar good value for your money with any of the other deli offerings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    468
    133
    47
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classic American Deli”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A total gem in the heart of Annapolis. Not what you would expect on the expensive main street. A unique experience. As tightly packed as you can imagine. Literally elbow to elbow with the next table. Stand up and you will knock over one of the servers. All adds up to a totally unpretentious restaurant that serves great food at great prices. Don't miss this experience if you are in Annapolis. If you are there at 9:30AM you get to say the pledge as well. This restaurant cares about it's military and is proud of the fact.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great choices for breakfast!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We made a quick stop for breakfast. There were so many choices. Since we were in Maryland and the seafood is so fresh, I had the crab cake benedict. It was fabulous! There was virtually no filler in the crab cake and the eggs were perfect. The corned beef hash was also ordered at our table, and enjoyed. Another guest ordered the creamed chipped beef but the cream was broken so there seemed to be a lot excess butter.
This place has a lot of history and an expansive menu that is offered all day long. Many of the local favorites are named for past and present dignitaries. Service was speedy and waitresses were on top of it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Classic family restaurant opened for decades. We enjoyed the atmosphere, history and the food. Wait staff was very good and welcoming, remembered things from our visits three days apart even though we had never been there before. Had breakfast both times. Great menu for all day, not expensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cpacad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best deli in the world!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love Chick and Ruth's! I have been going there for over 35 years and it only gets better. They are now making their own bread, donuts, and cookies. I buy a loaf of rye bread every week. Give this wonderful deli a try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chick and Ruth's Delly also viewed

 

Been to Chick and Ruth's Delly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing