We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good casual meals”

Boatyard Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 355 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Takeout
Description: The Boatyard is where local sailors, fishermen and lovers of the Chesapeake enjoy pint drinks, great crab cakes and the freshest local seafood. Specialties include smoked fish of the day (on premise), cream of crab and Maryland crab soups and an extensive list of crab and seafood specialties. The First Lady came from the White House to enjoy our crab cakes. The Boatyard has the most extensive raw bar in the area including a variety of oysters, clams, shrimp and mussels. The Boatyard receives awards for being most family friendly and having the best burger on the Bay. Its weekend brunch is the best in the area. The Boatyard is located in the historic maritime district of Eastport-a short walk or water taxi from Annapolis City Docks. Its photo boat films the local sailing races and shows them nightly. Named by Coastal Living, Sailing World and Sail Magazine as one of world's top sailing/boating restaurants.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good casual meals”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Boatyard is the go to place when a friend and colleague comes to town as it is located equidistant from each other. While food is just OK, it is a friendly, open place where two friends (if it is not crowded) can be comfortable spending a two hour lunch catching up. Food is hit and miss. I have really enjoyed the Cubano sandwich but my meatloaf special yesterday was nothing special and seemed to me to have way more filling then meat. Noise can be a problem. If not crowded, the noise level is tolerable. If crowded, it is very difficult to carry on a conversation. Parking is often a problem as it is in all of Eastport.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foody1star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard f, Owner at Boatyard Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Sorry if this is a dup. Thanks for the remarks and feedback. The meatloaf is a big hit-so we will take a very close look at it. The noise we like to call positive energy. Come see us again soon. df
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    429
    115
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We sometimes like to go to Boatyard and decided to meet some friends there for lunch on a recent weekday. It was not too crowded and we got a table near the front. The service was friendly and efficient. I ordered the Gumbo which is hard to find in Annapolis. The gumbo was good. It had lots of smoked sausage in it. It also has a rather large piece of fried fish with it at well at 2 large slices of corn bread. My only complaint is that it could have been a little warmer.

This is a great place to go with family or friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard f, Owner at Boatyard Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for the kind words. Come again soon-will speak to Chef to make sure gumbo comes out hot. df
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good menu”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a variety of food and all was good. A little hard getting through town and south of the river but a number of good restaurants close to this location.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KanKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great place. And open for breakfast too”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We come as a group after nightshift. The bartenders are attentive and wait staff is great to us that have been up all night and trying to blow off some steam after a very busy night!

Breakfasts are great for both the weary nightshifter and the daywalkers! They have a convenient location with parking not a big hassle since it is away from downtown.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spracr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard f, Owner at Boatyard Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for the kind words. Come again very soon. df
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Recommendation from a Friend!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Finally visited Annapolis, MD! Naval Academy and museum were great! Highlight of the visit was the Boatyard Bar and Grill. Beautiful decor! Great atmosphere! Great food! Great service! (Thank you Kimmy!) Would have received a rating of "5" if it weren't for the, "non-speaking, couldn't care less attitude" of the hostesses. We walked in, were stared at, we offered the greeting of the day and received no response. I asked for a table for two and was told, "follow me". I was totally surprised at the lack of customer service. This will not deter me from returning to sample other parts of their fare.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boatyard Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Boatyard Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing