We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place on the Atlantic Coast!”
Review of Flag House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flag House Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favourite place on the Atlantic Coast!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

It is with great sadness that we only stayed for one night at this phenomenal Inn!
When we arrived, Charlotte was putting the Union Jack out in our honour and told us that she'd upgraded our room as we were on our honeymoon. She was quick to give us recommendations and pointers about where to go and what to do and we decided to go on the walking tour, which, funnily enough, featured the Inn!
Like everyone else has said, it is in a fabulous location and the benefit of free off-road parking whilst on a road trip was so useful to us!
We had a beautiful room and also enjoyed the use of the guest sitting room (my husband appreciated the Jolly Rachers!) and the breakfast was lovely: cooked apples and cranberries, cereal, French toast with bacon and syrup and juice, tea and coffee. Perfection!
When it was time to (reluctantly) leave, Bill was more than happy to offer us travel advice.
We hope to return some day, thank you Charlotte and Bill :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carleeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hope you are settled back home again and beginning many years of wonderful married life together. Your honeymoon visit along the East Coast of the US was truly a great adventure and we are so lucky that you choose Flag House Inn as your stop in Annapolis. Flying the Union Jack in your honor was our joy and pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    31
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
92
266
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Hill, PA
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Bill and Charlotte are the mose accomodating B&B innkeepers we have ever met. They worked with us for booking, for checking in early, and allowed us to leave our car parked past when we checked out which was a huge help to us during our stay. They are very friendly and the room was spotless. Located just around the corner from all the action of the harbor and it is across the street from the US Naval Academy. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aunyjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We thank you for your kind words. Definitely like the photos you took and added for others to see. Our location is enoyed by our guests but us as well. We love being able to walk out the front door and get to the waterfront in less than a minute. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the abiility to get to all the sights so easily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from my third vist to Annapolis where I stayed at the Flag House Inn. Each time we stay there it's like returning to our second home. The Inn is extremly quiet, scrupulously clean and beautifully decorated. Charlott and Bill serve the best breakfast in Annapolis, and are truly warm and engaging hosts. My family and I only stay elsewhere when they are fully booked. I'm not usually a bed and breakfast fan, but the Flag House Inn is truly the exception. I guarantee you will not regret your stay. (My family and I stay there, and I stay there when on business.)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
As you well know we are always happy to see you and your family and to fly the Montana flag when you are here. Hope we aren't full next time you come to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had a recent 2 night stay with Bill and Charlotte at the Flag Inn and could not have been more pleased. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was prepared fresh and delicious. There was no shortage of reading material in the well appointed library and glider on the front porch was a great spot to relax. It was our first visit to Annapolis and our hosts were extremely helpful with tips and background information on the various sites around town. The inn's location is also fantastic, across the street from the visitor's entrance form the Naval Academy and a 2 minute walk to the harbor area. Bill and Charlotte are on top of all the details of running a B&B and add extra touches like flying your home state flag for the duration of your stay. We would highly recommend a stay at the Flag House Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Your first visit to Annapolis and hopefully there will be many more. As you learned it is a great place to visit historic sites or the US Naval Academy but also a reat place to sit on our front porch swing and watch the world go by. I probably overuse that phrase but it is so true. Hope you can come back another time to get some R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just came back from a weekend at the Flag house in Annapolis. We had a room on the third floor, the Commodore room, nice size room, small bathroom and actually you have two. One with a sink and toilet and the other with a shower and sink. That was kind of nice since my husband and I were able to get ready at the same time.

B&B was very clean and neat and the breakfast was delicious. French toast one day and egg dish the next. Loved the homemade bread and cut fruit.

Parked the car and never used it again. Bill and Charlotte are wonderful host and gave us some good tips on what to see and do.

Would return if we ever get back to Annapolis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1999MJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We appreciate your nice comments about our B&B. The challenge of getting bathrooms into homes built in the 1870's is unique but we have tried to remain inventive as we have made changes during our 17 years at Flag House Inn. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you can come back for a getaway in Annapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Charlotte and Bill run a top notch BNB. Frances and I stayed 3 nights and we were sad when they were up. The location of the Flag House Inn is terrific. The condition of the Inn is 5 star. The breakfast is hearty and tasty. I believe they have only 5 or 6 rooms so the one on one service is second to none. I am an international airline pilot and spend many nights away from home in hotels. Our stay at the Flag House Inn exceeded my high expectations. After we left the Flag House Inn we continued our holiday to DC where we stayed at a top tier hotel in Alexandria, VA. The hotel staff was nice and the rooms clean but we both instantly missed our Annapolis BNB. There may be other choices for BNB's in Annapolis but none can compare to the team of hostess and host of Charlotte and Bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
What can one say to such a glowing review of our BNB. We certainly enjoyed meeting both of you and are so pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable for you. Annapolis is a great town and it is so easy to recommend wonderful things to see and do here as well as great places to eat. Having fantastic guests makes our pleasure in being BNB owners and operators a real treat!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My grandson and I visited Annapolis for him to have and orientation at, and tour of, the U.S. Naval Academy. We could not have chosen a better place to stay, nor more perfect accommodations, than the suite at the Flag House Inn. The proprietors, Charlotte and Bill Schmickle, were the perfect hosts: friendly, helpful and responsive without being intrusive. Charlotte was very kind to explain how my grandson might take his daily run on the Naval Academy grounds. She also helped him with confirming his airline reservation the day before we left and even printed his boarding pass for him! The restaurants she recommended were wonderful and all of her directions to the various places we visited were perfect. The breakfasts, which are included in the room price, are inventive and filling. Breakfast is served in a charming dining room on nice china at a lovely table setting. The first morning we shared our table with a very nice couple who were also staying at the inn. The second morning, our host, Bill, shared a lively and educational conversation (from Socrates to Marx) with us which my grandson particularly enjoyed.

The rooms in which we stayed were spacious, beautifully decorated, and comfortable. Charlotte provides one item in the beautifully appointed bathroom that most ladies will appreciate: a towel specifically designed for make-up removal. Such a nice touch!

The location is directly across the street from the visitor's entrance to the Naval Academy. The location is also just a block from the center of old town Annapolis and only three or four blocks from the pier for taking sightseeing sailboat cruises.

We both had a wonderful time at The Flag House Inn and will definitely stay there on future visits to Annapolis.

Room Tip: The suite (one king size room, one single bed room and a shared bath) is only one flight up and is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hope you made it into DC to your meeting in a timely manner after the Regan Airport drop off. We were happy to meet both of you and look forward to seeing you again in the future if USNA is a go for college. Thanks for all the lovely comments about our home. It is so easy to be helpful to such wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#11 of 21 in Annapolis
871 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
846 reviews
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flag House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flag House Inn

Property: Flag House Inn
Address: 26 Randall St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front and center in the National Historic District, Flag House Inn is one of the largest private homes near the waterfront. Originally two Victorian townhouses, Flag House was restored in the early 1990's, acquired on-site parking, and now combines the privacy of an inn with the friendliness of a bed and breakfast.The large front porch, flying the state or national flags of guests, greets you with swings and teak benches. The guest entrance opens onto splendid interiors filled with original naval and nautical art and memorabilia, fine paintings, antiques, and reproductions. Flag House offers five welcoming and comfortable king or twin bed guest rooms, including a two-room suite, each with private bath and cable TV. Enjoy a large, hot breakfast before setting off for the day to explore this beautiful and historic neighborhood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flag House Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing