We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Eatery”
Review of IL Forno Authentic Italian - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
IL Forno Authentic Italian
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
229 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Local Eatery”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a small BYOB Italian restaurant serving pizza, pasta, sandwiches, wraps, Calzones, soups and salads for lunch and an extensive selection of veal, chicken, seafood, beef and pasta entrees for dinner. There are always several specials to choose from, too. All the food is very good and the portions are quite large. The service is always friendly and accommodating and the prices are reasonable. The BYOB option really helps with the final bill. There are lots of gluten free meals and gluten free desserts as well. This is a popular restaurant which can get quite busy on the week ends, but they do take reservations.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Italian At Reasonable Prices BYOB”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have dined at Il Forno in Acton, MA many times over several years. Each experience has been pleasant with fair size servings of very good dishes along with efficient and friendly service. This is a BYOB restaurant and the servers are always helpful with opening wines and providing glasses. A dinner here will warm your heart and not empty your wallet. The menu is extensive and daily specials are always good. Give it a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCM475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We enjoyed a bountiful meal and brought a large portion home.
Salad and garlic bread were included with our dinner.
Wonderful service too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_Anne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Watch out...Huge Portions!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Tried this place when Crossroads next door had a 30 minute wait. The food is quite good, but pretty standard fare.

One at our table ordered pizza, couldn't be brick oven like advertised, pretty ordinary. As for our entrees, disgustingly oversized portions! Really, three people could've shared one and been full. We're big eaters but seriously? It was unappetizing to have an enormous platter of food placed in front of you!

If you go, bring your own wine (no liquor license) and share an entree!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teaaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It worked again!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife and I have been there number of times. It is low key local Italian place. The best things about it: you could bring your own wine or beer with you, which is great as it cuts the bill and still have your favorite drink; they only use really fresh local veggies and seafood. Two drawbacks: they don't take reservations, only call ahead and sometimes it gets very busy and you have to wait; most of the times you get great meal, but we had couple mediocre meals in the past, so you never know for 100%.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yury1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing