We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnville, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a wedding party. We filled up the Calvert House for three days with the relatives of both families. The rooms were great, although some were a tad small. If anyone needed anything, the hotel staff was extremely attentive and friendly. This is a great place for a wedding reception too! We couldn't have asked for a better place for a party of 180+ people (something to do with the Fire Marshall). The stuffed rockfish selection was thoroughly enjoyed, all the guests with ties to Maryland ordered it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick40714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    295
    103
    60
    58
See reviews for
229
553
38
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you go in the off season you can get really good deals here. We rented two rooms for the family and they were both great, and each had their own personality. The inn was wonderful, romantic and Annapolis is a great town to go visit. The rooms were smallish, but what you would expect in a hotel built in the 1700's. The service was wonderful and very helpful.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the water you'll have a great view, but the view of the Mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am a frequent guest at Historic Inns and absolutely love staying here. Mike April is fantastic and always goes out of his way to ensure each stay is as comfortable and stress free as possible. The staff is extrememly helpful and kind, would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My Husband and I spent our 1 year wedding anniversary at the Inns of Annapolis Maryland house and we had a wonderful time. The location was perfect, right in the middle of town. The rooms are smaller and the bathroom was super small, but it was quaint! It's what we expected from a boutique hotel. We had the bed and breakfast package and had breakfast at the Treaty of Paris each morning. It was a wonderful way to spend our anniversary and I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Check the packages on the hotel's website! The price is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysba R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

At the end of March, 2012, we needed a last-minute (2 days before!) hotel in Annapolis and tried Priceline.com. We won the bid and was booked at the Historic Inns of Annapolis (right downtown). As sometimes happens to us, using a website such as Priceline causes the hotel staff to place us in their less desireable rooms. We fully expected to receive less than '5-star' treatment (especially due to last minute reservations) however, we were happily and greatfully surprised to be wrong!

Even though they were nearly fully booked, the manager Mike (and staff) accomodated our requests for a queen, in the Calvert House, and helped us find everything in Annapolis that we needed for unexpected cold, wet weather within walking distance. They even made coffee in the lobby available eariler than the usual 7:00 am, as we had very early business and really needed it!

The room was lovely, quiet, spacious with a nice view and sofa area.The lobby is also very pleasing with antique photos from Annapolis, and one of the rooms in the lobby covered in plexiglass to view the historic basement. We would definately go back

Room Tip: Lovely room, but there is no coffee in the room if that is an issue. Plenty of coffee and fruit dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMRHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We received AMAZING service from Mike Radike and his team at Govenor Calvert's House Hotel recently. Nothing was too much trouble. We asked Wendy at Reception to call a restaurant to reserve a table for us. When we got to the restaurant, we were introduced to the Manager who escorted us to 'the best table' and treated us as VIP's throughout the evening naming Wendy as the person responsible. In addition, he said to leave room for dessert as Wendy would take care of this. On checking out of the hotel, Mike Radike, the Manager helped us with our suitcases and advised us of postal prices to the UK. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this hotel, who provide exceptional service.

Room Tip: If you are booking online, check which one of the trio of 'Historic Inns' your room is locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynton191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I visit Annapolis often for business, but rarely spend the night in town. When a show at the Rams Head Tavern coincided with a holiday weekend, we chose the Robert Johnson House for a one-night stay. Price, location and quality – in that order - were the factors affecting our choice. I got a great rate via AAA (cheaper than Expedia, Priceline, or Orbitz). For the money, this was probably the nicest affordable room I’ve snagged in quite a while.

Check-in is at the Governor Calvert House, which has a few “loading zone” parking spaces, with 15 minute limits, on State Circle. Valets stand at the ready, out front. Although I’ve attended many events at the Calvert House, it would’ve been helpful if the desk clerk had explained amenities available to guests of the three related properties.

I chose to use the valet ($24/day) since we were in town, on a weekday, during the end of the Legislative Session (January thru early April). The valet drove us halfway around State Circle to the Robert Johnson House, dropped us off and took the car. For self-parking, Hillman or Gotts Garages are a couple blocks away. I suppose we could’ve parked illegally at the Robert Johnson House for a few minutes, to drop our luggage, and then ventured off to find a parking space.

With no apparent staff in the Robert Johnson, it really did feel as though we were in a fancy rooming house. The room’s key card also works the main door at the building’s entrance. The lobby is small, and there’s a patio (pretty basic) with a couple tables. The building has an elevator. Vending is spread across a few floors – ice on one floor, soft drinks on another.

The room was very clean, but showed a little age (nice decor, peeling wallpaper). Noise was not a problem. Morning coffee is served in the lobby, but the thermos was empty by the time we discovered it. Not to worry. The Starbucks in the cellar of the Maryland Inn is worth a visit, and other local coffee shops are very nearby.

The Robert Johnson House has all the charm of a B&B without the” friendly” hosts. I’d repeat the visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Robert Johnson House (which has no restaurant or conference meeting space) are probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BraddockHikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#11 of 21 in Annapolis
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
843 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Property: Historic Inns of Annapolis
Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing