We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Greylock

Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have ridden our motorcycle up to the summit at Mt Greylock a couple of times. It's worth it every time. When people from other areas come to visit us, we take them on this journey. We ascend from North Adams and the views are spectacular. On one of our journeys I am hoping to see them gliding/parachuting. I have heard that people jump from the top and catch the crosswinds and sail to the bottom of the mountain. It was chilly the day we went so I would recommend a jacket, remember you are at almost 4,000 ft above sea level.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank balaczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    62
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Top of the mountain...great views”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The winding road trip up to the summit of Mt Greylock is worth the effort. It's only a few miles and isn't difficult in dry weather. I believe the access Road remains shut in winter months but it was open mid-May. There's car parking at the summit and plenty of space to picnic up there too, but no facilities. You can apparently see over 12 states from the summit. It is certainly a fantastic view of wooded mountainsides stretching for miles into the distance. Take a jacket, it's windy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My back yard”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I live here. Any trip to Adams/Berkshires should include a drive up to the summit of Mt. Greylock. There are two access roads and one can drive up one side and down the other. I recommend ascending from the North Adams side for the best views. Take the time to walk into Sperry Campground. The view is worth it. This is an iconic mountain..........don't miss it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“as far as the eye can see”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Driving up Mt Greylock is a serene gentle ride into the past. Unspoiled and very green during the summer, the mountain is a welcoming feature of the Berkshires, and it's highest peak.
The visitor center at the bottom is educational and the views near the model are impressive.
The Rangers are informative and gracious.
You can hike from any point on the way up to the summit. Trails can take you anywhere from 8-1 hour. And if you choose one of the long trails it will take you 7-8 hours.
The summit does have an old Inn and limited refreshments. The fare is ok !
Views from the top are spectacular and on the proverbial "clear day", you can see forever.
Every summer we take a ride up from the west and descend to the east and north into North Adams and Williamstown.
This mountain is worth taking a detour to experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

On our way to Vermont we drove over and to the top of Mount Greylock. Very informational visitor's center with movie presentation. Spend couple of hours driving, viewing and enjoying.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jg02282014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Greylock also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Mount Greylock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing