We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annapolis Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, DE
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Annapolis Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

When you look out of the room windows you feel as if you are being transported back in time. All the features and comforts of a modern hotel with all the Old World Charm of Historic Annapolis! Walking distance to the waterfront and many restaurants, shops, and history! The staff are professional, friendly, and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazy4running
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear crazy4running:

Thank you for your contribution. You have done a great job capturing the sentiment we hear from many of our guests about their stays with us. We are absolutely not the normal experience and will continue to strive to achieve ratings of “5” in all measured categories.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    286
    100
    58
    58
See reviews for
215
534
38
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I held our wedding here in September and had an amazing experience here. We loved our stay here and heard many positive feedback from our friends/family. We loved the historic feel of the property; the rooms had a nice decor to them. The location is ideal - It is walkable to many the Naval Academy, many cute restaurants and shops. You don't need a car all weekend. The staff would go above and beyond to help you with anything.

I stayed in two different rooms at the Governor Calvert House during my two night stay; both were absolutely amazing. The honeymoon suite was beyond amazing. Some people complained about the size of the bathrooms but I didn't think they were that bad; especially, considering the time period inn was built. My 4 bridesmaids shared one room with 2 double beds. The double beds appeared smaller than most and it was probably a tight fit. The beds were comfy though.

Our only con would be the parking/valet service. When we arrived, we had to go around the circle multiple times just to be ale to pull up and talk to someone at the valet service/drop off our car. At this point, by the time we dropped off the car/unloaded it we were frazzled and completely stressed out. This delay made us almost late for our meeting/rehearsal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skigal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Skigal08:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay and wedding with us. First, congratulations on your recent marriage! We are honored that you chose the Historic Inns to be a part of this very special day and I am so happy that things went so well.

Thank you for your feedback on the valet parking; at times the State Circle road can be busy and, due to limited space in front of the hotel which we have to share with other businesses we do occasionally ask that people drive around and come back to us. It is difficult for us to hold a space when another car may be in front of yours but we will continue to move cars in and out as quickly and safely as possible.

I hope you have had a relaxing honeymoon and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
189 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is 3 separate buildings placed around old downtown Annapolis. My room was large, with big closet space, a great bed. It is an old building with older furnishings (a 'period' type room) but there was wear and tear on the furniture itself.
Housecleaning was ok, though I found evidence of a prior guest in the closet...ticket stubs and such. The hotel does provide a shuttle service. The area of the hotel is near many restaurants and shops, as well as the harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear retailbarry:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your room had several issues related to cleanliness and I will share you feedback with our Director of Housekeeping so that he can correct this error. I appreciate you letting me know.

I was pleased to read you found our service and location to be excellent, and we will continue to focus on doing better in all areas. We value our business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent two nights in Room 314 of the Governor Calvert House in October. On the plus side, the room was spacious, well-appointed and had a lovely view of the State House. On the down side, the washroom was small but sufficient. Moreover, this is a hotel and the walls are thin so I heard BOTH sides of a late night telephone conversation coming from the adjoining room. The hotel's location is very convenient to all of the attractions in historic Annapolis. The price of the room was very reasonable and valet parking is worth the $24 they charged. You don't need a car unless you're going to dinner in Eastport.

Room Tip: Room 314 of Gov. Calvert House is an historic room. It has nice furnishings, great light and a spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickascreennamepicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear pickascreennamea:

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay at the Governor Calvert House while in Annapolis. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your room but am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from an adjoining room. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and am sorry this happened.

I agree with your assessment of our valet parking process and with the quality of our location; you simply walk out our front door and everything in Historic Downtown Annapolis is within a 10 minute walk, depending on your stride. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We only had one night in Annapolis, and this was the perfect spot to enjoy the charm of the town in a central location. We explored all of the properties, and think they all would have been great to stay in. Room was well decorated, clean, and quiet. Staff was friendly and the location couldn't be beat. If I go back, this is my list of places to stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KelleyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear KelleyF:

Thank you for completing our guest survey. It was great to read that you took a look at all of our buildings; The Governor Calvert House, The Maryland Inn, and The Robert Johnson House, and that you were intrigued by all of them. Thanks for noting how clean we were and how friendly our staff was. You are absolutely correct on our location – it truly is exceptional.

We appreciate your patronage and your feedback. Don’t wait too long to come back although I do see you are from Oregon so we will see you when we do.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Wonderful historic Inn located within a few minute walk of the Naval Academy. Rooms were comfortable and the location could not be better.
Park the car at the Inn and then all of old Annapolis was within easy walking distance.




Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hello, Andrew B:

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I was so pleased to read you found our location to be very good and that our rooms were comfortable for you and your family. You are absolutely correct when you say “park the car;” our location provides easy access to everything in the downtown historic district and the benefit you get from just walking around with family is, to quote a national credit card, “Priceless.”

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely,


Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stopped overnight in Annapolis on our way to the airport in Baltimore. The Governor Calvert House was lovely. Comfortable king size bed, quiet surroundings, serene view and convenient location. It's a historic building with all the modern conveniences - flat screen tv, modern bathroom, good sized room, and express check-out. You can walk to dozens of restaurants. Valet was informative and directed us to a lively breakfast spot 2 blocks away. I would definitely stay here next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear therpac:

Thank you for your feedback. I was glad to read that you chose us for your overnight accommodations while overnight in Annapolis and happy to see that you found the Calvert House to be an ideal fit for you. I was equally happy that our location was great and that our valet team answered questions for you.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Property: Historic Inns of Annapolis
Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing