We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You take the good and you take the bad......histoic inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The city of Annapolis, was historic, friendly and a great place to visit. I would recommend a visit to the Annapolis Naval Academy. Now to the hotel review. We booked a stay at what we thought was one hotel but it is actually several hotels by the same company in different areas in Annapolis. We checked in at the Governors Inn on State street where we were meet by the most horrible smell. So when the check-in clerk directed us to the Maryland Inn at church circle we did not complain. There is not valet at the Maryland Inn so you have to take or meet the valet there. We choose to take our valet with us.

The Maryland Inn is very historic circa 1700. The lovely style and quaintness was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms are super small but that's how it was built back then. The decor was nice and our room was clean.

We did dine at the Treaty of Paris for breakfast. It was my birthday and I wanted the experience. The history of the place hosted dining to Ben Franklin and John Adams. The food was good. Our waiter was not nice. He clearly had an attitude. Don't really know why? Tried to be the bigger people and still tipped him well but I wish you a better experience then we had. Kinda disappoints when you have one chance to treasure an experience of such a historic place for a special day and someone ruins it with their bad attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Maryland Inn, one of the Historic Inns on Annapolis. Even though the check-in process is a bit awkward because it is at one of the other inns--the staff makes it easy. Our room was small but comfortable and the Maryland Inn was charming. We were only a block from the water and all of the sights. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant Treaty of Paris--and it was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. My husband and I split the crab cakes with poached eggs and it was ample for two. Had the weather not been so nice we would have eaten dinner there as well! We will remember this Inn when our travels take us to Annapolis again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCSue67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed at the Maryland Inn and found it to be perfect for our one night here. Check in was very smooth and everyone was friendly. We were given a map to the closest parking garage where we left our car during our entire stay. I think the total for parking 24 hours was $16. The hotel is very old but renovated to have all the modern conveniences. Our room was small but lovely and the bed very comfortable. The location is within a few blocks of the center of town and the harbor. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Our stay was outstanding. The staff was attentive and made sure everything was done to perfection. This hotel has the best location in Annapolis and is central to all attractions and events. The room was well appointed and detailed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyfromjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We were a bit worried because of so many bad reviews, but wanted to stay in town because of the horrendous traffic and lack of parking in Annapolis. So we booked and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. We stayed in the Governor Calvert House so cannot comment on the other two properties. The Gov. Calvert was beautifully decorated in the public rooms and there was lemonade in the afternoon and coffee and danish in the morning. Our room was very nice, not huge but good sized with a small but modern bathroom. Being located in the very center of Annapolis with the Capitol building just across the street was perfect for us. We left the car with the valet and did not pick it up until we left Annapolis. I have read the negative reviews and did not experience the problems noted by other visitors to the hotel. Maybe we are just easy to please or perhaps the other properties are not as nice as the Governor Calvert. I would suggest staying there unless you particularly want the locations of the other properties.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We were checked in the Maryland Inn one of the 3 building room 406 could be described as a prison cell (I immagine I never been in a prison). Small unconfortable the AC is a window unit but inside of the room if you turn this machine on is like a jet engine in the room, and it is only 3 feet away from your haed!!! If you turn this off and you settle for an open window ...sorry windows are not opening.
We did not sleep all night, the next morning, we spoke to the GM or a Manager on duty, very nice person and very accomodating, and he move us to the main building however advised us the under our window is the ball room and that this evening there is a Wedding and the music will go on until later...and did!!
Howevr the room was larger and much better then the prison cell, but windows to the inside no view no sunshine totally darkness!
We paid top prices and beside been in a Historic location? as hotel is a terrible overrated pleace to stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarperia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

From some of the reviews I read, this was the one stop on our trip I was a little worried about ... the worries turned out to be completely off-base - we stayed in the Robert Johnson House in a suite that was extremely comfortable, clean and modern without losing historical charm ... the hotel as a whole was quite comfortable and perfectly situated .. check in was easy because I had read the reviews and knew we had to walk down to the office at the other hotel ... we walked to and from the marina a number of times and it takes ten minutes at a leisurely pace ... and the "circle" it is located on with the statehouse as the centerpiece was quite lovely .. overall, wonderful stay ...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
#11 of 21 in Annapolis
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
863 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Cir, Annapolis, MD 21401-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range: £101 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing