We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Downtown, but needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Usual my experience with HI Express is good. I will say the hotel was clean, but bathrooms are very tiny. The reception staff was not as friendly as I am used to either. But overall we were there for three days and it was a good location for our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeRup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear JoeRup,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased our location was convenient for your needs. Please accept my apologies for the less than satisfactory service you received from our reception staff. Your comments will be discussed with them to consider for improvements needed.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is somewhat dated. The A/C in the room had not even been converted to a digital thermostat -- it was the old "twist the knob and hope it works" kind. Made me think I was staying in a cheap motel, not in a higher-end suite.

We opted for the "jacuzzi suite". No complaints about the bed or jetted tub, thankfully, and the layout of the room and placement of amenities were a step up from the last HI Express I stayed in a few weeks ago elsewhere in the US.

However, this property suffered from three critical failures: location, location, and service.

The first location problem is that half the rooms face a cemetery, directly under the window. I chose the location based on a map, never having been there before, expecting it to be right next to a bustling shopping center. Boy was I wrong. The shopping center cannot easily be walked to unless you brave an empty lot and cemetery to get there.

The second location problem is that the hotel is impossible to drive to. Every highway exit and street turn leads away from the hotel -- one must drive quite a way out of the way to turn around and get to the only driveway into this hotel's parking lot. There is ample road frontage on two busy roads, but the driveway is miniscule and very, very poorly placed.

The service problem is one of staffing. When I arrived there was nobody at the front desk. I actually had to get my cell phone out of the car and call the hotel's main number to get the attention of the desk staff. Now, granted it was a weekend stay. But it was Parents Weekend at the Academy -- you'd think they'd staff up for that, when every single hotel in town is booked.

To summarize: it's expensive, it's out-dated, it's poorly placed, it's not within walking distance of anything, it's difficult to get into and out of, and it's under-staffed.

Room cleanliness aside, the experience was an utter disappointment.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that does not have windows onto a graveyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MishaBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear MishaBow,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the under-staffing and some other aspects during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights over a weekend. The hotel sits next to an empty parking lot, but once you pass through, there are many upscale clothing, sporting, furniture stores in the Annapolis Towne Center, Very nice restaurants too. The hotel is within walking distance to the Towne Center, 3 miles from the Naval Academy Stadium, and about the same from other historic downtown Annapolis sites. The parking lot was well lit. That was important because we traveled with 4 kayaks on our roof of the car. The front desk associates & cleaning staff were all very kind. The morning breakfast was a normal kind of free breakfast you get with other hotels of the same price point. Adequate for a family of 4, 2 of which are boys 13 & 11. Our room had 2 queen beds, small desk & 2 chairs. There are a couple of dressers too. The hotel is fine for a weekend stay for 4 people in one room. Any longer we may have gotten cramped. I agree with another reviewer that the bathroom is small. Next time in Annapolis, we will go back to the Holiday Inn Express. The location is key and the price is right for the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisamlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel was easy to find and the rooms were nice and clean, The staff was friendly and check in easy. The breakfast area was small, but the breakfast was fine. The bathrooms are very small, but that is probably the only complaint with the room. We liked having Whole Foods and Target near-by. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmtee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Smallest bathrooms I have ever seen in a hotel! Pop-up campers and submarines have bigger bathrooms. Poor hotel design with these super small bathrooms. Be fore warned, you have to lean over the toilet to use the mirror. Unbelievable. Before you book here, ask the front desk about the size of the bathrooms. If you don't mind tiny bathrooms, the location is really good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friocharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariah V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis for your stay. I am sorry to hear that you were displeased with the design of our standard bathrooms. I hope you will give us an opportunity in the near future to change your opinion as we are working towards changing the style of the bathroom furnishings to make the overall experience of the bathroom much more favorable. Please ask for me directly the next time you are visiting the area so that I may give you a complimentary upgrade to a suite with a larger bathroom for your next stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis.

Mariah Vaughan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I stayed one night here for our 1 year anniversary night and thought it was overpriced. I wasn't fond of the view out our window looking directly over a cemetary. Weird.... we had to keep our curtains closed the whole time.

Lobby A/C unit was broken and so eating breakfast in the lobby was a bit stuffy and hot. Breakfast food was okay.

Beds were very comfortable. Thats a plus. We won't stay here again though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgrawlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear mcgrawlover,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I apologize that you had some items that are not working in the room. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here while our daughter attended the Summer Seminar at the U.S. Naval Academy. We chose this hotel based upon prior reviews and were not disappointed! The staff was friendly and helpful with a "can do" attitude. Getting into the parking lot was somewhat of a challenge, but it was worth the effort. It is next door to Annapolis Town Center which includes Whole Foods (which is where we ate most of our meals) and Target. The breakfast was well-prepared and the rooms were promptly cleaned. The atmosphere was positive. There was no extra charge for using the laundry facilities. When another guest blocked our use of the laundry late at night, the staff allowed us to use the hotel washer and dryer. This was a much better value than the Hyatt Regency we stayed at later in the month. If our daughter attends the U.S. Naval Academy, we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryandKatherinesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Annapolis
Crowne Plaza Annapolis
#13 of 21 in Annapolis
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Annapolis
Best Western Annapolis
#16 of 21 in Annapolis
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis

Address: 2451 Riva Rd, Annapolis, MD 21401-7025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Price Range: £73 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfortable stay at our Annapolis Maryland Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites accommodations near the US Naval Academy. Our Annapolis hotel is conveniently located 4 miles from the Academy and Historic Downtown. Your family will enjoy our hotel in Annapolis Maryland adjacent to The Annapolis Towne Centre with some of your favorites such as Whole Foods, PF Chang, 24 Hour Fitness and more. Just off Highway 50 we offer easy access to Baltimore, Washington DC and we are just 26 miles from Baltimore-Washington International Airport (BWI). A short drive away from the beautiful Chesapeake Bay, our Annapolis hotel keeps you near a variety of activities, from visiting Sandy Point State Park to sailing along the bay and eating fresh seafood for dinner. Business travelers visiting our Annapolis accommodations will not be disappointed; our hotel provides easy access to the more than 6,000 businesses and corporations of downtown Annapolis. Our accommodations also offer free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center to meet your needs while traveling. While you visit Annapolis, our hotel will treat you to a complimentary hot breakfast and cozy triple-sheeted beds. You can unwind with a trip to the 24-hour fitness center, or upgrade to a room with a whirlpool tub. Plan your trip to come join us at our Annapolis hotel with great hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Annapolis
Holiday Inn Annapolis
Holiday Inn Express Annapolis
Annapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing