We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hosts”
Review of Flag House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flag House Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great location and hosts”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had a recent 2 night stay with Bill and Charlotte at the Flag Inn and could not have been more pleased. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was prepared fresh and delicious. There was no shortage of reading material in the well appointed library and glider on the front porch was a great spot to relax. It was our first visit to Annapolis and our hosts were extremely helpful with tips and background information on the various sites around town. The inn's location is also fantastic, across the street from the visitor's entrance form the Naval Academy and a 2 minute walk to the harbor area. Bill and Charlotte are on top of all the details of running a B&B and add extra touches like flying your home state flag for the duration of your stay. We would highly recommend a stay at the Flag House Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Your first visit to Annapolis and hopefully there will be many more. As you learned it is a great place to visit historic sites or the US Naval Academy but also a reat place to sit on our front porch swing and watch the world go by. I probably overuse that phrase but it is so true. Hope you can come back another time to get some R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    31
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
92
264
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just came back from a weekend at the Flag house in Annapolis. We had a room on the third floor, the Commodore room, nice size room, small bathroom and actually you have two. One with a sink and toilet and the other with a shower and sink. That was kind of nice since my husband and I were able to get ready at the same time.

B&B was very clean and neat and the breakfast was delicious. French toast one day and egg dish the next. Loved the homemade bread and cut fruit.

Parked the car and never used it again. Bill and Charlotte are wonderful host and gave us some good tips on what to see and do.

Would return if we ever get back to Annapolis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1999MJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We appreciate your nice comments about our B&B. The challenge of getting bathrooms into homes built in the 1870's is unique but we have tried to remain inventive as we have made changes during our 17 years at Flag House Inn. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you can come back for a getaway in Annapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Charlotte and Bill run a top notch BNB. Frances and I stayed 3 nights and we were sad when they were up. The location of the Flag House Inn is terrific. The condition of the Inn is 5 star. The breakfast is hearty and tasty. I believe they have only 5 or 6 rooms so the one on one service is second to none. I am an international airline pilot and spend many nights away from home in hotels. Our stay at the Flag House Inn exceeded my high expectations. After we left the Flag House Inn we continued our holiday to DC where we stayed at a top tier hotel in Alexandria, VA. The hotel staff was nice and the rooms clean but we both instantly missed our Annapolis BNB. There may be other choices for BNB's in Annapolis but none can compare to the team of hostess and host of Charlotte and Bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
What can one say to such a glowing review of our BNB. We certainly enjoyed meeting both of you and are so pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable for you. Annapolis is a great town and it is so easy to recommend wonderful things to see and do here as well as great places to eat. Having fantastic guests makes our pleasure in being BNB owners and operators a real treat!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My grandson and I visited Annapolis for him to have and orientation at, and tour of, the U.S. Naval Academy. We could not have chosen a better place to stay, nor more perfect accommodations, than the suite at the Flag House Inn. The proprietors, Charlotte and Bill Schmickle, were the perfect hosts: friendly, helpful and responsive without being intrusive. Charlotte was very kind to explain how my grandson might take his daily run on the Naval Academy grounds. She also helped him with confirming his airline reservation the day before we left and even printed his boarding pass for him! The restaurants she recommended were wonderful and all of her directions to the various places we visited were perfect. The breakfasts, which are included in the room price, are inventive and filling. Breakfast is served in a charming dining room on nice china at a lovely table setting. The first morning we shared our table with a very nice couple who were also staying at the inn. The second morning, our host, Bill, shared a lively and educational conversation (from Socrates to Marx) with us which my grandson particularly enjoyed.

The rooms in which we stayed were spacious, beautifully decorated, and comfortable. Charlotte provides one item in the beautifully appointed bathroom that most ladies will appreciate: a towel specifically designed for make-up removal. Such a nice touch!

The location is directly across the street from the visitor's entrance to the Naval Academy. The location is also just a block from the center of old town Annapolis and only three or four blocks from the pier for taking sightseeing sailboat cruises.

We both had a wonderful time at The Flag House Inn and will definitely stay there on future visits to Annapolis.

Room Tip: The suite (one king size room, one single bed room and a shared bath) is only one flight up and is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hope you made it into DC to your meeting in a timely manner after the Regan Airport drop off. We were happy to meet both of you and look forward to seeing you again in the future if USNA is a go for college. Thanks for all the lovely comments about our home. It is so easy to be helpful to such wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My mother, sister, and I enjoyed a short stay in Annapolis and selected the Flag House Inn based on reviews and its great location in the historic district. We were not disappointed. Bill and Charlotte were wonderful and the breakfast was outstanding! When considering places to stay in Annapolis, keep in mind the free parking and free internet in addition to wonderful breakfasts and it's location in the heart of everything. It is so nice to be able to explore the city without a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
It was our pleasure to fly the Belgium flag while you were here with us. We have over 125 flags and enjoy changing them day to day so that for each new guest there is a special treat of their state or country flag flying for them when they arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Friend and I stayed three nights over the Fourth of July weekend at the Flag House Inn. The location of the establishment couldn't have been better - directly across the street from the pedestrian entrance to the Naval Academy, and only a couple blocks from the shopping/boating district. We stayed in The Far East Room, which is located on the third floor and noticed virtually no noise from the other guests, and very little street noise, which given the busy weekend was quite remarkable. The air conditioning was also top notch and controllable from the room (the weekend was hot!). I'm very picky about the cleanliness of hotels, and the Flag House Inn was fantastically clean. The Inn and the room were also well decorated - heavy sailing theme, but not the annoying level of knick knacks found at a number of other B&Bs. Friend also liked the availability of nautical reading material (magazines, etc.) in the front parlor room. The hosts, Charlotte and Bill, were very friendly and served up good conversation and a hearty breakfast. Parking was also available in a small lot behind the Inn. All in all, we would definitely return and will recommend the Inn to others.

Room Tip: The Far East room was very quiet (third floor).
See more room tips
Green Features: Noticed instructions about linen reuse program - rehang towels we would use again, etc.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiffletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your July 4th weekend stay with us. It was a hot weekend and so glad to hear you enjoyed our new air- conditioners and that they did the cooling job we expected. We try to keep our home as clean as we would like it to be if we were the visitors and it is always great to know that guests find it to be top notch. It was our pleasure meeting both of you and hope that you will stay with us if you get back to Annapolis again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My boyfriend and I took our first vacation together to Annapolis for the 4th of July and we stayed at the Flag House Inn. It was perfect! This B&B is spacious, clean, and decorated with so many interesting and impressive historical pieces. Our hosts, Bill and Charlotte made us feel right at home and were very helpful in telling us where to go and what to do and how to catch a water taxi. The Inn is also located right in the center of anything and everything you could ever want to do in Annapolis. It is steps from the Naval Academy, the downtown area with shops and restaurants, as well as the docks where you can catch a water taxi or take a boat tour. We would certainly return to the Inn and recommend it to friends and family as well.

Jane & Nick - Columbus, OH

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneandNick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thanks for you lovely comments and we are so happy you both had a great time while you were in Annapolis. I am so glad you mentioned the water taxi which is a form of transportation here in Annapolis which I love to suggest to our guests. As you know we wish both of you much joy and success as you begin your professional careers. We were happy to fly the flag of Ohio which is so unique and an eye catcher for folks walking past Flag House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
843 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flag House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flag House Inn

Property: Flag House Inn
Address: 26 Randall St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front and center in the National Historic District, Flag House Inn is one of the largest private homes near the waterfront. Originally two Victorian townhouses, Flag House was restored in the early 1990's, acquired on-site parking, and now combines the privacy of an inn with the friendliness of a bed and breakfast.The large front porch, flying the state or national flags of guests, greets you with swings and teak benches. The guest entrance opens onto splendid interiors filled with original naval and nautical art and memorabilia, fine paintings, antiques, and reproductions. Flag House offers five welcoming and comfortable king or twin bed guest rooms, including a two-room suite, each with private bath and cable TV. Enjoy a large, hot breakfast before setting off for the day to explore this beautiful and historic neighborhood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flag House Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing