We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our recent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Downingtown
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our recent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We absolutely loved the Governor Calvert Inn in Annapolis, MD. The room was excellent, the staff was very friendly and courteous and they provided good restaurant recommendations during our 3 night stay.

However, when we got home we noticed that there was about 5" of 'curb' damage done to the right rear wheel on our new 2013 Explorer as well as a 6" long scratch on the rear passenger door. Apparently the valet driver backed into the substantial curbing directly in front of the Inn when retrieving our vehicle for our departure. I did not notice the damage as the wheel was close - but not touching the curb. Too bad as I should have seen it and mentioned it before we left.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Walter S:

Thank you for posting your comments. I apologize that you state your vehicle was damaged during your stay. I have shared this feedback with our Valet Account Manager and he will review your feedback. I was more pleased to read that other aspects of your stay went well and am glad we did a good job in those areas.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    286
    100
    58
    58
See reviews for
215
534
38
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

1st rate experience. From the valet (Zach) to the Front Desk staff to the Manager, everyone was very friendly, warm and welcoming. We were there for our Wedding. I had requested for some champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to be in the room when we arrived. The Chef made special chocolate covered strawberries for us, which were amazing. I had also arranged for Michael Design Florist to deliver a dozen roses. The Front desk made sure upon our arrival that all the items were in the room. They took extra care with everything and it turned out to be a magical experience for the both of us. The facility and room was clean and gave you a very warm feeling. We plan to go back for a longer stay very soon. I would recommend this hotel anyone who is looking for an awesome experience!

Room Tip: The room, 314, was wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear CT808:

Thank you for staying with us and congratulations on your wedding!

It was very gratifying to read that so many different members of our team worked together in a coordinated effort to make your stay so pleasant, and for such a special event.. As is the case with any business, our people make the difference and I am so pleased that we delivered for you.

My Team and I wish you the best in your new life together and look forward to welcoming you back again to add to your memories of Annapolis.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at the Governor Calvert House recently. The entire experience from the inn itself to the staff couldn't have been any better. We fell in love with this historic area upon arrival. It's centrally located, so you can walk to most shops, restaurants, and the waterfront. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear ILCJ:

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am so proud of the effort our team makes and so delighted we helped make your recent stay such a great experience. Our goal is to earn a rating of 5 from our guests and to become their “Hotel of Choice” when visiting Annapolis by continuing to deliver on future visits. We will do this for you.

We very much appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

There's just something special about staying in a really old historic hotel. Sure the floors creak and there may be 20 coats of paint on the door, but the idea of actual Presidents having slept in the same building over 150 years ago is just too cool (for some of us).
That said, the Maryland Inn delivered on modern comfort and ammenities along with being perfectly located.

A bonus, there is a modern Starbucks in the dark stone basement.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R&G-Opine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear R&G-Opine:

Thank you for your feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and took delight in some the idiosyncrasies that go along with being the oldest continually operating place of lodging in the state of Maryland! I’m also glad you enjoyed and took advantage of the updates we have provided to the Maryland Inn over time.

With 130 reviews under your belt I certainly yield to your sense of perspective and look forward to welcoming you back again soon so we can earn a “5” and not a “4.”

Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Annapolis is a favorite destination for a weekend or just meeting friends from D.C. or Baltimore for dinner. Historic Inns of Annapolis has great rooms in the heart of the city, an easy and enjoyable walk from the harbor, restaurants, St. Mary's Church, the Academy and St. John's. Try to stay in the Robert Johnson House, the rooms are comfortable, well maintained, historic, and convenient to the main shopping and dining district. Walk out the door and the Governor's Mansion is to your left , the Capitol rises above you across the narrow street, and the Chesapeake Bay is in sight on your right. Found the staff to be super friendly, it's a working colonial town with tight streets, neat houses, state government, two colleges and lots of visitors all competing for scarce street parking spaces so use the valet service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear BestyP:

Thank you for your feedback. I was so happy read how much you enjoyed your stay and to read of the great summary of things you visited while you were with us. I’m sure you enjoyed walking around the Historic District and finding how easy and close everything was.

We are very proud of our hotel and of our team, and will continue to make the efforts you saw during your stay so that we continue to earn a rating of 5 from all of our guests!

Thanks for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

So this place has a ton of character. Annap is a lovely destination and we loved our stay here. The service is great in this hotel. Everyone hustles and makes the very best of the logistical hurdles of a hotel located on a crowed traffic circle in a crowded town. The hotel is dated in many ways but what would you expect for a historical inn. That said, it is all clean, well kept up and very comfortable. AC was very noisy in our room but it put out huge amounts of cold air. Location of hotel could not be better. Close to everything. Nice bars and restaurants nearby and walking distance to all the places you want to go in Annapolis. Its not plush but it is comfortable and historical. Dont hesitate to stay in any one of their hotels.

Room Tip: Tip the valet guys out front well, they earn it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TodUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear TodUSA:

Thanks for your feedback and for your many positive comments about our ambience, cleanliness, great air conditioning, and an energetic group of associates who make it happen for our guests!

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to wowing you again on your next visit so we can earn a rating of 5 from you.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Oh my ... think again before you stay here. We stayed in the Robert Johnson House; overpriced, not adequately stocked with toilet paper, broken window pane, box spring stained with black smudges, door had to be slammed shut, bed against the door ... I could go on and on. Stay at a hotel that was built in your lifetime!!! Being in the historic area is not worth the price of this hotel.
Side note, the staff were very nice but again think again and before you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThinkAgain5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear ThinkAgain5858:

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you encountered several issues during your stay. I will copy your feedback to share with my staff so that we can work to correct the issues you described. Your experience is not typical of most of our guests and we will work to regain your goodwill. We appreciate your feedback. In spite of the issues you encountered I was also pleased that you took time to comment on the quality of our team. Thank you.

We hope to be of service to you at some point in the future.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#1 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Property: Historic Inns of Annapolis
Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing