We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience”
Review of Topia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Topia Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Adams B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a very interesting experience and would highly recommend it. We stayed in the room with floating bed and we had a great sleep. The breakfast was excellent. The neighborhood may seem a bit shady in the beginning compared to other parts of Berkshire but we had no issues and it was close to North Adams and Williamstown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nirajdBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent two nights here and were so glad we spent that extra money. We were talking about our next stay before we even left. The inn is so quiet and comfortable you can't help but relax. The only rule we were apprehensive about was no food or drink in the rooms. However, the common room and porch were so comfortable and inviting that we were more than happy to enjoy our wine there and ended up spending quite a bit of time in the common room just because. The only drawback was that when we had a question the hosts could be hard to find. The upside to this is of course that we had tons of privacy and often felt like the place was ours, except that elves were cleaning up after us, which never happens at home. We stayed in the French room which was beautiful. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the aromatherapy shower was very very hard to leave. It was great to not have to pack any toiletries and know that I would have no qualms about using the products provided. Breakfast was amazing. Delicious and filing and healthy. We left so very happy and cannot wait to come back for summer's end.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Once you enter the front door and drop your shoes (so no tracking of dirt and toxins into the space), it's heaven. The quiet hush, the fresh air that is circulated throughout the inn every hour, the wonderful products the owners ask you to use, to the linens, and the super comfortable beds, I couldn't believe what we had walked into. Couple all of this with friendly helpful service and a wonderful organic breakfast the next morning, the Topia Inn found customers for life, us. And....to make things even better, Adams, N. Adams and Williamstown are amazing towns that feature world renown museums/galleries, all kinds of music (did you know one of the owners of Topia Inn is an amazing jazz musician?), cool, hip and super friendly people and wonderful restaurants.

Thank you Topia Inn!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valoriel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Interesting concept in a beautiful area. Unfortunately, the atmosphere is a little overbearing and one has the constant feeling of being watched and having to watch oneself (e.g. no eating, drinking in the room, having to use their bath-products, the breakfast "selection"), which makes it difficult to relax. The service was friendly but not very professional - e.g. no one asked us whether we wanted anything to drink with our breakfast or what we wanted to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topia I, Owner at Topia Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
When you go against the main stream and offer something that is unique and outside the box, it is not for the majority of people. That's why the guests who appreciate our inn most are the "eco" tourists and people who walk a different path. We do not use the production line fragrant cleaners and detergents. All of our beds and linens and cleaning products are organic and so we keep them pure and make it is simple by providing all of the organic and non-fragranced products in the rooms free of charge.
For people who enjoy a more ecological and sustainable lifestyle, it is a safe haven. That is why the New York Times called Topia Inn "An Oasis From Environmental Affronts". You can read the article here: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/05/travel/escapes/05greeninn.html?_r=0
Again, our inn is not for everyone but we certainly do not watch over our guests. We enjoy their company and help them discover the Berkshires. We want them to have a relaxing time and most of the reviews mention that after coming to the inn, the non toxic policies are comfortable to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It is very hard to give this hotel an overall rating: there is much that is marvellous about this inn, but there are some things which I found a bit hard to live with.
First of all, our approach - via a large industrial plant on the edge of Adams and then a long, rather run-down road made us wonder where on earth we had come to. We found it off-putting to the point where we both left the car with sinking feelings in our stomachs.
Thank goodness for the warm welcome to the delightful interior of the hotel. It is lovely inside - quite beautifully and artistically decorated, using natural materials. The dining area is a relaxing and pleasant place to sit with a glass of one of the large range of teas.
Our (greek) room lived up to our high expectations decor-wise and the bathroom was very good - with stylish glass washbasin and funky bath complete with coloured lights!
The eco-products were fun to use (and I am completely in support of the chemical-free principle) but, subjectively, not as effective or pleasing to smell as those which I had taken on holiday - but, hey, I knew about this beforehand and I could easily put up with it for a few days.
The room was a little impractical, with limited hanging space, but the main issue for us was the air circulation system, which we found to be unpleasantly noisy, especially at night (even with ear-plugs.) Strangely, the bathroom fan was near-silent in comparison.
Breakfast was generally great - the melon soup with plum syrup was one of the most enjoyable things which i have ever been given at a hotel breakfast - and most things were both tasty and healthy, which made a very welcome change from much of the food we had consumed during our trip.
The proprietors were interesting, helpful and friendly. I liked their music, too! But you have to be aware that you are there on their terms and, for example, being told that having a cup of tea in the bedroom is strongly discouraged does feel a bit odd. It was, for example, quite the opposite from the previous place where we had stayed where we we advised to "treat it like your own home while you are here..."
Overall, then - a memorable and mostly very positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topia I, Owner at Topia Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We are very pleased that our guests enjoyed the interior of our inn so much and our steam baked breakfast. We enjoy looking for delicious recipes and we use all organic ingredients.
We chose to be in Adams over other Berkshires towns and love our location. Adams is a quiet New England town and we have never had to deal with the long traffic lines in places such as Lenox, North Adams and Stockbridge which can make us feel as if we are in New York or Boston! WE are located between two state forests with natural beauty. The Berkshires was once an industrial place but many of the buildings have been converted to residences and museums such as Mass MoCA and the Eclipse Mill with artist housing. The plant as you enter Adams from the North used to be Pfizer Pharmaceuticals and it is a lyme plant.
Our inn is directly on one of the most beautiful bicycle paths in the country. We are located in a residential neighborhood and know all our neighbors. It feels like a family when we come home. No need to worry about leaving the car. We don't even lock it at night. It's the country and not the city after all.
The whole house air filtration system brings in fresh air from the outside, filters it and circulates it in such a way that the entire air in the building is replenished every hour. This makes for a dust free, mold free environment with the purest air possible. If our guests prefer not to hear the white noise (some people like it) we can turn it off at their request. Most of our guests comment on how much better they can breathe at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is not your ordinary inn. It is not for everyone. If you are into a really eco friendly place where everything is natural and enjoy delicious healthy breakfasts, you will enjoy Topia Inn. The breakfasts were superb. I am a foodie. The first morning we had banana smoothie and quiche. I have had both but these were really a cut above, made with all natural ingrediants.
I was expecting this Inn to be in the country and it is not. It is in a town. But, it is close to many scenic areas. We went to the top of Mount Greylock which is nearby. Nana and Caryn, the owners, were extremely nice and helpful. This is a toxic and chemical free environment so you have to leave your chemical products at home. They give you everything you need. I loved trying out their facial cleansers, sun screen etc. Also I tried the earth pulse and had a very deep sleep and loved the aromatherapy shower.
The rooms are really quite artistically done.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I loved Topia. The host were very attentive and informative. The breakfasts were so yummy and fresh. loved all the choices. Topia is kept very clean. The location is good - close to bike path, museum, hikes, and restaurants in nearby towns. We stayed in the African room. Loved the aromatherapy shower! We weren't crazy about the organic products but we used them anyway to get the full experience and respect their rules. Would definitely recommend to others.

Green Features: We abided by all of the practices. We were amazed with all of the organic products and non chemical rugs, linens, paint, etc. wasn't crazy about the bath products but used them the whole time.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adams
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
641 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
215 reviews
9.6 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
464 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
324 reviews
7.4 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topia Inn

Property: Topia Inn
Address: 10 Pleasant St, Adams, MA 01220-1722
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Adams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Topia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen one of the World's Best New Boutique Hotels 2010. Artist decorated rooms. Organic beds and linens. Home baked organic breakfast included. Free Wi-Fi and DVD-HDTV in all the rooms. Clay finish on walls. Located on an 11 mile bike path at the base of Mt Greylock in the heart of Adams, MA. Minutes from museums, festivals and performance spaces. Skiing and snow shoeing in the winter, bike riding, swimming and kayaking in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Topia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topia Hotel Adams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing