We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely FABULOUS!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lord Jeffery Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2008

I stayed at the Inn this past Christmas holiday and was absolutely stunned by the OUTSTANDING service, beautiful property and the great location. I must reiterate the outstanding service! Not only did I recieve the best front desk service I have ever recieved, but the staff truly wants you to have an enjoyable stay. They did everything from Carry my luggage to my room, to setting up dinner reservations at a local restaurant (and it wasn't even their own facility!) I did end up eating in their fine dining restaurant as well, which I highly reccommend.
The staff here was phenomenal. They truly went out of their way to make sure that I was happy with my stay. Not only was the room quaint and beautiful, my time in Amherst was just perfect! I am not sure if any outside factors will bring me back to the area, but I will definately return on my own! Absolutely outsanding! I could not have asked for a better weekend!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jldemaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    78
    24
    11
    14
See reviews for
195
119
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2007

I went for a holiday party. When we got there we were placed in a long narrow cramped room with a long table in the center that did not allow for people to move around and socialize. The orderve's were good, but were not frequently served by staff. Then when dinner arrived, the food was well below average. The Salmon and the Prime Rib was way over cooked and dry with no auju to be found. When we asked for some sort of sauce for the meat, the waitress didn't know if they even had anything. Although later she finally came back with some A1. I asked for the prime rib to be cooked medium rare but it was brought to me well done, and none of the staff came back to check on anyone about the food that was served. The majority of the people attending this function were not satisfied with their meals. Later we attempted to have a final drink at the bar, but the bartender was rude and told us it was last call at 10pm, yet when the head coach of the UMASS Hockey team arrived, drinks were flowing, even after we decided to leave at 11pm.

  • Liked — That it was over
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bstncld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

I stayed at the Lord Jeff Inn in June when looking at Amherst College with my daughter. It is not great, but it is in the most convenient location. Our room was spacious, but it definitely needs to be renovated. Very old fashioned and the bathroom was even older....if you know what I mean. The air conditioning was OK, at best, and the linens and pillows were as old as the hills.... Bring your own pillow!
The service was fine and we only ate lunch there outside one day which was fine, but certainly nothing to write home about.
Because this Inn has the best location in town, it will not be going out of business any time soon, but I can not recommend it for any other reason.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetogoonvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

I picked the Lord Jeffrey Hotel because of it's proximity to UMass Amherst. I came from California and wanted to be as close as possible so I could check my daughter into school and help her as needed. The only good thing about this hotel WAS the proximity! We arrived with several pieces of luggage (College stuff) One weighed almost a 100 lbs. There was no bellman to help and our room was down three flights of stairs(no elevator) I never would have picked this if I knoew I was going to lug the suitcases myself. It was almost impossible. We were told the college was within walikng distance and asked the front dest if this was true. He said yes so we walked, and walked, and walked. We made it there but were vey tired. Then we saw a bus go by. We asked someone and they told us the bus was free and one on the stops is right next to the Lord Jeff Hotel. I can't beieve the man at the front desk forgot to give us that minor detail! There was a wedding right ouside my french doors (so loud I couln't hear the TV.) The restaurant was awful , service was nonexistant.
My best advice for anyone staying at this hotel is BEWARE!

  • Liked — The outside appearance
  • Disliked — It's worn and tired, Service not good
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAKCamarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

Across from Amherst C. Helpful, friendly staff and very good food at reasonable prices. However, we were placed in a small cramped room (double bed), really unfit for two people. I understand that they have larger rooms,so check with the staff before making a final reservation. Nrhdkk

Helpful?
2 Thank nrhdkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2007

We just returned from a very nice long weekend stay at the Lord Jeff. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Room service breakfast was very good; staff was very attentive and friendly.

The location is terrific - near Amherst College and U Mass. and all downtown shops and restaurants. The food at the Tavern was very good and reasonably priced.

We would absolutely return. The charm of the inn is a nice change of pace from hotel chains.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2007

Parents stayed here and have done so for many previous trips to Amherst. The hotel is a lovely inn, but is looking a little worse for wear. The beds in their room were saggy, the shower asthmatic, and most of the fixtures and furniture is looking a little beat up. The staff could not be nicer and more accomodating. Had breakfast at the bar/dining room and had to say it was pretty average. Pancake was not so hot and the homefries were very salty. My parents said they would probably book elsewhere on their next trip into town.

  • Liked — Staff were great
  • Disliked — needs some upgrading and repairs
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glon Drack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
6.9 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Property: Lord Jeffery Inn
Address: 30 Boltwood Ave, Amherst, MA 01002-2344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely renovated and offers modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm to table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar. The Library, Rooftop Terrace & exterior Gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 250. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing