We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but a little out of the way”
Review of Westin Annapolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Annapolis
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but a little out of the way”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Westin in Annapolis is an extremely nice hotel but located a little way's from the center of town and the waterfront. The front desk staff was friendly but lacked efficiency. The rooms were very nice, extremely quiet and comfortable, and the A/C worked well. The bathrooms were nice. The breakfast downstairs was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbert10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review the Westin Annapolis after your stay with our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate and value your candid feedback. Customer information simply helps our service levels improve in the future. I will review your comments today at our associate training meeting. I appreciate your comments about the FD staff. Thank you once again for your business. I hope if your travel plans include Annapolis in the future, you will consider the Westin once again. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    310
    99
    55
    21
See reviews for
215
282
38
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Recently stayed at the Westin for a conference. This follows a stay here last December for a social event. Enjoyed the hotel both times. Staff is friendly. Did not have any needs to test their responsiveness to issues as I did not have any either time. Rooms are clean and well-maintained. No noise issues. Location is good. Plenty of nearby restaurants. Walkable to the dock area. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Good morning. Thank you again for the opportunity to host your lodging and hospitality needs. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for your business as well as your comments. I will ensure that we review your letter this afternoon at our associated feedback meetings. I hope you have a great week and thank you again. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed for the weekend while attending a wedding. There is a parking garage beneath the hotel for around $8 a day. The hotel was very nice. Modern decor, clean rooms and friendly staff. You can walk to shopping, restaurants and the downtown area. Such a cute town. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersshore08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel after your recent stay. On behalf of the entire staff we appreciate and value you business. I will certainly forward your comments on to our entire team. I hope you have a great week. Thank you once again. Sincerely Jim Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

As a family we like to go to Annapolis from time to time and have stayed here twice. I am not usually a big fan of big corporate hotels but this one changed my thinking. Very professional service, great rooms and a very interesting bar. Incredibly comfy beds and very quiet rooms. If there has been any weakness it has been the breakfasts but it is a small space servicing a lot of people in a short period of time. We like it and will return as we love walking down to the histoic quarter and really enjoy the Levels small plates restaurant on the way.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innspiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Innspiration: Good morning. Thank you for taking your time to review the Westin Annapolis during your recent stay. Thank you for your nice comments. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate your time as well as your business. Thank you again and have a great remainder of the week. Sincerely, Jim Piccoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The location is a little off the beaten path - a mile to the water and old town shopping. There are a couple restaurants nearby but limited. The hotel concierge was never there - we got good advice from the front desk but there was sometimes a line. The rooms were good, great pillows, good shower. Food selection within the hotel was limited. Doing it again, I'd probably stay at Loew's or the Marriott on the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear DogWorld: Thank you for your review. On behalf of the entire of the entire staff, we appreciate your business. Please accept my sincere apology that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. We do encourage our front office and lobby staff to assist with any guest questions for concierge. We do understand that you have many lodging options in Annapolis. Thank you for your comments and we will continue to focus on guest services in the lobby area. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I love the Westin Annapolis. I love the rooms, the lobby, the suites when I have been upgraded. However, and I noticed this in other reviews, the service is not up to Westin standards. It's not even Sheraton standards. I have stayed at this hotel maybe around 10 times, and on numerous occasions I have experienced rude check-in staff (except one male that usually checks in at the Gold/Platinum desk, he's very good!), rude people when calling because the hotel charged me for an extra night (which has happened more than once)... Once I asked for an upgrade (I am Platinum and have stayed over 100 nights this year), the receptionist didn't even look and said there weren't any. When I got to my room it had not been cleaned, so then she upgraded me to a suite... So she had lied and said there weren't any, until something was wrong with my room...

Anyways, I come back for the beautiful property, not for the staff. (Except that one guy)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT face the cemetery... unless you're into that stuff.
See more room tips
Green Features: I really like the "make a green choice" program, which allows you to skip cleaning services for points every day that you decline cleaning, or a gift certificate to buy snacks.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieJF43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccoli1, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear nfiguereo: Good morning. Thank you for your review and response after your stay at the Westin. Please accept my sincere apology for your inconveniences and frustrations with the front desk. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate your business. I have asked Alison Ames to contact you in regards to your comments regarding our front office team. We feel bad that most associates you encountered are rude to you. We will focus our training efforts on customer services levels to you on your next visit to Annapolis. Thank you once again for your comments as well as your business. Sincerely, James J Piccoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

You want to like this Westin, because afterall who doesn't love a Westin? They are known for their sparkling hotels, super comfy beds, and good service. While the hotel is pretty and clean, it's far away from anything you really want to do in Annapolis..... and then the service was atrocious. Traveling with a group of friends in multiple rooms, one person had booked all rooms on their card. After a wayy complicated check-in process, and were told we could not switch it to our own cc, but that we needed to put one down for "incrementals" (I would not lie).... we at least asked and were confirmed 3 times that we would not be charged for the room, it would go on the booking person's cc. FINE. Not what we wanted, but what can you do? We went to wait at the bar until our room was ready (it was 3:30 at this point) and ordered pricy, yet delicious cocktails. The bartender, who was very unfriendly "accidentally" made an extra and just downed it himself at the bar. I guess in college this is an acceptable practice, but right in front of us at 3:30 at the Westin? Kinda bizarre. It wasn't until I reviewed my cc statement that I realized I was in fact charged for the room, of course this is after we had given the booking party in our group payment for my room. Again, FINE, yet annoying - but trying to get it fixed was like pulling teeth. Where is accounting? I'm not sure they ever work. The manager, while apologetic after finally resolving the matter did not offer any sort of compensation for the poor service, inconvenience, and overall lack of giving a hoot. She did wish I'd come back to stay at the Westin next time I am in Annapolis.... yah know, so I can pay $10 a day for wifi, be far away from the rest of the city action, and receive poor service..... I think I'll pass and stay at the real gems in Annapolis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.4 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
876 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
2.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Annapolis

Property: Westin Annapolis
Address: 100 Westgate Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-3379
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Annapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest additions to the Maryland state capital, The Westin Annapolis hotel is the centerpiece of a European inspired mixed-use community that ripples with energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing