We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy drive, well marked stops”
Review of Mount Greylock

Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Easy drive, well marked stops”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Heard the road was recently redone and it was an easy drive south to north ends. Pick up a driving tour (hidden on the back side of the large display at the visitor center if it's closed) for suggested stops and local history. Good parking. Several easy hikes along with many more rigorous ones. Access to the Appalachian Trail in several spots. Well worth doing and will return for a longer visit. Bascom Lodge at summit open for breakfast, lunch and dinner with one seating at 7 PM.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler01534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    63
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We drove up the mountain with our young daughter and went for a short hike at the summit. The view is striking and there is a nice lodge with "casual" foods at the summit. We also enjoyed visiting the visitor's center and flying a kite. We'll go back in a heartbeat ... we loved it! Stayed at Mount Greylock Inn and loved that place as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElainNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
123 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive to a great view”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The drive up the mountain is a beautiful tree-line road with a few overlooks. And the view from the summit allows you to see quite far. I was surprised to see Mount Wachusett in the east—66 miles away. Unfortunately, for safety reasons, the tower is closed and won’t open until renovations beginning in 2014 are completed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank derrtraveler19968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountains”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We wanted to visit the place as soon as we heard it is the highest peak in MA. The surprise element was how dense the mountain was.. the drive up the hill was so nice.. with dense trees on the side.. We just took a short hike after reaching the summit and it was good. Well maintained..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucky_lak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High point in Massachusetts”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Mount Greylock is a high point in Massachusetts not just from an elevation perspective but from a purely aesthetic scenic drive and scenic hike/ski/bike perspective as well. There's a rich history about this peak that includes the summit monument, summit buildings and the Thunderbolt Ski trail too. You are sure to learn something knew no matter how you get to the top. The auto road is in excellent shape and will be a mecca for tourists during foliage season, but don't wait for the colors to turn, get out and enjoy any day of the year! $2 to park your car on top but free if you power yourself up there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank meetwithpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Greylock also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Mount Greylock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing