We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food!”

Blackwall Hitch Annapolis
Reserve with OpenTable
Blackwall Hitch Annapolis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 348 Restaurants in Annapolis
Price range: US$13 - US$34
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A dining experience blending the area's finest in tastes & talents, Blackwall Hitch is a coastally inspired concept that creates a local connection. Here you'll find seasonally driven and locally sourced food and spirits, great local music and the area's friendliest staff and patrons. With each visit as you take in the local flavor, we guarantee you'll be hook in no time. Get hooked on the flavor.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
293 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had late lunch here today, five different meals, all great! They steak sub sandwich had real chunks of steak meat on a delicious roll. The braised short rib sandwich was extremely tasty. Barbecue chicken pizza was just the right flavoring. Fish tacos looked delicious. And my seafood salad with champagne vinaigrette dressing, shrimp, scallops, and 6-7 large lumps of crab meat was extremely good. The service was friendly, and just attentive enough. Several appetizers, Caesar salad, soup of the day, and pepper poppers, were tasty also. Service was friendly, and just attentive enough. Decor was lovely, and relaxing. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Dot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    75
    52
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“On the roof”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This old place reopened under a new name after having added a roof terrace on the top of the building. Food was good, the waiter was friendly and efficient to the contrary of the young lady who seated us and who should look for another kind of job.
The restaurant is surrounded by a gas station, a car dealer, a church, a school empty at night, and an office building. So it is hard to understand why the terrace has to be cleared after 11pm.
The view has nothing to write home about, as Susan T already wrote, so prices should reflect this disadvantage. After the meal, do not expect a espresso, the machine has not yet arrived although it would be easy to get a Nespresso machine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edouard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth recommending!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A group of ladies meet once a month for dinner. In 5 years we have never gone to the same restaurant. If we did Blackwall Hitch would be one we would go back to. Its only been open a little over a month and you would never know it. The renovated building was transformed into greatness such as lighting that could be seen in a Restoration Hardware store, painted white brick walls complimented the black leather booths. Our group sat at a high top rustic wooden table that would accommodate 14 people. As we were being sat we passed a private room called the "Living Room" perfect for a intimate baby shower. Then next was another room that would be perfect for a private party. Upstairs was another private room that could be used for a family celebration or business dinner. Don't leave without checking out the rooftop dining.

Now the food....I had the Maryland Crabcakes complimented by the roasted corn salsa and they were probably one of the best I've ever eaten . Some other favorites at the table were the Mahi Mahi Tacos, Calzone, The Shobb Salad, Blackwall Prawn, Rockfish Revisited and Parmesan Crusted Chicken.

I work at a local hotel and I will be sending my guests to BLACKWALL HITCH!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisy2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“accident waiting to happen”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

this location is cursed--turns over every 5 years. The servers use the main (only stairway for customers) and as I was going to the bathroom by the deck another customer coming out of an upstairs room almost collided with a server carrying food up the steps. There are 3 halls that meet at the top of the steps. AS for the food--excellent burger, pedestrian French fries, soggy pickle, overdressed salad, and strong ice tea- overpriced for paper napkins. Fine dining prices with Red Lobster service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank natve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We sat up on the rooftop patio and while the view isn't anything to write home about - the patio had a nice feel to it. We peeked inside and it seemed to have a great atmosphere / design - hip and modern! The food was surprisingly good - we had the crab cakes, a flatbread pizza, a salad, etc. and everything was really good.
The only weird part was when the manager turned off the music in the middle of the song to indicate it was time to leave - at 9:55 pm (and it wasn't closing time!). I don't know if it was a noise ordinance, but it was just abrupt and kind of odd!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackwall Hitch Annapolis also viewed

 

Been to Blackwall Hitch Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing