We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Annapolis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

Stayed for New Year's Eve party with Pat McGee Band. Everyone who works here, from valets to front desk to servers, provided top level service.

I appreciate the responsibility of the management providing a very reasonable room rate ($99/night) to accompany the open-bar party that they hosted.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minivandriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JALWashingtonDC, Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2010
Great!! Thank you for your message. We partnered with Pat knowing he would attract a vibrant crowd. Everyone had a great time. Hope to see you again soon...Annapolis is a great getaway! Keep your eyes out...maybe we'll have a repeat performance next New Years!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    321
    133
    54
    35
See reviews for
251
401
35
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

The location is wonderful. We visited during the big December snowstorm for a quick getaway from home and loved it. We did not have to walk far for last minute Christmas shopping or for the areas many great restaurants. The service was terrific and we'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LatigoMcLean_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JALWashingtonDC, Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
Thank you for taking the time to comment. Annapolis is a great spot for a quick getaway, under an hour from DC Metro area...and our team is totally committed to making every experience a positive one!! Come back soon and invite your friends...Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

The service at Loews - Annapolis is impeccable and the location can't be beat! Just a couple of blocks from historic downtown Annapolis, this hotel provides convenience and luxury. From the wonderful, cheery greeting from the valet guys to the genuine welcome by the front desk staff, this was a very enjoyable trip. I have had the privilege of staying here prior to this last visit and as always, the service, attitudes, and helpfulness of the staff remain consistently wonderful. Our bartender, Martin is always quick with a smile and good story to kick off the weekend. He is a terrific and very personable guy and we always appreciate the excellent service he provides. He has even given us some tips on "non-touristy" things to do around town, which turned out to be excellent recommendations. Our valet, Kobe is also an asset to this hotel, as he is quick and efficient in everything he does... retrieving the car, helping with bags, or just a simple opening of the front door after a long day out and about in Annapolis... and always again with a big smile for all he encounters. Thank you Loews for once again showing others what an A1 hotel is all about! You have a great staff and they should be commended on a job well done!

Cindy Hudson

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JALWashingtonDC, manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
Ms. Hudson:
I appreciated your letter last year and to now, I am pleased to see you returned and had another great experience!! You were very kind to highlight in both specific staff members like Martin that truly make the difference. We have a great team and they genuinely go out of their way to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The privilege is ours!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Everything from the friendly valet service, to front desk, to food and beverage was spectacular. We were only there for a short stay to celebrate an anniversary, and we had stellar treatment from the staff. John Waldbillig was helpful in making us feel welcome and special for the weekend. He gaves us great recommendations about things to see while we were visiting. I often do not get a chance to get specific names while travelling but he was exceptional!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camden24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JALWashingtonDC, manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our proximity to downtown is ideal - under 5 minutes to walk - But, truly our team makes the experience special. JW, normally behind the scenes providing support to the front lines was clearly caught in action on the front line! He like the rest of the team will go out of their way to genuinely ensure each guest has a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

I had the opportunity to stay a few nights at the Loews Hotel in Annapolis for a business meeting last month. Its decor has a nautical theme which is a bit over the top, but certainly fits with Annapolis and the nearby Naval Academy.

LOCATION -- The location is great for getting to restaurants and tourist attractions (including the capitol) on foot. The concierge in the lobby is extremely knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. You should have no worries about taking a taxi or shuttle from the airport and being there without a car.

LOBBY -- The lobby area is nice, very high ceiling, conducive to visiting.

FRONT DESK -- The front desk staff were professional, but slow-moving. I saw at least one guest give up on waiting in line for information. The staff had no clue about ameneties that should be given to a Loews Gold member (e.g., free wifi, room upgrade if available).

MEETING ROOMS -- Our meeting rooms and catered food were lovely. The fresh fruit looked and tasted like it just came from the Farmer's Market.

RESTAURANTS -- I ate in one of the restaurants and found the food VERY good, quite sophisticated. Pricey, as in most hotels.

ROOM SERVICE -- The room service was lightning fast and food as promised. The staff who delivered it were uniformly courteous and quick.

GUEST ROOMS -- The guest rooms are adequately furnished. Nice work area. Wifi for a fee. The bathrooms were immaculate and very well-lit.

SPA -- There is an in-hotel spa. It's not what you think of when you envision a spa...i.e., it's not a large facility where you can hang out and relax for an afternoon. Instead, it's a small urban facility for scheduling a facial or massage. They have a few treatment rooms, but no common areas to speak of, no locker room, no place to hang out in a robe with your slippers on and drink tea, no jacuzzi, etc.

EXERCISE FACILITY -- Is on the second floor, among the guest rooms. Not tiny, but not huge. All of the equipment was in working order, which is surprisingly rare.

ISSUES -- If you get cold easily, I do not recommend this place, unless it's summer. The hallways were FREEZING cold. The front doors were often propped open by the bell staff, and if we needed to leave a door to the ballroom open, WHOOSH, frigid outside air was whisked in as if we were in a wind tunnel. The heaters in the guest rooms took hours to heat up a room. The bedding is beautiful white cotton, but strangely there was no down comforter, only a thin cotton blanket and bedspread. I was at first excited to see a box of additional bedding in the closet, but then disappointed to see that it contained only another small thin cotton throw blanket and pillows. Brrrr......

Also had an issue with noise from the motors of the elevators. If you're a light sleeper, don't take a room within 30 feet of the elevators, especially on the upper floors, or you'll be disturbed by the irregular stop/start and whirring noise of elevator motors 24/7.

Overall, the Loews Annapolis is a fairly nice place. It's comfortable, clean, and well-located. There are some issues, but they are not insurmountable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vallelunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JALWashingtonDC, manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
I appreciate the time you took to detail your experience. Yes, we absolutely make every effort to provide a uniquely local experience. We have a great property as you have noted. From public areas, meeting facilities to the great service and Award winning Chef - we strive to make every experience a positive memory. I also appreciated your constructive comments. I don't leave my front door at home wide open in the winter and we won't at the hotel either!! Next year we are also planning to upgrade the bedding package...Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

The rooms were definitely nice, and extremely large. However, I get the feeling that this hotel was trying to market itself as an upscale luxury hotel. This wasn't really the case. The bathroom was small and plain, and had a rack over the toilet that look like it cost $10. The bellhops were just in the way, and, as always with most hotels, the parking was a rip off at $22/day. The location was great, and the bed was comfortable. Internet was also expensive at $10/day. I would stay here again if I could get the same deal, but probably not if I had to pay their regular market rates. Oh, and there was no pool, which was disappointing on some rainy days.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanders16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richboro, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

I had to respond to the last review of the Loews indicating it was rundown and the bedding, etc. was outdated.

I stayed here in September for 3 nights. We had a corner suite that was nothing but COMFORTABLE!. The maid came twice a day, morning and evening, to clean and freshen the room, the towels. She always offered fresh and complimentary water. There was not a charge for the waters that were left.

The bedding was wonderful. The linens were of higher quality, but I do have to say that the towels could have been a little more luxurious.

The staff always said hello, offered to help, gave great restaurant recommendations. The valet secured a cab to us one night for dinner. He even gave us HIS card to call so that he would arrange a cab back to the hotel.

In conclusion, the hotel was not in disrepair or outdated. The staff, cleanliness, and room made for a great few days' escape.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank len10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#7 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Annapolis
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Annapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Annapolis Hotel
Address: 126 West St., Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Annapolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Chesapeake Bay, Loews Annapolis Hotel welcomes you with warm charming guest rooms and luxurious suites decked out in nautical style. Enjoy the comfort and outstanding service of the Chesapeake Bay's favorite choice among Annapolis luxury hotels. In the surrounding area, Loews is your most welcoming port. The premier hotel facility in this charming resort town, the Loews Annapolis Hotel offers a variety of unique suites, meeting spaces, and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Loews Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Annapolis
Annapolis Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing