We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, tranquil experience...”
Review of Flag House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flag House Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“A wonderful, tranquil experience...”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My fiance and I had a wonderful stay at the Flag House Inn. We loved the location, the ambiance and the stories told by Bill. We loved that it was close to everything, especially the Naval Academy (where my fiance graduated), but still away from the business of the town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Far East' room and it was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
It is always a treat when USNA graduates return to show a soon to be member of the USNA extended family where it all began. We wish you both much happiness in you life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    31
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
266
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

great find. The breakfast was delicious and the hospitality was exceptional. There was bad weather the night of our arrival and they made sure we got in safely. There was free parking and you are within walking distance of downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinconsults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
We try to keep those golf size umbrellas at the ready for inclement weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We just got back from our long weekend in Annapolis. We wanted to stay in the heart of the historic district so we decided on the Flag House Inn. I cannot stay enough great things about our stay.
The breakfast were delicious, Charlotte is a wonderful cook! Bill and Charlotte are very knowledgable about the area and can help you plan your day if needed. The room was very nice, good sized, and very clean.
The location was perfect. You could walk to numerous restaurants, shops, attractions, Naval Academy, and the waterfront in 10 minutes or less.
I cannot wait to go back, we had a wonderful time. Thank you Bill and Charlotte for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
As you know we really enjoyed meeting both of you. I am so pleased that you had a great getaway weekend of exploring, shopping and enjoying a wonderful concert at Maryland Hall. Some much deserved R&R rounded out your stay. We will look forward to meeting your wonderful family one of these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We recently had a getaway to Annapolis. We enjoyed a delightful stay at the Flaghouse Inn. Charlotte and Bill were very hospitable hosts and the atmosphere of the inn was very welcoming. Charlotte's breakfast were delicious and Bill entertained with witty stories while serving as chief waiter. Our room was large, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The location is perfect for walking and exploring historic Annapolis and the on site parking was a bonus. We highly recommend this B&B and will stay again next time we are in Annapolis.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thnks for your kind words. We are so happy you had time for research, boat show and getting out and about in the area while you were here with us. It was our pleasure to fly the Canadian flag for you while you were here! We would love to have you stay with us again and I promise to make sure Bill has more good conversation during breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed over a long weekend and appreciated the location - walking distance to everything. Bill and Charlotte are very knowledgable about the area. There was plenty of hot water in the shower and the bathroom was spotless.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My wife and I spent a quiet "mental health" weekend (away from work) in Annapolis in April. Charlotte and Bill were great hosts - very informative, enthusiastic, and willing to help with suggestions about how to get the most out of our stay in Annapolis. The Inn itself is charming, and the breakfasts were wonderful. The proximity to the Naval Academy and downtown was a huge plus, as we could walk everywhere. Charlotte even volunteered to refund 1/2 our final night's stay when we had to return home early, which was extremely thoughtful. We'll definitely return to FHI next time we head to Annapolis!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
A good "mental health" weekend is so important in our busy lives these days. So glad you found Annapolis for your rejuvenation time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My son (prospective USNA midshipman) and I recently stayed in the two bedroom suite at the Flag House Inn. It was absolutely wonderful! Bill and Charlotte are fantastic hosts, and Charlotte is an excellent cook...some of the best pancakes and jams I've ever had! Perfect location close to downtown and right next to the USNA. We highly recommend and will visit again.

Room Tip: The two room suite was great....lot's of room, very clean and comfortable. AAA+
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quetzal767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
What an exciting time of life when choosing a college. USNA is certainly one of the best in the nation and we will be thinking of your family as your decision is being made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
849 reviews
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flag House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flag House Inn

Property: Flag House Inn
Address: 26 Randall St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front and center in the National Historic District, Flag House Inn is one of the largest private homes near the waterfront. Originally two Victorian townhouses, Flag House was restored in the early 1990's, acquired on-site parking, and now combines the privacy of an inn with the friendliness of a bed and breakfast.The large front porch, flying the state or national flags of guests, greets you with swings and teak benches. The guest entrance opens onto splendid interiors filled with original naval and nautical art and memorabilia, fine paintings, antiques, and reproductions. Flag House offers five welcoming and comfortable king or twin bed guest rooms, including a two-room suite, each with private bath and cable TV. Enjoy a large, hot breakfast before setting off for the day to explore this beautiful and historic neighborhood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flag House Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing