We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Irish Pub with good food.”
Review of Galway Bay

Galway Bay
Ranked #7 of 350 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
257 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice Irish Pub with good food.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had the Tomato Whiskey soup and it was very good. We then both had the Irish Ruebens. They were very good, with big chunks of Corned Beef, not slices. Good service and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    223
    59
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have eaten here several times and each time we have had a great meal. We held our rehearsal dinner here in September and were very impressed by the great service and wonderful meal. We have attended a rehearsal dinner in the past that took forever to get the food and it did not come out consistently. So we were aware/concerned that this could happen when having over 40 people at ours. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE HERE. The service was continuous and pretty quick considering we had 40+ people. Everyone was served at about the same time. The food was amazing and no one complained. We met out of town guests over in the bar area after the rehearsal dinner. It was a great place to hang out and have some drinks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skigal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Went on a Tuesday night with my wife. Visiting the area. The place was pretty empty when we arrived at 6:30 but when we left at 8pm it was about 3/4 full. Had a wonderful app, spinach & crab dip in a bread bowl- fantastic! My wife tried the crab cakes and she said they were as good as advertised. I had the Molley's mussels and Irish chips and they were both excellent. Thought the prices were reasonable. I had a Guiness and my wife an iced tea. No dessert. Bill with a 20% tip came to about $65. Atmosphere was very nice. Definitely will be back and we recommend highly.

Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“About as Irish that you can get in the States”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My Tour company often drops off our guests at the end of a Tour at Galway Bay and have done so for the last 3 years. We've never gotten a bad comment about their experience. The restaurant is owned and operated by actual Irish folks who have come to our shores to bring their concept. They offer a cabbage roll and a Tomato and Wiskey soup that is an extraordinary way to start your meal. In fact the Food network did a spot there on its show Diners, Dives and Drive Ins and they gave it a thumbs up review, as well. Often Irish oriented bars will have a good selection of draft/bottle beers, but the food is a secondary effort. That is NOT the case at Galway Bay, meaning the food is right up there as the primary reason to frequent this spot when visiting the Historic District of Annapolis.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“never even got to eat.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

this was boat show weekend, so you would think there would be staff to cover. Not the case and the Manager, a female swinging her long hair around our table lamented on how her staff was all sick and she whined to us to have patience as she was doing her best, which included having us wait over 15 minutes to get a glass of water and a menu. The disaffected youth greeting everyone at the door clearly needed some EMO time to himself. We left.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IGolf4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galway Bay also viewed

 

Been to Galway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing