We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip to Annapolis”

Pirate Adventures on the Chesapeake
Ranked #4 of 32 Tours in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pirate Adventures on the Chesapeake is a unique, unforgettable experience for your child aboard a pirate ship in the Annapolis Harbor. You will be amazed as we tap into your child's imagination and transform him or her into a pirate, complete with face paint, tattoos, and pirate fashions. Time aboard our ship is filled with non-stop activity, including reading a treasure map, hauling loot aboard, and, of course, defending the ship with our famous water cannons.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the trip to Annapolis”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My kids LOVED every bit of this adventure today. The moment we arrived, we were greeted by the phenomenal crew and they were in the total "pirate swing" the entire time we were there. We had Corall and Crabby today on the boat and they were an unbelievable team. My kids are more on the shy side and Corall paid close attention to them and didn't let them stray away from the pack of pirates. The kids blasted pirate pete with water cannons and my kids were totally engaged and so into it. It was all very well thought out and Corall and Crabby were very entertaining to watch. Definitely bringing the kids back next summer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PJmillmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Field Trip Ever!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We arrived 45 minutes early and enjoyed a leisurely picnic lunch at provided tables in the indoor pirate S H I P! I highly recommend this. Next, we all had our faces and arms painted ( mom, grandparents, 4 year old twins, 7 year old, & friend)!. Mermaids, mustaches, bloody skulls galore. The treasure chest of pirate fashion was way too much fun. Everybody dressed up in full pirate regalia. OK, so at this point, we have already had so much fun that we were clearly mesmerized upon walking on board the pirate ship. The small cast ( & I do mean cast) of Captain Rusty and Pirate Plank (& owner Captain Crabby & his wife who was on the mainland getting a pedicure..shhh!) and a few others who outperformed any broadway show. Truth be told, $20 was el cheapo for this high quality rocking and rolling R E A L pirate adventure. This imaginative scenario unfolded in an organized and well-prepared fashion. I can't give away the highlights, but you will concur that this family adventure is hands-on-deck the BEST ever, anywhere. The performers loved their jobs and loved the kids. Everyone was so wrapped up in the interactive (stress, interactive, as in NOT boring) adventure, that pulling into shore on the return journey was a rude awakening. Passerbys gave us a hero's welcome home and the kids loved that attention. Some many surprises unfolded during the course of our
mini-voyage (would have loved to have sailed on a few hours!) that you, too, will be laughing and dancing on-board to the perfectly selected music and wise-cracks of Captain Rusty and Pirate Plank! The gift shop was our parting shot and the kids were happy with one item each!
Where do pirates go in the winter? Hopefully, they perform in the schools! If you do nothing else in the DC area… THIS IS IT!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank healthyeater7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, MD
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It's not just a job- it's an adventure!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

As a mom and a teacher I value employees working with children that clearly love their job. None of these lovable pirates are doin' it for the paycheck folks- everyone ( especially the captain) is just a big kid in dress up! My kids are 6 and 3 and they both loved it- adults were entertaining to watch too. One mom just had to tell her son where the treasure map was hidden instead of letting him spend a few minutes searching - welcome to Annapolis!!!

Helpful?
Thank Lonewolfandcubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My kids loved every second of this. I will admit that I was surprised at how well done the experience is. From costumes and makeup to shooting Pirate Pete with water cannons to finding a real sunken treasure, the experience was well worth it. My kids can't wait to do out again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ettersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Great Adventure”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Got to go on the Pirate Voyage with the grandkids for their 6th Birthday. What a great time. Everybody loved everything from the face paint to the dress-up to the voyage to find the hidden treasure. Blasting Pirate Pete with the water cannons was the best!!! This is a well-run and thoughtful activity. Hat's off to Captain Crabby and his crew. The only minor drawback was the fact that there is only one restroom available. When 20 kids need to go before the cruise starts, it is quite a line. We highly recommend this for a great family activity!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JTH-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pirate Adventures on the Chesapeake also viewed

 

Been to Pirate Adventures on the Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing