We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reset and recharged!”
Review of Topia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Topia Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Adams B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reset and recharged!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife, 18 month-old son and I just spent a long weekend in the Greek room. Since we were driving from the City on a Friday evening, Caryn stayed up to greet us on our arrival at about 11:30pm and get us settled before going back to bed. So do ask about late check in if you need it.

All of the "policies" to keep the unique environment and vibe of the place may initially seem a bit annoying, but they really served to reset and recharge us. The place truly is immaculately clean. Cleaner that almost every other place I've ever stayed. And everything, I mean everything, at the inn has a detailed enviro-conscious story behind it, including the construction/renovation of the place. You could learn an awful lot about green construction and home improvement here. All of the provided bath and body products are very high-end and there were a few nice surprises we hadn't seen before in the store and will check out. If we needed something not in the room it was provided free of charge for us to use while there. They were more than happy to accommodate us by putting out a thermos of milk for our son at bedtime. It was all exactly what we wanted from a trip to the area.

It's a perfect place for someone who wants to enjoy some good clean living for a few days while in a very comfortable and friendly environment. Our hosts were happy to chat with us, recommend area activities, and listen to us blather on endlessly if we felt like it.

The jet spa tub was a real treat. Breakfast each morning was wholesome and prepared you for the day, not for a nap because you're stuffed and bloated! There's so much artwork on the wall and nice appointments at every corner. Something will surely appeal to you.

The inn is also literally steps away from the beginning of the Ashuwillticook Rail Trail, an 11-mile paved path heading south alongside a small river, hills, and wetlands. Perfect for running or biking.

My only minor complaint is that there is no sofa in the common/dining area to relax in the evenings. There is a lovely porch with comfy rockers where we drank our wine and wound down the day.

Room Tip: The Moroccan room is by far the most spacious. Be aware that the Aloha Room's floating bed fill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spepper44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topia, Owner at Topia Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
We enjoyed meeting this couple and their wonderful baby boy. They were alot of fun and a delight to host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were in town for our son's college orientation and wanted to stay at a green B&B. We greatly enjoyed our stay, the hosts, the lovely Zen room, and the time we spent just chatting in the common area. We also own a solar-powered B&B and appreciated sharing stories and are deeply grateful to our hosts for the tour. We loved the music, recorded by one of our hosts, and the coffee (a priority for us) was excellent. We are vegetarians, and everything was great. With 4 years of visits ahead of us, we are really pleased to have found such a great place to stay locally right from the start.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, right off the common room, we were the only guests this weekday night an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starlightllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topia, Owner at Topia Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
It was great meeting this couple who also have a B&B with llamas! I have been telling our guests about their place in the Amherst area and hope to get a chance to stay there as well. Looking forward to seeing them again at the next Williams College parents event or in their neck of the woods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Topia Inn is warm, inviting, and immaculate. Nana was here during our stay and she is a delight, with great dining and sight-seeing suggestions--not to mention excellent culinary skills. We stayed in the Peacock Room and loved the "sky" ceiling and the jets in the chromatherapy tub. The earth- and body-friendly focus of the inn is a refreshing change of pace for my husband and I, and it may have converted me to a user of new eco-minded products. The energy that the Inn gives off encourages a Type A personality like me to walk more slowly, speak more softly, and breathe more deeply. Loved it here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Topia Inn this past weekend. Do not be scared off by the organic nature of this hotel. The shower/bath products were great and possibly better than what I use at home. The breakfast is freshly made and delicious and could not have asked for anything more. Like the other reviews said, you WILL have a great night's sleep here! If you're looking for some rest and relaxation definitely give the Topia Inn a try.

Room Tip: The French Room is very comfortable, as I'm sure all of the rooms are, however this one is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliasalerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

An absolutely relaxing, rejuvenating, and reinvigorating stay, this B&B was an absolute delight over our New Years getaway weekend! My wife and I are snobs about where we stay, and this stay live up to our standards and requirements.
With a Great personal touch from the owners, each room is blessed with a unique nuance that could make subsequent stays fresh and fun each time. We stayed in the Aloha room with the floating bed which was a unique take on sleeping in a suspended state. The breakfast was amazing and they catered to our individual vegetarian needs. Note: this is a wholly organic experience, so leave your bathroom products at home and check with owners if you have special requirements. Rooms are clean, newly renovated, with great details and unique touches. Just awesome!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivaswrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed in the Aloha Room with the floating bed. It was fantastic. It was the best sleep I had ever had. When I returned home, I could no longer sleep in my static bed. The hosts were attentive and the food was delicious and organic. While we do not feel strongly towards the the organic lifestyle, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the products provided (although I would recommend bringing your own toothpaste). In the bathroom, there was a tub with chromotherapy, the perfect end to a long hike on Mt. Greylock. All in all it was a fantastic stay and I'd highly recommend the Topia Inn to anyone staying in the Adams area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scire1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Topia this past weekend. We were in the area to visit Mass MoCa and came across Topia through some travel websites. We were a bit nervous to book given the website outlines quite a few rules to help keep the building and rooms "organic", but given the other great reviews, figured it was worth a try. We arrived a bit later than we had anticipated, but Nana and Caryn were there to greet us and walk us through the building. It was easy to see how passionate they are about the concept of Topia and maintaining it's high environmental standards. Each room is unique. We chose the Zen room, which was nicely decorated, has a king size bed and a lovely bathroom fully stocked with a plethora of organic products.

In the common area of the guest house, a diverse selection of free-trade, organic teas are available 24/7. They also have a bunch of movies and books available to borrow if you are spending time in your room. In the morning, a generous breakfast was prepared for us (included in the cost of the room, of course). The food was delicious, fresh and made with local ingredients.

We really had nothing to complain about. It was a lovely weekend and I would certainly go back. This concept is obviously not for everyone. If you're not of the "green" school of thought, it's probably not for you (esp. if you want to do your own thing w/ bath and body products). The owners have high standards for their business and building. For some it may be a bit much. With that said, if you want a relaxing, environmentally friendly, unique B&B experience, you shouldn't hesitate to check it out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbanyLaura518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adams
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
9.6 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.5 mi away
Harbour House Inn B&B
Harbour House Inn B&B
#1 of 1 in Cheshire
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topia Inn

Property: Topia Inn
Address: 10 Pleasant St, Adams, MA 01220-1722
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Adams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Topia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen one of the World's Best New Boutique Hotels 2010. Artist decorated rooms. Organic beds and linens. Home baked organic breakfast included. Free Wi-Fi and DVD-HDTV in all the rooms. Clay finish on walls. Located on an 11 mile bike path at the base of Mt Greylock in the heart of Adams, MA. Minutes from museums, festivals and performance spaces. Skiing and snow shoeing in the winter, bike riding, swimming and kayaking in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Topia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topia Hotel Adams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing