We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Calvert House is the best location around the city of Annapolis in the State House area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Fallston, Maryland
1 review
“The Calvert House is the best location around the city of Annapolis in the State House area.”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

The Calvert House is located very close to the State House in historic Annapolis. The rooms are a very good size and are kept very clean. The staff is always friendly, helpful, and strive to make your stay the best it can be. You are within walking distance of downtown and have a choice of many different restaurants and pubs within the immediate vicinity. The hotel has on site valet parking during your stay. You will not be sorry you chose to stay at this location.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobby222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    292
    100
    60
    58
See reviews for
222
542
38
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
312 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

I stayed at the Calvert House with a group of guys who were in town to tour the Naval Academy and historic Annapolis. Sometimes the label "historic hotel" is code for "rough." Not so, with the Calvert House - the rooms have all the comforts of home. The front desk staff is pleasant and helpful. The location is perfect for touring the town, visiting the port and the Academy. You should be aware that there is no bar or restaurant on the premises. However, it is a short walk to many restaurants in town and down at the port. I am not sure it is a place for families with children but it works well as a base for adults who are spending a few days touring the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2009

I took my family down on the 16th - we went sailing - I could not believe how much fun that was - first time. My wife wanted the kids to experiecne it.

She found this hotel - it was perfect for us - the room was large. We stayed at the Maryland Inn - THANK GOD they have a Starbucks! I have to have my coffee in the morning. I didnt like that they dont have coffee makers in the room, but it was cool because the Starbucks was right below us - great way to wake up - smelling coffee!

We will be back - soon I hope!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khaney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We had a room block for our wedding at The Historic Inns of Annapolis. The rate was certainly the best in downtown Annapolis and the staff were helpful in getting almost all of our guests in the Governor Calvert House. We have stayed both in the Governor Calvert and the Maryland Inn (a few months ago). Both were clean and beautiful and it is not a hassle to check in at one building and stay in another.
Our guests loved their rooms and the ability to walk everywhere in downtown. The front desk staff were courteous, the valet staff were quick, and we had an 80 breakfast in the hotel the morning after our wedding which had good service and food as well.
We will certainly stay here anytime we are spending the night in Annapolis.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2009

As a memebr of the Maryland House of Delegates, I have stayed at the Governor Calvert House for the past seven years during the legislative session that occurs from mid January to mid April of the year. The staff could not be more accomodating, professional, warm and friendly. They are there to assist me in any way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The location of the hotel, located in the historic area of Annapolis allows me to travel by foot or as short ride to the many fine restaurants loacted in Annapolis. My room is very comfortable and every amenity is provided to meet my needs. I would highly recommend the Governor Calvert House, which is part of the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Delegate Steve DeBoy, Maryland House of Delegates Baltimore and Howard Counties, Legislative District 12A

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laxfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coon Rapids, MN
Level Contributor
164 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Stayed two nights to do sightseeing and had a very pleasant experience. Stayed in Governor Calvert Bldg - Hotel room was large and attractively decorated. Location great for walking to shopping and sights, incl Naval Academy - most streets are narrow so you want to avoid having to drive and find parking. Needed A/C and it worked well. Staff was very accomodating. See also my reviews and Harry Browne's and Treaty of Paris Restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coon_Rapids_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We loved this hotel. We stayed at the Maryland Inn in mid-March, 2009. Yes, you check in at the Calvert, and that is where the parking facility is. However, it is simple to navigate. If it is dark, cold, icy, whatever, just stop by the Calvert and check in. Then drive to the Maryland and unload your luggage. When you are ready, simply use the house phone to call the Calvert and they will pick up your car. Ditto for the delivery - although we quite liked strolling over to the Calvert to get our car in the mornings.

Our room #214 was lovely - king bed, windows on both sides of the room, nice shampoo/soap amenities, lots of pillows. The bathroom is tiny, but navigable. The history was fascinating and being right on Main Street was perfect. We did not find it noisy, and we were there Fri, Sat, and Sun nights. We paid $119 per night.

The food at the attached restaurant was pricey, but very good. Excellent service. Nice to have a mini-mart right across the street for sundries.

We would definitely stay there again and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echolaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
837 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Property: Historic Inns of Annapolis
Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing