We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous old inn, perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We loved this hotel. We stayed at the Maryland Inn in mid-March, 2009. Yes, you check in at the Calvert, and that is where the parking facility is. However, it is simple to navigate. If it is dark, cold, icy, whatever, just stop by the Calvert and check in. Then drive to the Maryland and unload your luggage. When you are ready, simply use the house phone to call the Calvert and they will pick up your car. Ditto for the delivery - although we quite liked strolling over to the Calvert to get our car in the mornings.

Our room #214 was lovely - king bed, windows on both sides of the room, nice shampoo/soap amenities, lots of pillows. The bathroom is tiny, but navigable. The history was fascinating and being right on Main Street was perfect. We did not find it noisy, and we were there Fri, Sat, and Sun nights. We paid $119 per night.

The food at the attached restaurant was pricey, but very good. Excellent service. Nice to have a mini-mart right across the street for sundries.

We would definitely stay there again and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echolaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2009

We stayed at the Maryland Inn on a very cold night. There's no one visibly on duty there, so one has to navigate to the Calvert to check in (this is not easy on a cold night). We parked down the street in the public parking garage and that was fine, just $10 overnight. Parking, generally, is a nightmare in downtown Annapolis, so if the garage is full, the valet service at the Calvert would be the only option.

The room was tiny -- much smaller than the photos. The bed was a double -- not a queen as we had selected on the internet. Other than TV, the hotel has no real amenities. Food at Treaty of Paris, while pricey, was pretty good. The Starbucks is convenient, and the historic documents that abound everywhere are remarkable.

Cold air entered the room from every angle. Our window heater couldn't keep up, and there essentially appears to be no central heat in the hotel. Main-floor coffee was out by 9 a.m. on a Saturday and not replenished. A fairly spartan experience for a historic inn. A little bit disappointing.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank mwkensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Decided last minute to getaway for the weekend and booked thru Orbitz for a stay at the Maryland Inn. Glad we checked tripadvisor.com before going -- learned about valet parking, walk or drop off option thru the site... this helped us pack lightly - Thanks! There was a problem with our bill at checkout which was corrected after several calls and a face to face visit to the front desk personeel - Just be persistant and all will workout :-)
Upon arrival we thought the Maryland Inn was on perfect location to park and stay - enjoyed the historic sites, good restaurants, strolled town shops and wharf area and visited the Naval Academy too.
People need to remember the Inn was built in 1700 and remodeled beautifully in 2005 - our room was comfy and decorated nicely. We greatly enjoyed a good run the next morning through town/across bridge - and loved that the Starbucks was located in the cellar area of the Inn.
We plan to stay at the Robert Johnson in January --

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HeatherWilmington_De
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

We checked in at the Calvert House and thought this would be a romantic place to be. We booked a room at the calvert house and when we checked in we were told they gave our room away and we were sent to another bulding called the Maryland Inn. When you walk into this building you don't get a very clean feeling. The floors are dirty and the public bathroom is filthy. We saw a mouse in our room and called the front desk several times and nothing was done.

We went to the restaurant and decided not to eat because of the mice. There was only one other couple eating so we went elsewhere.

We also wanted a good nights sleep but that was a joke considering all of the public noise on the street. This was one of the reasons we wanted our room at the Calvert House

I am extremely dissapointed in the lack of caring from the staff about the customer. I think they need new management and someone to handle the mice infestation.

I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nevadawondergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We recently stayed at the Maryland Inn in Annapolis, MD, which is part of the Historic Inns of Annapolis. This is not the first time we have stayed at this beautiful hotel, and it will certainly not be the last time. Annapolis is such a quaint, vibrant town teeming with history and the Maryland Inn is a perfect complement.. We stayed in a fantastic suite with a large living room, a bedroom, and an eat-in kitchen. All of the rooms have that colonial feel to them and are tastefully decoarted and furnished. In addition, the staff is incedibly accomodating and are very willing to help with any request. All in all, I could not recommend this hotel any more eagerly. We always enjoy our stay at the Historic Inns and look forward to returning,

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TedTheodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

My family joined me for a conference that was held at the Historic Inns of Annapolis this November. I was wary due to some of the reviews here, but the trip was amazing. We were traveling with a 2 month old baby, and the hotel made sure that we had a crib and a fridge for storing bottles. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was beautiful. We stayed in the Governor Calvert House and the meeting was in the Maryland Inn. I believe these are the two furthest inns from one another and it was not more than a 3-5 minute walk between them.

I unfortunately became ill on the trip and had to go to the hospital. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to help out, including getting our car out of the valet park in the middle of the night and having security drive my husband to a store to get formula for our baby also in the middle of the night (before the car was out). Everyone, from the front desk staff, valets, security and housekeeping was incredibly kind and helpful. Despite the sickness we had a wonderful time, and I would love to return to the Inns for a vacation in the future.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rklima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Well, if you're looking at hotels or B&B's in Annapolis, you know that the rates are rarely less than $150. But, because Historic Inns had a great rate, and a fantastic location, we thought we'd give it a try, and it was really a great move! We could walk to anything in downtown in a couple minutes (by the way, try one of the City Dock Coffee cafes) and all of the Historic Inn buildings are very much part of that downtown street-scape and historical story.

We were at the Robert Johnson building, which has 4 floors, with elevator and stairs. The room was very visually appealing, stylish fabrics, wall coverings, furniture, and accessories. The TV was even pretty nice...
But, the bathroom wasn't anything special, and the mattress was really pretty hard so this wasn't quite a home run, but we'd definitely consider Historic Inns for our next trip to Annapolis.

Our interaction with the staff was minimal: Check In was easy and quick, we chose not to valet park ($24/night), but the valets were helpful with directions, and a desk worker helped me get directions to a nearby town. We would note that the coffee service in the lobby of our building was pretty bad...and out of sugar the whole time we were there (even after the front desk became aware). Also, checkout was via telephone and very, very easy.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yadusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
870 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range: £91 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing