We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We've stayed at Historic Inns of Annapolis in the past. This was our first time at Governor Calvert House and it was delightful. Would definitely recommend valet parking, just made things much easier. The room was lovely. The location was terrific, able to walk to everything. Everyone at the hotel was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gpm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Gpm19:

Thank you for your feedback. I was so happy to read we made such a great first impression and that you found the location and service to be so very good. We do have the best location in downtown Annapolis and I am very proud of the quality of service our team provides.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    286
    100
    58
    58
See reviews for
215
534
38
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed on the fourth floor at the Maryland Inn - the location and view from the room make this a four vs a three - but it was close. The antiques in the entryway, creaking hallway floors, and wooden staircases give you anticipation of having a room that will look and feel the same way - it didn't. No antiques, wall paper separating at corners and seams, unattractive furniture and paint cracks/chipping on the ceiling take away from the ambiance. The extremely small bathroom is doable but you'll have to be creative to find a way to lay out your wife's and your toiletries. But hey - small bathrooms are part of old Inns and B&B's, so suck it up. The window HVAC unit works well and running it all night will drowned out any Main St. noises so that's a plus for me. The view of the harbor and sun coming up over the bay bridge is nice to enjoy while having morning coffee. If you're a decaf drinker - you'll have to go to Starbucks as morning coffee in the lobby is regular only for some reason?? The restaurant has great old-inn ambiance and the food was real good. You're surrounded by great places to eat and shop and your just far enough away from the marina area to escape the late night noises at that busier end of Main St. We'd like to try another room here - and maybe one of their other properties too on our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 406 has a great view - and a queen bed. Definitely stay on the fourth floor if you want the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear John662:

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you found several issues in your room that should have been addressed by our team prior to the room being rented and I will share your feedback so that we can fix those items. I appreciate you letting me know.

I was more pleased to read there are a large number of other aspects of your stay that went better and that you especially enjoyed your location. We will continue to strive to ensure that all aspects of our guests’ stay are great and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASSBORO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel group is fantastic. From the desk clerks upon check in, valet attendant, location, did I say location? The room was clean and comfortable as well. We are already looking forward to a return visit. This is a great, safe town to visit. So much history. So much to see and do............

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OKEDOAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear OKEDOAK:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I was very pleased to read that our staff did a great job for you and that you very much enjoyed our location. We do, in fact, have the best location in the Historic District.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My partner and I received an upgrade, at the Robert Johnson's House, a suite with a view of the bay. The rooms were nice and clean. There were plenty of pillows.. However, the AC unit in the bedroom needed a new filter. Air blew directly into the faces of the people sleeping. We would also have liked bottled water- at least it should have been a choice in the vending machines. Also, there was no HD TV available on the flat-screen TV's, and no closed captioning.
However, overall, we were quite comfortable despite these minor glitches.

Room Tip: Ask for room 408 (Robert Johnson's House) which has a nice view of the Chesapeake Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear robito:

Thank you for your feedback. I was glad that we were able to provide you with an upgrade and that you have an overall good stay. I appreciate the feedback about the AC and HD TV and will follow up on these items. Thank you for your suggestion about bottled water; I will think about that.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great place to stay in the heart of Annapolis! I recommend that you choose the Governor Calvert House, since that's where you need to check in for any of the three historic inns.....why not just stay there! That's what we did, and we didn't regret it! Great view of the State House and they had a wonderful staff as well. Lots of great little shops and restaurants within walking distance. The valet parking is a great, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Mosby43:

Thank you for your feedback. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Governor Calvert House fit your needs well. Our staff works diligently to do a great job and I’m glad they helped contribute to a great stay.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallowell, ME
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

A perfect setting for exploring historic Annapolis. The staff was friendly and most helpful. The room was quite comfortable, and a fine nights sleep finished off a great day! My wife and I will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear newtrox:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your stay. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and found that the Historic Inns of Annapolis worked so well for you during your recent stay.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My first trip to Annapolis and I thought it would be cool to stay in an old historic inn downtown. I was assigned a room at the Maryland Inn, and for those who do not know, you check in at one location and then must be taken by valet over to the hotel which is several blocks away, not walking distance. Your car is kept at a different location and the fee is $24 per day, each time you would like to use your car you must call and then wait about 15 minutes for it to be delivered to the loading area of the hotel. There are NO attendants at the Maryland Inn, so if you need assistance or have a question, you are just out of luck, you must take your own luggage and find your room which can be challenging, depending on the location. The room was ok, what I expected for an old historic inn, the only complaint was the hvac window unit was very loud and woke me each time it turned on and off, but I will say the bed was comfortable. On a positive note, the location could not be better! All in all, not worth the almost $200 price tag for one small room and parking, which did not include any kind of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiannaRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear DiannaRaleigh:

Thank you for your feedback. The Historic Inns of Annapolis is composed of 3 physically buildings which we diligently disclose in a variety of manners. We do have a central check in point for all three buildings and disclose as well that there is one front desk, located in the Governor Calvert House. We respond to questions and what not from our guests who call our front desk, which is staffed 24 hours daily.

I am sorry that you found the distance between the Calvert House and the Maryland Inn to be too far. I walk that distance daily and it takes me about 3 minutes; for those guests who do not want to undertake that walk we provide a shuttle between the buildings. I will share your comments about the car wait with our valet manager; we track what time our calls come in and what time the car is delivered - our recent audit reflects a delivery time of less than 5 minutes so we will find out what happened during your stay. I am sorry that you encountered this.

Should you have a need to visit Annapolis in the future we hope to see you again but wish you safe travel regardless.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#1 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Property: Historic Inns of Annapolis
Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing