We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flag House Inn”
Review of Flag House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flag House Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Flag House Inn”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in Annapolis and enjoyed staying at Flag House Inn as part of that little getaway. The inn itself is perfectly located in the historic district of town, directly across from the Naval Academy entrance and the harbor area. It made getting around by foot very easy and quick forsight-seeing, restaurants,and nightclubs. The innkeepers Charlotte and Bill obviously take great pride in keeping their lovely inn in tip-top shape while extending warm but not intrusive hospitality to their guests. We recommend the Flag House Inn to anyone seeking to immerse themselves in the charms of historic Annapolis.

Green Features: It seems environmentally and historically friendly to a commendable degree.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
How sweet of your son and daughter-in-law to thank you for all your help with their wedding by giving you a gift certificate for a one night stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting both of you and we will remember you often whenever I use the great tiny but powerful flashlight that you so kindly gave to us. Hope it lights the way for many more of your clients to find new homes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    31
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
266
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flemington NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Flag House Inn for one night a few weeks ago. After deciding that a road trip down South would be too long without an additional stop, we thought that Annapolis might be a good place to land before going home to NJ. When my husband suggested Annapolis, the Flag House came to mind. We had been to Annapolis years ago and stayed at a very nice high end chain hotel. After walking around, I spotted the Flag House and even then, it made an impression on me, as this is the first place that I thought to call so many years later! It did not disappoint on any level. Although we arrived late in the evening, our hosts, Charlotte and Bill were waiting to welcome us and Charlotte, in particular , recognized that after a long drive, we would want to get to our rooms and go out and get something to eat. She was quick to check us in, get us to our nicely appointed room and recommend several places within walking distance for dinner. The next morning, after a lovely breakfast and chat with Bill, who is a fountain of information about local architecture and , of course the Naval Academy, we easily walked to the marina and many local attractions. The location of the Flag House Inn is outstanding--right outside the Visitors' gate for the Academy and a short walk to restaurants, the harbor and other sites. Our room was nicely decorated in a very traditional style with a bath that was totally updated and immaculate. I cannot say enough good things about the Flag House Inn and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor. If you would prefer less stairs, talk to Charlotte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are so happy that you remembered our B&B when you visited Annapolis in the past for it allowed us to meet both of you and share stories as well as informaton about the good buys you found in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at Flag House in for a long weekend, June 20-22. From beginning to end, the experience was perfect. We arrived to a warm welcome and felt like we were being greeted by old friends. I had called ahead to inquire about some special surprise activities, and all of Charlotte's recommendations were spot on. She took extra time to point out all of the places we wanted to see on a map, and helped keep the "secrets" from my significant other during our entire stay. The breakfasts that Charlotte prepares are absolutely delicious. Bill entertains during breakfast with his wealth of knowledge about Annapolis. FHI is absolutely immaculate. We kept commenting about the lack of even one dust particle in the entire house. Our room was gorgeous and very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the porch swing outside the home every evening. A fun touch is the fact that Charlotte and Bill hang the state/nation flag of each of their visitors outside of the home. Charlotte and Bill have gathered tons of information on the sites in the surrounding area, including restaurants, which is available to guests in the comfortable common living room. Everything we did was in easy walking distance, making FHI the perfect location as we never had to get back into our car to go anywhere. We had the good fortune of visiting on Eastport-A-Rockin' weekend, which is a local music festival featuring craft beer selections and great food. We ate at some delicious restaurants and even took a sunset cruise. We have already recommended the FHI to many family and friends for a wonderful get-away. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
It was fun sitting on the staircase showing you where to go on the map to keep the secrets intact until you went to your chosen restaurants and events. So happy you had a great time for we really enjoyed meeting both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend of fun after dropping our son at USNA's summer seminar. We live about 1.5 hours south now but have lived in Annapolis and continue to visit frequently. Flag House is an absolute jewel, and we enjoyed sharing a part of our weekend with the Schmickles.

We stayed in the Commodore room. The room was beautiful and quiet. Breakfast was great, and the conversation was lively. The location could not have been more convenient to downtown, less than 2 blocks from the marketplace. We enjoyed shopping on Main Street, dining in Eastport, and attending church at the Naval Academy. We walked easily to all.

We'd love to stay at the Flag House again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Even though you live fairly close to Annapolis you know what a jewel it is as a getaway. With our on site parking here at FlagHouse Inn you can drive into town and park you car here at our B&B then walk to everything you want to see and do in the historic district.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We first stayed at the Flag House Inn in April over the Easter holiday and returned in June for a sail on the Pride of Baltimore. We returned because it is a wonderful place to stay. The Inn is ideally located within the historic district - the Naval Academy is across the street, the waterfront a few blocks away... we were able to walk everywhere. The Inn is very clean and comfortable with lovely furnishings and nautical touches. We stayed in the 2nd floor Fleet suite which was very spacious on our first trip and in the 3rd floor single room, the Water Witch, on our second stay. We were very pleased with both accommodations. The innkeepers, Charlotte and Bill, are very knowledgeable & provided good information and recommendations about various sites and restaurants, etc. They provide a very nice homemade breakfast, on-site parking (Bill hosed off our car 3 times because the trees it was parked under were "fruiting" ) and an altogether very fine b&b experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlvander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
It was so great to have both of you back with us when you were back in Annapolis for the trip on the Pride of Baltimore. What a wonderful experience that was for both of you and I really enjoyed hearing about it. So glad you had great wind and beautiful weather on that day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We chose the Flag House after reading other reviews of this B&B. It certainly lived up to our expectations. Our room on the third floor was spacious and beautifully decorated. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. Bill and Charlotte were so helpful in suggesting sites to see as well as some good dining experiences. The breakfasts were delicious especially the blueberry french toast!
The Flag House is in an ideal location - directly across from the Naval Academy entrance and a short walk to many historic sites as well as the waterfront. We parked our car in their free parking lot upon arrival and didn't use it again until we departed. They were kind enough to let us leave our car well beyond check out time while we continued to see more of the city.
We would recommend the Flag House B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed our B&B but also enjoyed our wonderful town of Annapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the historic and comfortable Flag House Inn We especially appreciated the excellent location to all the sites we wanted to see on our first to Annapolis.

Bill and Charlotte were wonderful hosts. They made us feel welcome and offered great suggestions on dining options and sights worth seeing that didn't appear in our guide book.
The breakfasts were delicious and they happily accommodated our dietary needs.
We stayed in the suite and appreciated the extra space at the end of long days of sightseeing.
On site parking is a huge convenience and flying the flag of your country / state is a unique and endearing touch at this lovely inn.

Room Tip: If you are able to splurge and book the suite it is worth it in our opinion. You not only have acces...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a Green hotel with environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotteofFHI, Owner at Flag House Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
One of the best things about a B&B is getting information on local sites, places to eat and things to do from people who actually live here. Guide books are great but talking with a B&B owner really can enhance your visit - as you so kindly mentioned in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
849 reviews
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flag House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flag House Inn

Property: Flag House Inn
Address: 26 Randall St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front and center in the National Historic District, Flag House Inn is one of the largest private homes near the waterfront. Originally two Victorian townhouses, Flag House was restored in the early 1990's, acquired on-site parking, and now combines the privacy of an inn with the friendliness of a bed and breakfast.The large front porch, flying the state or national flags of guests, greets you with swings and teak benches. The guest entrance opens onto splendid interiors filled with original naval and nautical art and memorabilia, fine paintings, antiques, and reproductions. Flag House offers five welcoming and comfortable king or twin bed guest rooms, including a two-room suite, each with private bath and cable TV. Enjoy a large, hot breakfast before setting off for the day to explore this beautiful and historic neighborhood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flag House Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing