We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible find! Excellent in every regard- we will be back.”
Review of Flag House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flag House Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bequia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible find! Excellent in every regard- we will be back.”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Gorgeous property a quick block walk to city dock. Hosts were very welcoming to us and made us feel vey at-home and relaxed from the moment we stepped in. Breakfast was great, just enough to start the day but more than a simple "continental breakfast".

Highly recommend Flag House. We will be back as often as we're in Annapolis (which is often).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    31
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
266
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just looking at the exterior of the Flaghouse Inn is a clue to the B & B experience you will have at the Flaghouse Inn B & B. It is as charming on the outside as it is on the inside. Charlotte is a wonderful hostess and prepared wonderful breakfasts for us on two mornings as well as reliable recommendations for lunch and dinner as well as clues to the sites around the historic area. Our room was beautifully decorated and most comfortable. The location can't be beat. We were across the street from the Naval Academy which is well worth the visit. The chapel alone is breathtaking. Don't forget to see the crypt of John Paul Jones! We loved being within walking distance of the waterfront. I highly recommend a two hour sailing trip on the Woodwind. I would come back to the Flaghouse B & B anytime!!

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful and had a "split" bathroom--toilet/sink separate from shower/sink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoschton, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at the Flag House to celebrate with our friends the graduation of their son from the Naval Academy. The location could not have been better! We found our innkeepers to be helpful ,warm and concerned. No request seemed to be too much trouble .

We took a guided tour from the Academy visitors center and it was well worth the cost! My husband gave this Memorial Weekend trip as a birthday gift and it will be remembered as very special.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor - if steps are an issue request a room with less climbing.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Whether you have stayed at B&Bs before in Annapolis, you should take the opportunity to stay at the Flag House Inn....especially if you are visiting the USNA (location cannot be beat). Super friendly and accomodating innkeepers and having parking is worth its weight in gold! I have stayed here several times and would again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usnamom2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Warm and friendly hosts making you feel right at home from the moment you walk through the door. Charlotte is an extremely warm, friendly and honest person and is just a wealth of information providing us with great recommendations for dining and attractions. This Inn is just steps from the Naval Academy and just a block from the downtown wharf area. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and parking on site is available, which is important in Annapolis. Our next trip to Annapolis will certainly include a stay at the Flag House Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a too-brief stay at the Flag House Inn. I had researched online, looking for something other than a non-personal hotel for my first visit to Annapolis. That it is in the historic district, small, and offers free on-site parking were enticing. Then I read about the breakfasts - that was the clincher! But to meet Charlotte and Bill is the icing on the cake. What friendly, informative hosts they are. We will return - hopefully, next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellygreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

If you're looking for the cold predictable impersonal efficiency of a large hotel, if you need an elevator rather than stairs, or if you're looking to party loudly so the whole street can hear..... best stay elsewhere.
But if you value the traditional home-from-home values of a old-school family-run B&B, then you will most definitely, as we did, leave the Flag House with a big smile, complete satisfaction, and the warm reassurance that this special kind of establishment beats the hotel experience every single time.
We spent a single Monday night here but genuinely left felling that we had made firends with both our hosts and the town of Annapolis, both equally charming and welcoming.
The booking process was both efficient and informal, with helpful directions and advice. We arrived a little later than planned but were greeted with a very cheery and friendly welcome, and no-fuss help with parking and bags.
From the moment we stepped in the door, the beautifully furnished property was made to feel like home. The cute tradition of flying the flag of a guest's home nation is only a small indication of the attention to detail and kind thoughtfulness to follow.
Our introduction chat turned into a lengthy, informative and entertaining conversation, already the relaxed feeling was that nothing was too much trouble. We set out for the evening with a wealth of genuine advice and recommendations about restaurants and bars (location helps here, it's a very short pleasant stroll to the heart of town), which made for a superb night out.
Our room was thoughtfully furnished, and clean and comfortable to a first rate standard.
After a good night's rest, we headed downstairs, already quieltly impressed with the Flag House, only to have our satisfaction exceeded again by a delightful home-cooked breakfast, totally fresh, flexible choices, overly generous, and top quality in every respect. Casual chat with our hosts again turned into a long relaxed conversation, and invaluable advice, which made for a great start to the day.
When finally packed up, we left reluctantly and happily to warm farewells, and the promise to return soon.
Show me a hotel that can do all that! And at a rate which is wonderful value. I honestly can't think of a single criticism, even a petty one. Charlotte and Bill demonstrate a masterclass in everything that makes the warm hospitable friendliness of the right B&B unbeatable.

By the way, in case it didn't come across in the review.... we kinda liked the place!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
849 reviews
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flag House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flag House Inn

Property: Flag House Inn
Address: 26 Randall St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front and center in the National Historic District, Flag House Inn is one of the largest private homes near the waterfront. Originally two Victorian townhouses, Flag House was restored in the early 1990's, acquired on-site parking, and now combines the privacy of an inn with the friendliness of a bed and breakfast.The large front porch, flying the state or national flags of guests, greets you with swings and teak benches. The guest entrance opens onto splendid interiors filled with original naval and nautical art and memorabilia, fine paintings, antiques, and reproductions. Flag House offers five welcoming and comfortable king or twin bed guest rooms, including a two-room suite, each with private bath and cable TV. Enjoy a large, hot breakfast before setting off for the day to explore this beautiful and historic neighborhood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flag House Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing