We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A soothing gem for college parents!”
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lord Jeffery Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“A soothing gem for college parents!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed at The Lord Jeffery Inn before I deposited her for her freshman year at UMass/Amherst. Suffice it to say, she love the place so much she didn't want to stay in her dorm! Our room was a double with a separate living area. Great space and beds. The air conditioner was arctic! The room service and dining at the Boltwood were great. The staff at the front desk were very knowledgable about everything from the colleges in the area to apple picking and shopping. It was truly our oasis during a very stressful time. I know where I will be staying whenever I return to Amherst.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Congratulations on your daughter’s first year at UMASS. Aside from the school’s location and proximity to the Inn, UMASS has a special place in many of our hearts, being the Alma Mater of quite a few of The Lord Jeffery Inn’s employees. We thank you for choosing to stay at The Lord Jeffery Inn, and for your favorable review of your experience. We look forward to being your oasis over the next four years. Perhaps a graduation party in the Greenhouse Room, May 2017?

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    86
    29
    11
    14
See reviews for
216
126
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durham, nc
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Lord Jeff in Aug. 2013 and had a wonderful experience. The inn has been beautifully restored. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were lovely and comfortable, bathroom was new and beautiful. We had several meals in the restaurants, 30 Boltwood, enjoyed the food and especially enjoyed sitting outside on the porch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stokesnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We are so pleased to hear of your pleasant experience at the Lord Jeffery Inn and 30Boltwood, and for sharing your thoughts with future travelers.

My favorite part of the Inn is also the front porch; especially on a Saturday, late afternoon. With the fireplace on and a specialty cocktail in hand, it’s the best place for people watching and to witness all the activity of our buzzing little town.

Thank you for joining us. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very clean and spacious room. The Boltwood dining room and food was great!! Swanky and updated. Top quality food. The vegetarian plate was delicious and the presentation of the food was even better. My oatmeal and the local honey was as good as it gets. No need to leave the hotel because Boltwood is a gem. As good as any restaurant in a big city. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for the AAA rate. Will save you a few bucks. Great location. Half a block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Dana,

Thank you for your favorable marks on our Inn and restaurant; we’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and dining experience. We’ll be sure to pass your remarks on to the chef and his culinary team, as well as with the front desk agents. We love when words like “swanky” and “top quality” are used in the same sentence to describe our property.

We appreciate your kind words, and for your decision to dine and stay with us at The Lord Jeffery Inn. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A most wonderous place for a wedding, elegant but not at all pretentious,very classy but not stuffy.A magical place for a celebration! The food was delicious and there was what seemed and endless flow of desserts.The rooms were quite comfy and cozy and the bed linens were top notch.All of the staff were happy and helpful to all of us. I can't wait to enjoy another event there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Fran,

Thank you for celebrating your special occasion with us here at The Lord Jeffery Inn. We love hosting weddings (they are one of our favorite kinds of events!). We’re so pleased to hear that you and your guests enjoyed themselves so much that you are looking forward to your next event here. I encourage you to share your experience with future brides and grooms: http://bit.ly/154BAp1

We look forward to celebrating with you again soon Fran!

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Brook, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

When the Deerfield Inn was full, I was referred to the Lord Jeffrey in Amherst, MA. Did I luck out! This 1920's inn is not only well-appointed, comfortable (including beds), and good food, but every staff member I encountered was extremely helpful and genuinely friendly. The weather was finally comfortable, and there are several outdoor patio seating areas to choose to have a drink, or dine. A great location for antiquing, hiking, exploring history, (or seeing your child off to Amherst College.) It's also excellent value for the money.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank curious65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Lucky for us that you were able to join us at The Lord Jeffery! Thank you for your flattering review of the Inn and your stay, and for sharing your experience with future travelers. We thank you also, for choosing to stay at the Lord Jeffery. We will be sure to pass on our thanks to the Deerfield Inn for sending you our way.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.

Cheers,

Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed at the Lord Jeffery Inn for business. The staff for both days was fantastic!! They went out of their way to get us supplies that we forgot, graciously accepted special requests, and kept our coffee hot all day to keep us going. Can't say enough how wonderful they all were! The room was beautiful and I was impressed with the special light and heat/cooling system they installed to save on power.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Holly,
I’m pleased to hear of your pleasant experience during your recent stay with us. We will be sure to share your remarks with the Banquet and Catering Team. I do hope that you’ll be able to return to Amherst, and to the Lord Jeffery, for pleasure next time!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community. Cheers, until next time.

Best,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great location with plenty of charm and character centrally located in downtown Amherst...nice restaurant on property and staff was VERY helpful. I would recommend highly to anyone staying in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
44 Thank rick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Rick,
Thank you for choosing The Lord Jeffery Inn to host your marketing seminars. We appreciate your continue support of The Inn and the local area. We look forward to hosting you again next time.

Best,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.2 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
460 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
172 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Property: Lord Jeffery Inn
Address: 30 Boltwood Ave, Amherst, MA 01002-2344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely renovated and offers modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm to table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar. The Library, Rooftop Terrace & exterior Gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 250. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing