We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but that's all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location but that's all!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My first trip to Annapolis and I thought it would be cool to stay in an old historic inn downtown. I was assigned a room at the Maryland Inn, and for those who do not know, you check in at one location and then must be taken by valet over to the hotel which is several blocks away, not walking distance. Your car is kept at a different location and the fee is $24 per day, each time you would like to use your car you must call and then wait about 15 minutes for it to be delivered to the loading area of the hotel. There are NO attendants at the Maryland Inn, so if you need assistance or have a question, you are just out of luck, you must take your own luggage and find your room which can be challenging, depending on the location. The room was ok, what I expected for an old historic inn, the only complaint was the hvac window unit was very loud and woke me each time it turned on and off, but I will say the bed was comfortable. On a positive note, the location could not be better! All in all, not worth the almost $200 price tag for one small room and parking, which did not include any kind of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiannaRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear DiannaRaleigh:

Thank you for your feedback. The Historic Inns of Annapolis is composed of 3 physically buildings which we diligently disclose in a variety of manners. We do have a central check in point for all three buildings and disclose as well that there is one front desk, located in the Governor Calvert House. We respond to questions and what not from our guests who call our front desk, which is staffed 24 hours daily.

I am sorry that you found the distance between the Calvert House and the Maryland Inn to be too far. I walk that distance daily and it takes me about 3 minutes; for those guests who do not want to undertake that walk we provide a shuttle between the buildings. I will share your comments about the car wait with our valet manager; we track what time our calls come in and what time the car is delivered - our recent audit reflects a delivery time of less than 5 minutes so we will find out what happened during your stay. I am sorry that you encountered this.

Should you have a need to visit Annapolis in the future we hope to see you again but wish you safe travel regardless.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    295
    103
    60
    58
See reviews for
229
553
38
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the Calvert House. We had a large room with 2 double beds, dresser, desk, 2 chairs, flat big screen TV, nightstand and side table. Bathroom was small with tub & shower but we'll planned out so very comfortable. Rooms & common areas are spotlessly clean. The furnishings, draperies & pictures were lovely antique style to correspond with this historic inn. The lobby and sitting rooms are also furnished with lovely antiques & reproductions. The hotel is located on State Circle street, which is the street that circles around the Maryland State House and is a 5 minute walk to the harbor, shops, restaurants, taverns, pubs & historic sights. There is no parking lot as you are in the historic district but they have valet parking so you pull up in front and they park the car for you. Once you are parked you don't have to leave as everything is within walking distance. This is a great choice for Annapolis if you want to be in the historic district.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Phillinda:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay at the Governor Calvert House of the Historic Inns of Annapolis. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our rooms, service, and location to have earned a rating of 5.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We just returned from an anniversary weekend at The Historic Inns of Annapolis. We stayed at the Maryland Inn on the second floor. Check in and valet were easy. When we arrived, we walked through a wedding reception to get to our room, which was a little uncomfortable. The hotel was built in the 1700's and it is charming. The price was reasonable for the weekend, plus breakfast was in the cost. We had breakfast in the Treaty of Paris and it was good. I had the French toast and my hubby had an omelet. The valet service was great and would bring you your car if needed within minutes of calling them. You can walk downtown Annapolis to great restaurants, shops and the waterfront area all from the hotel, although it rained all weekend unfortunately. The room was spotless. Tea and coffee were offered complimentary in the entryway. What a wonderful anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheBeach821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Erika N:

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Historic Inns. I was so pleased to read that you found the room to be spotless, breakfast good, and that the valet team was timely in delivering your car. I am happy we contributed to a great anniversary and that you really had a great weekend.

Thank you for choosing us; we look forward to being your hotel of choice in Annapolis and will be happy to welcome you back again soon.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Spent one night at the Robert Johnson House part of the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Room was clean and nicely furnished. Staff was very nice. Within walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malex528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Malex528:

Thank you for posting your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Robert Johnson House and that your room was clean. I was just as happy to read our team did a great job for you and that our location was great.

We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Maryland Inn and enjoyed our stay there very much. The hotel room was very large and cozy. The bathroom is a little small but the original hotel was build in 1772. It was probably a big bathroom at that time. The hotel room cost is very reasonable. The valet parking was extremely easy because the gentlemen there are great at their job. The Maryland Inn is right on Main Street, which is very convenient to a lot of great restaurants and shops. We ate at the Piccola Roma Restaurant. The food was excellent. We also had a great time for happy hour at McGarvey's Saloon & Oyster Bar. Their crab balls appetizers are very tasty. We loved the $3 price for a glass of wine. We walked to the Naval Academy and enjoyed the 90 minute tour. It's a great tour. I would recommend it to anyone that likes to walk. We also visited the Maryland State house, which is very close to the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with four windows. We could look down on Main St and see the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen8062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Ellen8062014:

Thank you for your feedback. It is obvious that you had a great time at the Historic Inns and that a number of different aspects of your stay came together to really make your visit to Annapolis one to remember. I will share your feedback with our team and we will continue to strive to do a great job for all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and providing you with another great experience. We want to be your hotel of choice when you visit Annapolis.

Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotuit, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This Inn is nestled in the heart of Annapolis. It is within walking distance to many shops, lovely restaurants, and the harbor. The staff at the Inn are very accommodating and pay great attention to detail! The rooms sparkle! They offer coffee and sweet rolls at breakfast time, hot cider on the chilly afternoons and refreshing chilled lemon water during the warm summer afternoons. And it is the place that my husband and I look forward to staying in every time we are in Annapolis. A home away from home!

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely. We have stayed here many times. There is a warm and cozy atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Betsy N:

Thank you for comments about the Historic Inns of Annapolis! I was delighted to read you found our staff to be so accommodating and service oriented and that the rooms and location were great. I am so happy that we have earned your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a great experience with the Historic Inns of Annapolis. While the restaurant options on site were great, the walking options were fantastic! And such a convenient location within walking distance to....everything. We could see the harbor and found the location within perfect walking distance to everything we needed, including a walk to the US Naval Academy! What a neat, historic city on the water- loved it! The hotel was exactly what we expected after reading reviews, old but comfortable and appealing. I think a very good value for the price and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Mandy B:

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our Treaty of Paris restaurant and that our location was great for your quick trips over to the USNA, the City Dock, and so on. We are absolutely the best located hotel in the Historic District of Annapolis.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,


Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#11 of 21 in Annapolis
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
843 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Property: Historic Inns of Annapolis
Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing