We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but pretty good”

Harry Browne's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry Browne's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 348 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Maryland Ave.
Description: Rusty Romo, your host, invites you to experience truly fine dining in historic Annapolis, renowned since colonial times for its southern hospitality. Innovative cuisine featuring traditional Chesapeake fare, American, fusion and an exciting variety of seasonal items and regional specialties await you. Critically acclaimed since 1979 and overlooking the beautiful Maryland State House, we also offer elegant and distinctive catering.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive but pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was the second place we went with two other couples on our third trip to Annapolis. We ate downstairs (looked like they had a bar and more informal dining area upstairs) which was upscale. I had shrimp and grits which were good but not the best ever (high bar for me). One person had a fish special they didn't love, and another found it odd to find a tomato sauce under a "crab encrusted filet". My husband declared the mussels to be the best he's ever had. We had a nice time and the food was much more thoughtful than what you'd get for similar prices at resort seafood places.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RabbitandOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    126
    43
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I've lived in Annapolis for my whole life and have never paid attention to this hidden gem. I can't speak on the lounge part as we sat downstairs in the restaurant. But it was a great experience. The atmosphere of the restaurant was very nice and cozy and The food was great quality. I would definitely go back again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMack316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Summer Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Ambience is important and Harry Browne's is something special. White tablecloths, excellent wine, beautiful artwork and soothing classical music made this a romantic dinner. Loved the requested window seat and view of Maryland State house. Very good food. Excellent, friendly service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeriLynn418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Bar Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I can't speak for what it's like eating in the restaurant downstairs, but I can share my experience with the bar upstairs. I've spent many an evening at the upstairs bar in Harry Browne's and with good reason: the atmosphere and the service are excellent. The bartenders (especially Chris) are quite attentive. If you're coming in for more than drinks I highly recommend the bacon bleu cheeseburger. HB's burgers are incredible!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Cozy Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Harry Browne's is a nice restaurant with great ambiance!!! great food and drinks! Service was excellent as well!!!! really enjoyed dining at Harry Browne's Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROM550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry Browne's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harry Browne's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing