We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Flag House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flag House Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Charlotte and Bill were perfect hosts. The breakfasts were delicious. The location was perfect, it was directly across the street from the Naval Academy and a block off of the main street. It also had off-street parking which was a bonus. You never have to use your car. If I were in the area again I would ask for a room in the back of the house as the room we had in the front tended to be a little noisy from the street traffic, but other than that it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry you didn't use the soothing sound machine to help aid your sleep while you were here. Maybe next time listening to ocean surf as you go to sleep will be a nice addition to your restful night. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

I felt very comfortable booking the Flag House Inn for a long weekend summer getaway after reading all of the positive feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm glad I took the advice of all of the great reviews. The Flag House Inn is conveniently located within a quick walk of anything you will want to do in Annapolis (once we parked the car, we didn't need it for the remainder of our stay ... and speaking of parking, other area hotels I looked into all charge hefty daily parking fees, while Flag House Inn does not!). Additionally, it is a stones-throw away from the Naval Academy, which I highly recommend. Our room ('The Commodore') was very spacious and incredibly clean. Breakfast each morning was fabulous. Charlotte and Bill helped give recommendations on things to do in the area and were super-friendly. Without a doubt, if/when we go back to Annapolis, there will be no reason to look elsewhere for accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_nacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

I am so far behind in getting a response to your wonderful review of Flag House Inn. The good news is that it means I have been busy with other guests who have read what you said about our B&B so thank you so much for that. You noted the three things that separate us from larger hotels - free onsite parking, great breakfast each morning which is included in the rate and lots of talking and sharing with you about the places to see and things to do while visiting Annapolis. Your kind words are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I love staying here! It's directly across the street from the Naval Academy, has friendly & helpful owners who are very knowledgeable about the area and are ready to go to any length to make the stay a great one, and it has on-site parking. Very comfortable and clean. Quaint front porch with swing to sit on after long day of site-seeing. Walking distance to anything you'd like to do in Downtown Annapolis. Perfect for someone traveling alone or a couple. Just got home from my second stay. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hi Jennifer - it was great having you with us last week. Hope everything worked out with the logistics of a the car purchase. Next time you are back for you August visit will be Firstie year. Can't believe how fast time has flown by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

It is with great sadness that we only stayed for one night at this phenomenal Inn!
When we arrived, Charlotte was putting the Union Jack out in our honour and told us that she'd upgraded our room as we were on our honeymoon. She was quick to give us recommendations and pointers about where to go and what to do and we decided to go on the walking tour, which, funnily enough, featured the Inn!
Like everyone else has said, it is in a fabulous location and the benefit of free off-road parking whilst on a road trip was so useful to us!
We had a beautiful room and also enjoyed the use of the guest sitting room (my husband appreciated the Jolly Rachers!) and the breakfast was lovely: cooked apples and cranberries, cereal, French toast with bacon and syrup and juice, tea and coffee. Perfection!
When it was time to (reluctantly) leave, Bill was more than happy to offer us travel advice.
We hope to return some day, thank you Charlotte and Bill :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carleeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Hope you are settled back home again and beginning many years of wonderful married life together. Your honeymoon visit along the East Coast of the US was truly a great adventure and we are so lucky that you choose Flag House Inn as your stop in Annapolis. Flying the Union Jack in your honor was our joy and pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Bill and Charlotte are the mose accomodating B&B innkeepers we have ever met. They worked with us for booking, for checking in early, and allowed us to leave our car parked past when we checked out which was a huge help to us during our stay. They are very friendly and the room was spotless. Located just around the corner from all the action of the harbor and it is across the street from the US Naval Academy. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We thank you for your kind words. Definitely like the photos you took and added for others to see. Our location is enoyed by our guests but us as well. We love being able to walk out the front door and get to the waterfront in less than a minute. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the abiility to get to all the sights so easily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from my third vist to Annapolis where I stayed at the Flag House Inn. Each time we stay there it's like returning to our second home. The Inn is extremly quiet, scrupulously clean and beautifully decorated. Charlott and Bill serve the best breakfast in Annapolis, and are truly warm and engaging hosts. My family and I only stay elsewhere when they are fully booked. I'm not usually a bed and breakfast fan, but the Flag House Inn is truly the exception. I guarantee you will not regret your stay. (My family and I stay there, and I stay there when on business.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

As you well know we are always happy to see you and your family and to fly the Montana flag when you are here. Hope we aren't full next time you come to town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had a recent 2 night stay with Bill and Charlotte at the Flag Inn and could not have been more pleased. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was prepared fresh and delicious. There was no shortage of reading material in the well appointed library and glider on the front porch was a great spot to relax. It was our first visit to Annapolis and our hosts were extremely helpful with tips and background information on the various sites around town. The inn's location is also fantastic, across the street from the visitor's entrance form the Naval Academy and a 2 minute walk to the harbor area. Bill and Charlotte are on top of all the details of running a B&B and add extra touches like flying your home state flag for the duration of your stay. We would highly recommend a stay at the Flag House Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Your first visit to Annapolis and hopefully there will be many more. As you learned it is a great place to visit historic sites or the US Naval Academy but also a reat place to sit on our front porch swing and watch the world go by. I probably overuse that phrase but it is so true. Hope you can come back another time to get some R&R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gibson's Lodgings
Gibson's Lodgings
#3 of 25 in Annapolis
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Academy Bed and Breakfast
Academy Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 25 in Annapolis
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flag House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flag House Inn

Address: 26 Randall St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range: £113 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front and center in the National Historic District, Flag House Inn is one of the largest private homes near the waterfront. Originally two Victorian townhouses, Flag House was restored in the early 1990's, acquired on-site parking, and now combines the privacy of an inn with the friendliness of a bed and breakfast.The large front porch, flying the state or national flags of guests, greets you with swings and teak benches. The guest entrance opens onto splendid interiors filled with original naval and nautical art and memorabilia, fine paintings, antiques, and reproductions. Flag House offers five welcoming and comfortable king or twin bed guest rooms, including a two-room suite, each with private bath and cable TV. Enjoy a large, hot breakfast before setting off for the day to explore this beautiful and historic neighborhood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flag House Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing