We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding asset in Acton... FANTASTIC for kids!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Discovery Museums

The Discovery Museums
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Acton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two great museums—for one admission price—blend the best of science, children’s and environmental learning on a beautiful 4.5 acre campus. The Science Discovery Museum and Children’s Discovery Museum offer hands-on, playful exhibits developed by professional educators to inspire curiosity, exploration, experimentation and imagination.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Outstanding asset in Acton... FANTASTIC for kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Having served on a local cultural council, became familiar with this gem nearly 20 years ago and, now that I am living in the area with my young son, it has always been a pleasure to visit and in short order, we became annual pass holders, with no regret at all!

Thanks for helping offer such a valuable and fun resource to the kids throughout this region!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
561 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“a fun little childrens museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

all summer we look for different places to visit. this is a definite must do. libraries normally have a pass for the museum. there is a corresponding science center right next to it. you can get tickets to both or one. its an old house with lots of stairs and little rooms - starts with trains, balls, water play, jungle room, kitchen, lighthouse and the lobster boat and traps. sometimes there are special visitors - like animals or guides. outside there is a large dinosaur - great photo opportunity. there is no food here but you can do picnics or eat at not your average joes down the street. the science museum is a great learning place. it has a fog area, area of to learn about sound and light, there is also an art and craft room. overall a great day to spend and gain so much knowledge!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of Boston
Level Contributor
355 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“gotta go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Your kids are going to be all grown up before you know it! And you wont have an excuse to go visit this really fun space. Take a day, drive out and enjoy the exploration.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank votenochains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing and expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Happily we used town museum passes to cut the price in half because the little museums are expensive. Took three tries to get in. In the summer there were no parking spaces available. Tried again in Sepember but it was the week it was closed for "cleaning." Success last week. It's cute and it is unstructured in layout. But it is very worn and needs a serious face lift. Nothing appeared upgraded nor repainted nor changed since our last visit six years ago. It gets very heavy use. And I wonder when the stuffed (soft animal) toys were last washed. The big bear at the end of the slide needed a serious bath. We were wait-listed and told there was an "activity" in the next building. "Activity" made me think someone was teaching or helping the kids with something. No. Just a room with lots of Legos. More a holding pen than an "activity" in the museum context. A hike through a state park of conservation area teaches more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackandjuliecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Eye opener for little ones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Loved the unstructured, discovery theme. This old house has been converted into a homey, kids' science wonderland. Tough to climb stairs for older grandparents. Can be crowded. Sometimes kids hang out in a favorite area--the train or kitchen, for example. I was a founder of this facility decades ago, and it has developed into a great preschool introduction to physics and industry.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lenthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Discovery Museums also viewed

 

Been to The Discovery Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing